We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamai Inn

Lamai Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lamai Inn to your Saves list
Lamai Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 / 19-21 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Phuket Patong Beach, 83150 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“average nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed for 5 days in this hotel,exacly 2years ago ! the hotel is verry nice, as the room has everything provided sush as computer, fan, minibar etc, there ar motorbikes to rent and the hotel is just a 5min walk from the patong beach, unfortinatly at night we had some bugs crawling in the bathroom but i do not mind, i did not make a point of it. anyway this hotel is good for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location is great & the best thing about the hotel, but I wouldn't want to have a longer stay here to be honest. Family Mart just across the road, but watch the traffic when crossing. Had a room at the back which I'm quite sure will be much quieter than the front, but there is a lot of internal noise, 1st night, I was woken up at 4am, 5am, & 5:45am by drunks coming back to the hotel, talking loudly & slamming doors. Window faced directly onto a wall 2ft away, & little daylight as a result.There is very little sound insulation thoughout the building and you won't have a quiet stay. The noise is by far the worst problem.

Room was very small, but A/C & wifi worked fine, bathroom good & bed was comfy. Room was clean as well. Restaurant downstairs pretty decent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lamai Inn is a perfectly adequate hotel in Patong.

Pros:
The bed is comfortable, the AC works great and they provide a large flat screen TV, DVD player, computer and printer in every room. 5-10 minute walk to Bangla Road or beach

Cons:
Noise from Rat-u-Thit road and music in Bar. No pool.

Lamai Inn is a great place to "crash", but not a great place to relax! Would I stay there again? Maybe. The price was excellent, the people are very nice. Patong is chaos anyway, but there are better options if you are seeking a quieter hotel.

Room Tip: no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage or do not like stairs, get a room on the second or thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was checking out this hotel for my staying and it was so good looking and a good price also.
Stay for longer get better price, and its now low season so if you take the twin room you got flatscreen also with own computer and printer so here you got everything for a good price.

Room looks clean and the staff is so sweet and friendly.

Worth a visit!

Room Tip: Twin room got everything you need as a backpacker and traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

my wife and i have stayed here on numerous occasions while in patong ,, we have tried a few different hotels but keep coming back to this one ,, the staff are helpful ,, the rooms are large and the food is good value for money

Room Tip: never had a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksvaerk, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

i have travelled to thailand 5 times , and i have never been to a more rundown sleezy hotel than the Lamai inn,
the walls are paper thin , you can hear the foot steps on the road from the 4 floor.
there are ants and mold on the bathroom,
the worst and most expensive breakfast in thailand,
there are worn out madresses on the hallway , some with red and white stains.
my safety box belonged to another man , there was his passport ,tickets, and 10.000 euro in it.
eating dinner resulting in fighting of the cockroaches,
even one night i felt a ticking on my feet , only to see a giant rat under our dinner table.
we had prepaid for 3 rooms 10 days but checked out halfway throug our vacation beacause of lack of sleep and hygiene - could not get any money refund
NEVER NEVER EVER AGAIN !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and then returned in august. Staff speak little English which can be frustrating (like when tryin to find the hospital!) but very nice. You get massive wide screen tv, DVD player and computer with speakers and head set for skype. Oh and printer and scanner-which is why we went there really. Cleaners will give you fresh towels etc but not much cleaning..
The more we were there we realised its pretty worn down, only went back cause its familiar. Went somewhere else in September..
Massive menu, food hit or miss.. Some good some awful.. Expensive tourist prices so you are better going elsewhere..
10 min fast walk to shopping centre and the pub street

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Inn

Address: 209 / 19-21 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Phuket Patong Beach, 83150 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lamai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Inn Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.