We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Paragon Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Paragon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   280 Prabaramee Rd. Patong, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. The check in staff, tours desk and bell service staff are woeful. Some staff were even rude to us which is very rare for Thai hospitality.

Yes pool the is good and many rooms walk out onto which is nice. But be ready for a mission if you want to get a towel for the pool or beach. Be prepared to wait a while whenever you order a drink. Room service never answer the phone when you ring. The showers in our room, as well as our friends room were very mouldy which is very off putting. Breakfast food is dismal.

Security is also poor, as I left my key in my room on a few occasions and when I asked to be let into the room, no one battered a eye lid. They just opened the room straight up without checking my name etc.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel based on the service alone, very disappointing.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    97
    39
    18
    15
See reviews for
48
137
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Looking by the name Paragon remind us of something niche or superior but the hotel seems to have some good deeds and some not.What we found here they have a great location,7eleven,nice rooms facing the pool on same level but on the other hand they are lack of certain things which can be fixed if they give a serious attention to it eg Wifi not free,poor English,poor gym equipment,hard mattress.On the other hand the breakfast was good and the rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

\we stayed at the Paragon from 25/2 until 5/3. It ticks all the boxes. Large clean rooms, amazing bathrooms. The pool is amazing. Its a good walk to the sights a\nd smells of Bangla road, but Phuket is not just about Bangla.
The staff are truly amazing. breakfast was great and we had a great time doing the in house Thai cooking course. Service from the pool bar, to reception and tour desk was terrific with lovely friendly staff.
As others have posted, the beds are pretty hard, but we would certainly stay again.
Looks like some rennovations are being done but that did not stop us enjoying this special place.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool, we had a fist floor room but the ground floor rooms with direct access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

As a regular (yearly) visitor to Thailand you form opinions as to exactly what you need and where to get it. My ideal resort in Phuket is one that is close to where all the action is (Bang-La street, etc) but away from the noise and distractions when you need rest and sleep.

The Patong Paragon is ideal in all respects being only a few minutes by Tuk Tuk from the Jeung-Ceylon shopping area, etc and right opposite one of the best beaches in the world.

The hotel, even though there are renovations happening in Feb/Mar 2013, is magnificent in all respects. If you can afford it, get a room on the ground level where your back door opens directly onto the pool. I was able to swim from my room to the pool bar where the prices of drinks and snacks are quite reasonable.

The breakfast and service are excellent but I learned one valuable lesson about hotel tour desks. The operators may seem helpful and friendly but do not book something with them that they have not experienced themselves. Ask them, "have you been there/seen the show?", etc. Do not book anything they cannot personally recommend and don't fall for the old line, "my brother's best friend's ex-girlfriend was best friends with somebody in the show who says it is the best". We felt absolutely "dudded" with a show we booked (see my review of Simon Cabaret for details).

One negative on the bedding (and the reason I do not give 100% rating for sleep quality) is that the beds are ridiculously hard and, if you like a little softness, are impossible to sleep on. The remedy is simple, ask the reception staff and they will supply a soft mattress overlay which easily solves the problem.

Overall, this hotel is worth the money (assuming you get a good rate!)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a ground floor room opening onto the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Paragon for 8 days. The hotel is located in the quieter end of Patong with the beach close by as well as a 7 Eleven across the road. The rooms and bathrooms are large. No complaint there. The pool is great though the service from the pool bar is very slow.

On the good side the breakfast buffet was good and there was plenty of variety. The woman chef at the egg station was very friendly as well as the pregnant lady that marked off our room number at the breakfast buffet.

The issue with this hotel is the staff. They speak very limited English and it was hard to communicate with them. Even trying to order room service was a chore. We called reception to book the shuttle (the night prior) and found out that this was not recorded and the shuttle left without us. They did the right thing and took us to the Shopping Mall when the shuttle returned.

The equipment in the gym is poor. There are several bikes, treadmills, a crosstrainer and weight machines. Our complaint here is that only one treadmill was working as the other one was missing the power cord. It was the same issue for the crosstrainer and these items were useless. We did bring this to their attention twice but we didn’t get any response.

We left out the “do not change linen and towels” card and this was ignored. The bed linen and towels were changed daily but this was not necessary. Why leave the card there if they are going to ignore your request?

On departure they tried to charge me for a bottle of water from the minibar that I did not have. They insisted that I pay but I refused. I was also charged for an ashtray that I accidently knocked off the balcony table and was charged 180b. I thought this was outrageous but I paid as I didn’t want to cause a further scene especially after being rudely spoken to by the reception guy about the bottle of water. Once he realised that I had no intention of paying for the water, he asked me to write down my reason which I gladly did.

A package I left for pick up has disappeared (packaged in a Paragon envelope). Fortunately I had taken a photo of the envelope and have forwarded onto the person that was picking up the package so hopefully it can be found.

Overall an ok place to stay but need to watch and record everything. You are better off paying extra to stay closer to the action and save on tuk tuk fares plus most other hotels offered free Wi-Fi which the Paragon do not.

Room Tip: Get the pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Apart from the room and proximity to Kamala Beach, we didn't find anything exceptional about this resort. No doubt, rooms were really very spacious and the interiors were good but barring that nothing commendable about this place.

The room service was mediocre. We were facing certain issue with the air-conditioning and had to call them up thrice before someone came to our room. The poor chap who came to rectify was not able to understand English either and it was more kind of gesture communication that took place. Fortunatley, after much of deliberation , it finally got fixed.

The worst experience, when they charged BAHT 400 for a small crack that appeared on one of their shower gel bottle, which was hardly of 100 ml (or maybe not even that). I really fail to understand on what basis the charges were decided on. When discussed with them, they showed their helplesness stating it's pre-decided and they can't do anything.

We didn't tried the food here, so can't actually comment on it.The staffs were okay.Adjacency to market place is good.

You can deifnetley find a better option to stay at Phuket with the kind of money you pay for this resort and their just average services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Weselected this place through the reccommendation of our friend who came here last year. They said it was wonderful and exceed expectation. We have found the same thing and it was Value for Money as well. We booked through online reservation. The hotel seem to be small at first glace but upon entering the premises, it is not and it was even warm hospitality. everybody smile and helpful. room is spacious with balcony over looking a large beautiful swimming pool. several times we spent at poolbar as the barboy there was very nice and the price was acceptable (hotel rate) the fitness centre was fully equipped. Beach is quite near just across the road less than 3 minutes walk. breakfast room is not big but ok. buffet was not so fancy but hot menu change everyday only basic like bread,cereal,fruit,salad is not change. eggs dishes made to order,it good because we can choose wht we like and it hot..seafood in the evening is accepatable eventhough the price was a little more than the street restuarant but taste good. room clean everyday and the place is well maintain. public transportation was easy to find. most interesting places are just a walking distance. Do not mis the show like Phuket fantasea and Simon cabaret. The tour counter'slady was attentive and can arrange you these program. we were very happy and never felt sorry to stay at this hotel. highly recommend

Room Tip: If you do not smoke, choose the top floor - non smoking floor and ask for room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Paragon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Paragon Resort & Spa

Address: 280 Prabaramee Rd. Patong, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#36 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Paragon Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Patong Paragon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Paragon Resort And Spa
Patong Paragon Hotel Patong
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Paragon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.