We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bye Bye Salathai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Salathai Resort to your Saves list
Salathai Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bye Bye Salathai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Salathai Resort for 2 weeks in October and have been staying there twice a year for the last 6 years. We have always found the resort to be up to our expectations and the staff always very friendly and going out of their way to accommodate your wishes. However I have just read the comment from "maynespain_12" , and whilst I find it hard to believe the place could go backwards so quickly in such a short space of time, I should point out that I was advised by the hotel management that the resort had been sold and was to be demolished some time in the new year to make way for a shopping plaza/hotel development.

So it is with regret that this was our last visit to Salathai Resort - on a brighter note the management told us that all the Salathai staff are transferring to their sister hotel "The NAP" so we may see them there??

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    105
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
49
125
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balmain, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A centrally located resort, very clean and friendly staff, they have a breakfast terrace over looking the street which is a pleasant way to start the day.
Close to Jungceylon shopping centre and just up the road from Bangla road.
Only two minutes from the beach and cafes.
The rooms are spacious,try for a top floor room which have a seperate living room,great for chilling out and reading your kindle book.

Room Tip: Check booking agencies for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful hotel which is close to the beach, Junceylon and all the entertainment. The hotel offers an open bar which is free and the customer service was excellent. The price is good and I would recommend Salathai to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

Just checked out after three nights.Due to the hotel having a major problem with their sewage system. We were booked for 13! During the 3 days, we have changed rooms and proir to checking out another room.We was in a deluxe ground floor immediatly in front of the pool. The area stunk of raw sewage and cigarette smoke all the time. I cannot understand how the hotel can say its for families as there are many older single men entertaining 'friends'
Yes as it states in previous reviews the staff are fantastic and try to make you feel welcome and yes, it's in a good location. I cannot understand why it has such a good rating as talking to other guests who have stayed many times, state they did not have any hot water for many days and will not be returning. They could not understand why the hotel has dropped its standards since their last visit. There doesn't appear to be much in the way of maintenence being carried out

I would not recommend it especially for families.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

Great little resort with about 40 rooms with a great location. 200 metres from the beach and 1 block from Bangla road. Free mini bar, good pool and cheerful staff. Food was really nice and also cheap. Rooms are a little tired but was very clean. If you don't want to stay in big resort and like boutique places this one is for you. Great value for money.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Fantastic little resort in a good location, great pool, comfy and spacious rooms, yummy breakfast and friendly staff. There were a few Aussies around when we stayed which was a nice change from other places we had stayed and they were so friendly (felt like family after just 1 day ). Was amazed at the size of the rooms, great for a longer stay. The bathrooms are a little drab but didn't bother us because of all the other positives. Beds, pillows and linen were probably the most comfortable out of our entire trip. Restaurant at the front of the resort serviced breakfast, lunch and dinner, food was tasty.
Position was good, just one block from Bangla Road and a few minutes to walk to the beach.
Would definately recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed here and we will return again. Wonderful green surrounds and palms give the tropical experience. The staff, and particularly Sunny are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and the english is very good. Breakfast is brilliant with great selections. Lunch specials are good value for money.

Room Tip: Ground level gives you easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salathai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salathai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.