We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay & will be back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Save Saved
You added Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 261 hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second stay & will be back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed for 7 nights & the staff were very friendly & helpful. It is a great location,It's a short walk to the beach & to Bangla road,but also in a quiet street. It's very clean & has a good breakfast. Very good value for money. Will stay at Poppa Palace next time I'm in Patong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    115
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
54
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers stayed 4 nights at Poppa in April. We had the family duplex room which suits us perfectly as we all get a bit of privacy and 2 bathrooms are vital. We requested poolview rooms, which we were given on the third floor. Poppa is clean, the pools are nice,it is well priced, and in a very handy location. We really enjoy staying here, the only improvement would be a bit more variety at breakfast. There is a really nice restaurant next door- orange something- the food was fab and they have free wifi which the kids loved.

Room Tip: Definitely get poolview if you can, the other side looks over a lane way which can be a bit smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

the first and the last time!
It appears too be a Russian policy, managed, guests hotel! To get charged with ine day at the reservation time is ok but the issue was that at the check in I had to pay in advance the entire period and ..... in addition a deposit! In my 40 years of worlwide travelling I had never experienced this.
Positive were the friendly hotel boys, the opposit of the reception staff. Next time I will go back to the Salathai, cheaper and more friendly and a nicer area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were very happy with the hotel. It's very basic but it's clean, the breakfast buffet is good and is a nice location (no noise but 5 min walk to the beach, restaurants and bars) so would recommend to those on a budget like us!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our family stayed here during Songkran festival and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is better than it appears in photos. It has a great location down a quiet Soi, yet is just minutes to shopping, the beach and nightlife. The staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our one week stay. Rooms are very comfortable, although the bed is Thai-style firm. The TVs could be upgraded to flatscreens, but this is a minor inconvenience. Previous guests have commented on the amount of strict "rules" to be followed. These were fully explained to us at check-in and are displayed in the rooms. Given the many countries present at the hotel, coupled with the close proximity of bars and clubs, I feel they are simply stating the obvious, because I am sure they experience many unruly guests! After 20 years of travelling to Thailand, staying at many hotels, I've learned that you get back what you give out. We try to be friendly at all times and have never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been to Phuket alot of times, but despite some of the nasty reviews on multiple review sites, I crossed my fingers and still went ahead to book this hotel because it has a double bedrooms room at a budget price.

The Thais are usually very friendly people. If you are nice to them, they will be nice to you as well. I have no issue with all of the receptionists. We were all smiling and laughing when during checking in and out. The usual check in time is at 2pm, we reached the hotel at 10am, and they allow us to check in with no additional charge. The bellboys are friendly and helpful, and showed us our rooms and explain the stuff in the room. Also, the bottles of the complimentary water in the rooms are made of glass. I dont understand why would anyone bring these heavy glass bottles out of their room when the price of the chargeable plastic bottles are reasonable and the plastic bottled water are so much easier to bring around.

The minibar is cheap. Small bottle of smirmoff vodka is only 250baht.

The two pools are small and can be crowded even at off peak season. The jacuzzi tub in the play pool is spoilt though. The prices of the pool bar is reasonable - about 35baht for a mineral water, 75b for chang beer.

We didnt know we could only loan the pool towels once per day. But the receptionist gave us another set of towels cos we werent informed earlier. :P

This hotel has a mozzie problem. I got stung like 5 times in the night, with all my windows closed. No idea where these mosquitoes came from. Insect repellent doesnt help.

The aircon got turned off in the middle of the night, so we need to reset the system by taking the keycard out and insert back in.

Also the issue on the charging on the stained bed sheets that was mentioned a few times in TA? I wasnt charged for my stained bed sheets. *shrugs*

We tried to ask for a late check out, but the family rooms were fully booked. So we paid another 500baht for about 5 hours extension in a standard room. We asked for extra bath towels which were delivered to us in 2 mins. In a few hours we were in the room, the power tripped for like 3 times. Haha. Receptionist told us its an island-wide problem and the power came on after a while.

Location-wise, the hotel is about 5 mins stroll from Patong beach, and 10 mins walk to Junceylon. The road into the hotel is a little bumpy, and I think during the wet season, the roads might be muddy.

Oh, the massage palour right outside Poppa is goooood. Unlike most of the massage palours outside, whereby the masseurs will chat among themselves, the masseurs in Puluang Thai Massage are much more professional.

Wifi is chargeable in Poppa. But I just use the wifi from restuarants just outside the hotel, whenever I walked past. :P

All in all, Poppa is a good hotel and I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at Poppa Palace Hotel from October 2012 for 7 nights, great location for for Patong Beach.

Deluxe room was nice size with all amenities, very clean, staff very friendly and helpful with any problems

Breakfast and food was of good selection as always

Have been staying at Poppa Palace for past 5 years

Orange Cafe next to hotel is great for large variety of meals, and owner Nid is great lady

If returning to Patong, would stay and recommend at Poppa Palace Hotel for good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Patong
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.