We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN PATONG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Buffalo New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN PATONG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

From the moment you make contact with this hotel you just know that you are going to have a great experience! Roman, the General Manager, will quickly respond and attempt to meet your every expectation, including arranging your airport pickup, advising on tours/restaurants, local hotspots, transportation, shopping, to insuring your personal comfort at his hotel.
When we arrived at the airport our car/driver was waiting for us and he took us for a comfortable 40 min ride to the hotel. The hotel is located on the edge of Patong up a slight grade. It is away from the noise of Patong, but only a 10 min walk to the beach. Of course there is always an inexpensive taxi waiting right at the hotel is need a ride. Fon, the Front Desk Manager, was waiting for us and took us to our room which was on the first floor with a balcony overlooking a nice pool and a tranquel sitting area. Our room was nicely appointed and very clean. I loved the wood accent. There is free wifi and a nice tv. The beds were a little hard and when I brought this to Fon's attention within five minutes she had foam mattress tops brought which were vey comfortable. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day and the housekeeping woman was always available to address any needs we might have. The flowers on the beds evey day was a nice touch.
This hotel is very quiet and relaxing, easy to get to sleep and also to sleep in late. The cleanliness is exceptional. One morning when coming to breakfast early I saw four hotel employees, including Fon, on their hands and knees scrubbing the lobby floor. The hotel restaurant is great, open air, inviting, with very good inexpensive food and wonderfull service! We had breakfast there everyday and several other meals. Try there chocolate sunday on a hot day, it is really good. Room service is the same price as in the restaurant, delivered hot with no service charge.
When it came time to leave you felt like you were leaving friends. You can stay at a more expensive hotel but none can match the outstanding personal service that you will receive, or the wonderfull feeling of relaxation! This is a great hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    29
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
50
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the sun hill hotel and I have to stay it was like coming home to family with the welcome you receive. Had requested two rooms on the ground floor next to the pool this was sorted with no problem and with a smile. Rooms are a good size and are very clean and tidy they clean the rooms around what you are doing and not at a set time this is great if you have had a heavy night. There is a very nice restaurant of site that does some amazing food well worth a visit. All in all I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

A very warm thank you to Roman, Dang and all the amazing staff that make the Sun Hill so nice
We chose Sunhill because of the many numerous excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed!
We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 7. What more can I say. We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunhill Experience
Hotel is located in a Nanai road some 5 minutes from Patong by scooter/motorbike or taxi if you prefer. We hired a bike for our stay and found it very easy to get around the island.
This place is certainly exceptional value for money. The cleanliness and service could not be bettered. Also the view from our room and its balcony was so beautiful
Roman was very friendly and warm. At the end of our stay he arranged a minivan to the airport for FREE which was very nice and comfortable.
Overall, I loved my stay there and I hope to revisit in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The service was very good, the hotel room was lovely and very elegantly done & the pool with jacuzzi was heavenly.

They are 15-20 minutes walk from the beach, without a free shuttle service this is not that pleasant in the heat. Rent a bike if you can. Wish I had of stayed here longer

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The staff was very welcoming and always friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the mattress fairly comfortable. The pickup at the airport went according to plan. The pool, although small, was quite pleasant to cool down in after a long hot day at the beach. Some minour issues with the Sun Hill: traffic noise - I would suggest that any prospective clients inquire as to the location of their rooms-to-be since if they are located next to the busy road, they could find sleep difficult. Location - f you are not going to be using motorized transport, the hotel is located in the "suburbs" and quite a walk from the main tourist areas of Patong. Mini Bar: I was told on checkout that I had consumed a beverage which I had not. This seems to be a ever occurring problem with hotels. I would suggest removing all drinks from the bar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

High: During my 2 weeks+ sejour , I can say that it was a pleasant stay at the hotel and the staff was very polite and helpful when needed. The room (Deluxe room) was quite spacious, the bathroom was clean, the air-condition system was ok and free wi-fi internet was provided. The room was cleaned every day thoroughly and the relatively inexpensive restaurant had a very handy room delivery service of tasty meals. There was a wide choice of activities to choose from at the reception desk and the safe was reliable and useful. The location is ok, about 15 min. walking to the beach and it is by far less noisy and smelly when compared to most of Patong.

Lows: The wi-fi internet service was down for a couple of days, incidentally when I needed it most. One day the electricity was cut in the area (fortunately just for a few hours) and it resulted in a no water / no air-condition reality that was unbearable. Maybe an alternative source of energy (solar energy, generators etc.) could be useful. A few minor details such as the provision of 1 free bottle of water per guest, or the replacement of plastic flower decoration at the reception (perhaps real plants?) I think could boost the image of the hotel.

Overall it is definitely a recommended accommodation if one wishes to stay in Patong in a budget to mid-range hotel. I must say that I had a great time during my holidays in Phuket and I partially owe this to my pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed for a total of 15 nights, during which time all the staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is just far enough away from the sea front and bars to be nice and peaceful and whilst the small pool area is lovely, the hotel is close to a number of beautiful beaches just a short tuk tuk / scooter ride away.
Roman and his staff were on hand 24/7, the rooms and public areas were spotless and all the staff would greet you with a big smile.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hill Hotel

Address: 245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy boutique hotel in Patong Beach to affordable rates. Great value and good service, under German management. In quiet location but close to the beach, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hill Patong
Sun Hill Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.