We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Squareone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Squareone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Squareone to your Saves list
Squareone
241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Decent Squareone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Booked Squareone from [-] after reading reviews from traveladvisor. True enough. A decent, clean, new hotel with a small clean pool. There were 4 of us and we booked a triple room for only 900baht. The room is at the corner with the small pool and mountain view. They never question us when there were 4 of us. The internet is free to be used at pool side. Can get wi-fi with my lap top from the room. Located just off the Bangla Rd. Real near to lotsa restaurants, shopping and activites around. Just 2 streets away from the beach and action. A real value for money accomodation.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I booked this place on hostelworld bc it got reall high reviews, and we were not disappointed. There were 3 of us looking to share a room, and SquareOne was extremely accomodating. When we arrived the staff was warm and welcoming and bc our original room wasn't ready, they upgraded us to one of the larger rooms for free.

Our room had a double sized bed which my friend and I shared, with an adjoining room that had a futon/couch in front of a very nice TV and dvd player. We even had a closet, full of fresh clean towels suitable for the shower OR the beach! Lets just say, after staying in some dilapidating places in Thailand, we were extremely happy to find SquareOne.

The hostel is about 15 minutes from Patong Beach. On the plus side, its away from the hustle, bustle and noisy touristy areas of Patong. On the down side, it was still a 10 min walk to the beach, and at least 15 min to Bangla Road (where all the nightlife and craziness of Phuket is located) but hey, we got our exercise in!

The staff were so always so nice, always smiling and it was nice to see their friendly faces. On days when we were exhausted, we'd come home in the afternoon and just crash in front of the TV and watch the Heroes marathon that seemed to always be on, lol. We all agreed that SquareOne was nicer than some of the hotels we've stayed at in the US! Defitinely stay here, the price for this type of accomodation is unbeatable!!!

**Just look at our pics, see how happy we are!?

  • Liked — The room and service!
  • Disliked — Only 2 computers :(
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed here for a few nights during our stay in Phuket. The room was new and clean, and was fairly sized. I payed a extra fee for upgrading to a deluxe room, it turned out the room didn't have any windows at all ! Very disappointed, but that was the only big problem with this hotel/hostel. The staff where friendly and helpful. Also a free internet service was available for us. OneSquare is located in a calm area of Patong and a short walk to the beach. There where some building activity during they day while we stayed there. Only a temporary problem i guess.

PROS:
* Friendly staff
* OK location, short walk to the beach
* Clean and new
* Free internet

CONS:
* No windows in our room, even though it was a deluxe room :(

  • Liked — New and clean
  • Disliked — no windows in our room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed here with my Thai boyfriend for 4 nights. We rented the suite which was at the end of the building and had a seprate bedroom and a dvd player. The staff were fantastic to us. Automatic motorbikes were avaialble and the free internet was fast and always available. You cannot find better for the money. Near everything but feels far away. Great place

  • Liked — location frinedly staff
  • Disliked — noisy construction next door daytime only
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Me and my best friend stayed here for our two nights in phuket. Nestled in between the roads and buildings and little hotels was very clean and welcoming. Beds we the best and the aircon was great. The bathrooms however we another thing. The water was pretty gross but you get that everywhere in Asia. Comes with the experience. Overall the hotel would be great for young travelers or those not worried about where you sleep.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Stayed for two nights at this hotel in December 2007.

In my opinion this hotel was excellent value for money for anyone wishing to stay in Patong. The hotel was clean & tidy and ideal for those on a budget. It is located only five minutes walk to the beach. The bars/gogo's are also about five/ten minutes walk away.

I thought the service at the hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly. The hotel also will collect you from the airport for a minimal fee.

I have stayed in a fair few different hotels in different parts of Thailand and found this to be one of the best value.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Views
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin and all over
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

This is a really nice budget hotel at the very end of rat-u-thid road parallel to patong beach. Last turn off on left on the one way road (rat-u-thid) and at the very end of that street – note it is not signposted on the road and no taxi drivers know it as it is reasonably new. It is very close to the Mercure hotel so when you see that you will know you are close (2nd left after Mercure).

It is about 15-20 minutes walk to the bangla road and the party centre and about 10 minutes to the beach. The pool is tiny but you are so close to the beach this does no matter.

There is aircon and safes in all rooms and the beds are comfortable although I did get badly bitten during the night two nights running in one of the rooms.

There is free wireless internet and TV. This is a small hotel but the sound proofing is very poor so if you have noisy neighbours you might have a problem but I was lucky enough other than one lady to liked to express her satisfaction quite loudly.

In the lobby area there are computers and vending machines and 24 hour security. Staff are friendly but get exasperated very easily. I am not sure if this is because of their poor understanding of English or their general attitude to clients. Whenever I walked by the desk and they were dealing with customers they would invariably put their eyes to heaven when the customer had left.

As an aside Patong beach is VERY COMMERCIALISED and you cannot walk 2 steps without being offered food, taxi, tuk-tuk, bike, sex, massage etc. The beach is very busy and the nightlife quite seedy. There are many quieter beaches etc a short taxi ride away and to hire a taxi for a whole day is not that expensive. I did a 3 day scuba diving course while I was there which is a lot cheaper than in other developed countries and most of them seem to be very professionally run (always look for a PADI course). I did mine with ScubaCat and had a really good and safe time.

  • Liked — Great location - good modern small hotel with excellent air con
  • Disliked — paper thin walls
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Squareone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squareone

Address: 241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squareone offers luxury rooms at budget prices in the south end of Patong, only a five minute walk to the fantastic white sand beach and local entertainment spots. We are in easy reach of the town centre, bars, restaurants and shops. Squareone has a swimming pool where you can chill out and relax, or browse the net using our free wireless WiFi. Squareone emphasizes personal service and our staff are committed to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Squareone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squareone Hotel Patong
Squareone Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squareone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.