We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've stayed in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baumanburi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baumanburi Hotel to your Saves list
Baumanburi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   239/1 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pi Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I've stayed in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I were booked into this hotel by our tour agency. We were there for 4 nights in late April 2013. We were first given a room on the second floor of the building away from the pool and facing the road. When we reached the floor we were hit by a very nasty sewage smell. The room we went in was stuffy and the bathroom old and leaking. The TV didnt work and we asked for a room change. We were brought to the 4th floor and given a room at the corner of the building. The TV and Air Conditioning were in working order but the bathtub was leaking and made the bathroom floor wet everytime we took a shower. That it was not provided with a shower curtain made the situation worse. My wife was bitten by insects (bugs?) on the first night and when we complained the next day the chambermaid just changed the bed sheets.
The lift we had to take up and down the floor had a very stinking damp carpet which made us want to puke everytime we got in and we had to take the stairs instead. When we asked to upgrade the room we were told to pay an additional 1,200 bath per night - we considered this too high. The noise from the hard rock cafe nearby could be heard from the room till very late at night.
The location is not very central and its quite a walk to the Bangla road and also to the beach.
I dont recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    200
    105
    59
    51
See reviews for
97
141
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My partner and I are staying for 6 nights and we've had a great time. When we arrived they upgraded us from the Deluxe room to the Grand deluxe. We were on the 6th floor in 5605 looking over the pool area. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the shower is powerful. The poolside bar is great too. The breakfast is ok, very different to Australia but still decent. There's no free wifi which is a bummer but still cheap. People might complain about the noise from other bars but it didn't bother us, we slept fine. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Baumanburi with my family and friends. I noticed that the pool staff would try to keep our change or short-change us every time we bought something. I talked to my family about this and everybody had the same experience so just be careful. It is a nice enough hotel but be careful when buying anything from the dodgy pool staff.

Room Tip: Count your change
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here from 5/4/2013-12/4/2013 very good central location nice rooms good breakfast, well priced, very large good pool would stay again no problem. Agree with other comments not 5 star but you pay for what you get and i think it is very good value for money. Bathroom a bit tired but nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband, 21 year old daughter and I stayed at this resort. We had originally purchased a Scoopon at a reasonable price, but once I got there, I upgraded us to a poolside room which was amazing. The swimup bar was great, the staff were professional and friendly, the grounds were clean, it was in a great location to the markets and restaurants around, and close to the beach.

Room Tip: Definately upgrade to a poolside room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights in the pool access room, my partner and I enjoyed our stay. I must say I think that some people are extremely picky; you get what you paid for! This is not a 5 star resort and you dont pay a 5 star price.
The cons: the toilet leaked and the shower wasnt clean, the room did also have a smell at some times, and the band playing are extremely loud especially on weekends
The Pros: the pool it is amazing, the rooms were serviced everyday and kept clean, the staff that I dealt with were friendly, the location is great, and the price makes this a place I will defintely return to.
If you are looking for a luxury resort this is not it, if you are looking for a base to enjoy the sights of Patong and are not fussed by small details you will love it lie we did.

Room Tip: Definitely get a pool access room, this made our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked a Grand Deluxe room for my parents and the room was great just like a 4 to 5 star hotel. Breakfast selection was good. Shopping stalls was right at the hotel front with OTOP market a stone throw away. My parents had an early flight home and had to check out at 5am in the morning. My mum was so touched when the staff packed them breakfast knowing that they could have breakfast in time. I was a bit worried on the reviews from other guests initially but didnt regret after all. I totally agree with review from Rod W you get what you give. Treat others like how you wish to be treated. However, the superior room need to be refurbished as it was really old during my one night stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baumanburi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baumanburi Hotel

Address: 239/1 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pi Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baumanburi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Where hospitality meets the convenience " The Baumanburi Hotel is just a five-minute walk to the white sandy beach of Patong and just a few steps away from the nearest shopping and entertainment center. The airport is 45 minutes away by car. All rooms are decorated in contemporary Asian styles with modern amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. On-site facilities include a restaurant that serves fine Thai and international cuisines, a pool bar, the Sauna and Spa, and a conference room. Comfort and convenience are the hallmarks of Baumanburi Hotel and their warm hospitality and professional services ensure that all guests have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Baumanburi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baumanburi Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baumanburi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.