We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Location- Family Duplex Room Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket to your Saves list
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Handy Location- Family Duplex Room Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in November, were a little surprised by the 1000 baht deposit request as had already paid on our credit card so couldn't really see the need, but wasn't a problem.
The family duplex room was perfect for us and our two kids (11&14) as we all had some privacy. We thought the hotel was very nice, staff OK, and the pools seemed nice enough. Our rooms faced the laneway which was a bit ugly, but the other side would have faced the pools which may have been noisy, so all in all we were very happy. Breakfast was nice, but the same every morning, a bit more variety would have been good.The location was great, about 7 minute walk to bangla, the beach and Jungceylon. It was very quiet at night which was great.

Room Tip: Pool side would be much nicer, but on the lower floors it may be noisy as they are right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    148
    56
    14
    9
See reviews for
74
76
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

arrived late afternoon on 22 october 2011, was meet a reception by a very unfriendly reception (man), told us we must pay upfront in full, should have turned around and went elsewhere, that was just the beginning ++1000thb dept in case of damages, again no alarm bells. we had to go cash money before we could pay which he was not to happy about. Later we decided to go for a swim we went to check out the jacuzzi and it was filthy im talking brown, both pools were not the cleanest the one near main entrance was by far worst. LOcation Fantatastic, The best massage place across the street. Room was clean , no complaints there and fresh towels everyday, which was good. +++200bht for another room key surprisingly (not). And once stupidly we locked ourselves out so they then charged us 80bht just to open the door.

The Staff other then the bell boys were extremly unwelcoming and every querie was meet with a sigh and a look of inconvenience.
We are not fussy nor do we expect a lot but I do expect a clean pool and friendly staff minus all the ++++.
I would not reccommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: pool view otherwise your balcony is facing the laneway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were there on 7th October 2011 till 9th Oct 2011 with working colleagues. The hotel is near to Patong beach but there is no access from behind so need to walk thru Bangla Road about 7-10 mins walk. Near to banks, souvenir shops, some bars and massage outlets. The hotel staff are ok and friendly but very calculative. They have surcharge for everything including extra person that you bring to you room though it is paid for 2 person !!
The breakfast is good too. They have 2 swimming pool. The ambient of the swimming pool and their garden is good and cool looking with Balinese style. There is 2 good restaurants beside with continental breakfast and dinner with a American pool table. We loved the services in the restaurant beside that allowed us to bring in our drinks and played pool there.
Other than that the bedroom and other items are clean.

Room Tip: The swimming pool facing Deluxe room and ground floor room near swimming pool are good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Good value clean hotel with all the facilities you'd expect however ignore advice of free wifi. You have to pay a modest amount for that service.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Unlike some of the other reviewers I have never had a problem here.
Rooms were clean,staff friendly-perfect location.
Cant say anything bad about this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Picked this hotel only for 2 days to do some shopping as we were staying in the Indigo Pearl at Nai Yang Beach. Now this is a place that everyone should go & check out once while in Thailand and possibly stay for a while. Poppa Palace being a small hotel which, i checked out in January 2011 after staying at the Busakorn Wing of the Holiday Inn. I decided to stay here as we just needed a small cheap & clean hotel to do some shopping for two days. And that is why i picked this hotel.

A quick run down,check in,was a breeze.room smelt stale,room was noisy from other quests above. We cut our stay down to one night after returning from a shopping trip to find a 600 baht bill for a dirty bed sheet on the bed. A quick call to reception i was informed & told that i had ruined there sheet.

They have a notice in reception stating that any sheet etc that is ruined is paid by the guest. This im told now & not before checking the linen out & not having the information & informed knowledge of been told by the reception staff when checking in the day earlier. So be careful if staying at this hotel & check everything in the room before using.

Whilst in the room two cleaners & a reception staff spoke in Thai & you do get the feeling they are putting the blame on you while we are checking out the dirty bed sheet in question. At the end of check out i did not have to pay & left immediately & will never return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

A mid-sized hotel but very intimate reflecting its family ownership and 'hands-on' management with guests treated like family.

We had a very comfortable room on the second level, facing north and with a balcony overlooking over the swimming pool. Modern, light and airy.

The staff are great reflecting the family atmosphere and always helpful.

There are eight computers in the lounge off the lobby which are free-of-charge to guests.

The only (minor) reservation. The size of the swimming pool/s. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed in May (2011) as it was 'shoulder' between high and low season and thus while there was plenty of room for us and the dozen or so others to relax, one wonders whether the space is adequate at busier times.

That said, it is a minor drawback really as the beach is not that far away! We had a very enjoyable stay over our first week in Patong.

Poppa is tucked away down Soi Jintana, off Rath-u-thit Road with several other hotels and one resort (the Del Mar), about 7/10 minutes walk to Bangla and Jungceylon. A shortcut at the end of the Soi, gives walking access to the beachfront road through the beerbar grouping flanked by the Irish and Sailor Bars.

Poppa only serve breakfast so you are free to explore the myriad options for eating in and outside the soi. There are two very good cafes on the first 'dogleg' corner almost adjacent to Poppa - Orange and the Corner - which both serve good Thai food at reasonable prices. And the food is also good at the Tiger Restaurant at the entrance to the soi.

Right opposite the hotel is the excellent Pulang Massage (the foot massage is as good as any I have had in Thailand; there are several choices for getting your laundry done and, if you want to hire motorcycles, the you can do this from the Dawan Shop at the entrance to the soi (opposite the Tiger Restaurant) where the bikes are serviced as well as hired.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#26 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.