We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Salathai Resort to your Saves list
Salathai Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
Fort St. John, BC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had planned to stay at the Salathai Resort in Patong. I booked my room 3 months in advance on the Salathai website and arranged for a car through their site to pick me up at the airport. They sent me a confirmation email and all was good, so I thought.

I had flown for almost 30 hours straight (between airport layovers and flights to come from Canada). When I arrived at Phuket Airport at midnight my car and driver were nowhere to be found. I finally rented a car and had them drive me to Salathai Resort. I presented my booking confirmation to the front desk (by this time it was 01:30 in the morning and I was exhausted). I got a blank stare and then the clerk made a bunch of phone calls and finally informed me that the resort was full and they had no record of my booking.

To their credit they found me another hotel for 2 nights until I could move back to their property. I did not move back to their property - with a track record like that I wasn't going to chance something else going wrong so I just stayed in the other (nicer hotel). I had read good things about Salathai on Trip Advisor before booking, but this is my vacation and I was not going to risk anymore problems.

I am sure this is a fine property - but I will not stay here in the future - something as easy as taking a reservation and having it entered in their database should not leave a lot of room or error, but somehow they messed it up.

My advice for future guests to this property is to double or triple check your reservation before you arrive so that you are not let down as I was.

Buyer beware. It is not much fun to be stranded in the airport in the middle of the night at the mercy of the over-priced taxis at that time of the night only to find you don't have a room when you arrive.

Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Find a room that is not already rented to someone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    105
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
49
125
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have been to Patong every year for the past 7 years. The only issue was that it took us 5 years to find this hotel. The rooms sit around a leafy pool area away from the street and makes you feel like you could be anywhere. It is also small so it is easy to get time around the pool. Walk out the door and you are 100m from the beach and 5 min walk to Bangla road although you wouldn't know it in your room.

Deluxe rooms sit along the pool and mean you walk out and take 4 steps and you are in the pool. In down time (may to October) these are about $50 a night on many hotel sites. Superior rooms are up 1 or 2 flights of stairs but then again your in patong - who spends any time in their room???

The pool service menu (food) is beautiful and prices are low (cocktails 150 baht beers 80 baht). Breakfast is in a lovely outdoor area and supplies the basics (love my omelette and chicken sausages with fried rice).

The staff are just amazing. Lead by Sunny (who is fantastic) they work tirelessly to be polite and accommodating for all reasonable requests (I have witnessed some very unreasonable and rude guests!!)

The rooms are reasonable but important to keep in perspective - no they not like at the holiday Inn but your paying $50 a night (Deluxe Low season and $120 in high) 100m from beach and 5 min from Bangla road...... so keep it realistic. We do not spend a great deal of time in our room so as long as the toilet, shower and bed are clean we are happy - and they are!! The rooms are basic but practical.

Overall this hotel is a GEM in Patong for the traveller who would rather spend money on their holiday rather than on a room they are hardly in. Everything about this place is easy and comfortable. - Actually perhaps I shouldnt be so glowing as increased popularity might make it harder for me to book in here when we come over :)

Room Tip: Deluxe near the pool definitely worth it if you are a pool person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time to this hotel and I cannot recommend it more. Loved the place. Very understated and simple with great rooms which are very clean and functional. The staff are amazing and nothing is a problem.

Fantastic free WIFI all over the resort, making keeping in touch a breeze. I thought the food was excellent (loved the complimentary mini bar) and overall it was a very relaxing and enjoyable 4 nights.

The location is fantastic, 100 meters to Patong Beach and far enough away from Bangla Road to be out of there chaos if you needed to be.

I will be back with the family next time soon.

Room Tip: Deluxe room on the ground floor is the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Salathai many times now, first trip in 2004, and find it excellent every time. Staff are great, rooms are good, pool is fantastic and the restaurant is great too. It's not cheap the salathai, we were paying 2200baht a night, but with the service, facilities and location it's a great package all round.

Room Tip: The pool rooms are great, generally pretty quiet. I like the upstairs rooms away from the beach, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 5 days and no complaints here, the location is perfect location. The rooms were clean - free mini bar. The staff were accommodating and friendly, breakfast was good, 2 minute walk from the beach. Noisy one night (band playing next door) but could live with that. Massages from the girls across the road from the Indian Restaurant were awesome. If you want a boutique hotel at a great price - this is it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was great... rooms were very clean. The pool was beautiful and the conga smoothie drink (non alcoholic) was so refreshing and tasted great!! Meals were great value and very well presented. I loved my trip to Thailand and this hotel was excellent value and a little gem. I was recommended to stay here by a friend and it didn't dissappoint. The hotel is very close to the beach and there was no noise problems or anything like that. Its close to the shopping streets etc and there are so many good places to eat. The Beach nearby is very clean and there is so much to do and see in the area. Sunny the manager is so friendly as were the rest of the staff. Be warned you will definitely want to come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good here... mine was on the second floor overlooking the pool but they al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be happier with our choice. Staff are very friendly. Room was clean and spacious. Free mini bar was a bonus (soft drinks and water). Didn't use the pool but looked clean and inviting. Tour booking was quick and easy. Breakfast was great - the hot foods were different each day. Enjoyed a delicious evening meal in the restaurant and one room service meal. Both were of high quality. It's in a great location too....minutes to the beach, Bangla Rd and Jungceylon shopping centre. The street doesn't have the hustle and bustle like the main streets but still has everything you might need. Would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salathai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salathai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.