We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST IN PATONG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salathai Resort

Save Saved
You added Salathai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salathai Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 320 Patong B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN PATONG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Have stayed at the Salathai Hotel on many many occasions now. if you are looking for a hotel in Patong this is the place for you. When in the hotel you are in your own little oasis, then a
few hundred yards down the road you have the Madness of Soi Bangla, which can only be described as the : smelliest, dirtiest, fun and happening place you have ever been. I think everyone at some point in there lives should have a night out down bangla road.
The Salathai is so welcoming, not only has it got a great location, the staff are simply amazing, Sunny who runs the Front desk is simply wonderful, whatever you ask, she always has a solution to help, she is helped by a young man, Sak, who is always smiling and happy to be around. Nee the housekeeper never stops laughing, I just wish I could bring her home as you could eat from the tile floors when she has finished. That is not to say that ALL, and I mean ALL the staff are simply amazing, whatever you want, need, require, they are always there.

All the food: breakfast, pool side menu, evening menu is all wonderful and reasonably priced.
The free mini bar of soft drinks in the room is also a nice touch.

pound for pound of your hard earned money, this place will take some beating anywhere around the world. If you can afford the little extra, go for the suites, they are excelent value.
that said all the rooms are great value.

Try it, I can assure you, you won't go Wrong

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    97
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
118
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Salathai Resort is a great place to stay. The staff are fantastic and were very helpful when my daughter and I wandered in looking for a room as the one we had booked over the internet for 10 days was awful. They could not do enought for us and gave us a great rate also.
The whole resort was lovely. The pool area is like a hidden paradise from the street. Like walking into a secret garden, and very peaceful. The rooms are great and very clean. The restaurant was good, and the bonus for my daughter was free internet and wireless usage. There are 2 computers for guests to use at any time.
I would recomment it to anyone.

Room Tip: I think 307 was the ony one with a view of the andaman sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was my first time to Phuket so spent a long time choosing a hotel to stay at but am so glad that I made the right choice. Great location, short walk to the beach and the main nightlife in Bangla Road. Friendly staff, no hassle and a good breakfast as well. Even though it is situated in the centre of Patong when you are around the lovely swimming pool you can really relax and get away from all the noise outside. My room was fantastic, could not believe it when I first walked in, big and clean with a nice bathroom. There is no other place for me in Patonng.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Salathai for 9 days then went to Phi Phi Island for a few days. We then intended to try another hotel in Phuket but liked Salathai so much we went back there for another 5 days. Although the rooms are small they are clean and serviced daily. There is a nice pool area, a great breakfast, excellent location not too close to the nightlife but close enough to walk and the friedliest staff in phuket.
Terry and Judy
Australia

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in deluxe room on ground floor. We got complimentary airport transfer and found driver with no trouble. We arrived around 11am and were welcomed by Sunny, who then remembered our names throughout stay. She is very pleasant and helpful. We only waited about an hour and half for room to be available. Room was very nice and large with good sized bathroom. Room was always clean and usually cleaned in the morning. Buffet breakfast was nice and egg chef eager to make you whatever you want.
Location was great and only 10 minute walk to Jungceylon and very quiet at night. Complimentary soft drinks in mini bar stocked every day was nice touch. Free wifi was great and hotel gave us an adaptor to use.
Thank you very much to everyone who made our stay very enjoyable, especially Sunny who is a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Salathai Resort twice and have always experienced helpful and friendly service,. The rooms are basic but clean and well maintained, as is the pool and gardens. It is well located being only a 100metre walk to the beach and quite close to Bangla road bars and nightlife. The hotel restaurant is also very pleasant and the food wonderful.
I would recommend this hotel to couples and families as an excellent value for money hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Four of us stayed for 7 nights in mid August 2011. Great hotel with great staff. Pool was very clear and clean. Rooms were well appointed and tidy. The bathroom shower was interesting with just a curtain in the bathroom so the floor got quite wet but not really an issue. Is approx 2 mins to beach and 5 mins to Bangla road so it nice and handy but quiet.
The other great things about this play is that ALL the staff are great (especially Art, Gift and Kay) and the breakfast is a full buffet style that changes most mornings. One of the better breakfast I have found.
We will defintely stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salathai Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salathai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.