We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot for your buck, so who can complain?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Squareone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Squareone to your Saves list
Squareone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A lot for your buck, so who can complain?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We would go back! But you need to check which room you're in, as after the first night in a windowless, smelly room we asked to be moved. For an extra 50 bhat were put in a lovely big room with windows! It is incredible value at only 600 a night and right near all the big hotels, beach, nightlife. Very difficult to find (it's near the Mercure, 2nd road on left past that). No point using google maps as we tried that, eventually 2 ladyboys saved us by calling the hotel, getting directions and driving us on their scooters!!  The hotel needs to provide a map or proper directions on their website. There is free wifi and computers. Awesome place to stay if you're on a budget. Didn't use pool as was raining. 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Located at the end of the road of Rat-u-thit. If you had a problem with the long distance, i dont recommend this place. It is pretty far from the Bangla Road crowd. The room was very affordable, met my budget requirement. Clean, nice, and smells okay. The view, well nobody expect a great view from a budget hostel right? So dont expect one, since it is located at the corner of the block, so nothing much to see.

I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Surprisingly, with such low rate they provide TV, room with AC, an inside bathroom, and a free wifi. Very nice. They also provide an outside bathroom if you dont want to bother your room mate while you're showering (CMIIW). They also provide a safety box to keep your belongings. It also has a swimming pool, well it is very small one, since it was very small one, i prefer not to swim there. I guess the pool has a good effect for the hotel view. Just like the most hotels in Patong, they also have a taxi service, and a mini bus service (B200) to the airport. You can also rent a motorbike for only B200 per day.

For those of you who didnt bring any gadget with wifi, they provide 2 PCs available for use in the lobby. It is available to use from 7 am - 10 pm (not so sure). They also has a mini bar. I guess you should pay for drinks.

Overall, i really like the place and i enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We where pleasantly surprised when we first arrived to this hotel a couple of years ago. It's simple, but very clean and comfortable and it has many nice "extras" such as TV and DVD in the room, free internet use, air conditioning, pool and snack bar.

The hotel is located on a very quiet side street, so you never have to endure the noise that is normally heard in most places in Patong. Yet, it is within walking distance to all the restaurants, bars and shops, and only a 10-minute walk from the beach.

The rooms where very nice and clean with a big comfortable bed, TV, DVD and a big bathroom.

The service was absolutely great! The owner of the hotel, as well as the staff, where never to busy to help. If you needed post cards sent, the staff would send them for you. If you needed directions, the staff would actually walk you there! The owner was really nice and offered you everything from free coffie to free rides to the airport or wherever you needed to go.

The only negative thing was that several people developed skin rashes from bathing in the pool. A problem that was probably temporary and due to too much chlorine in the water (my guess)
I'm sure this is not a recurring issue.

If you're looking for a really cheap hotel that doesn't "feel" cheap, then this is the place for you!
We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed @ this hotel in November 2009 and booked through hostelworld.com. Not quite sure the exact price we paid per night but it was a reasonable amount. The hotel arranged a pick up for us from the airport to the hotel. The driver (Thai man in the hotel) did not speak any English what so ever but he was very nice.

Our hotel room was mediocore. The room and bed is clean. The bathroom is one of those Asia bathrooms where the toilet is right in front of the shower! The bathroom definitely needs upgrading but it will do if you don't mind the toilet and shower area being in the same spot. The Thai man drove us around the city alot to the zoo's, malls, eatery, etc.. We would pay him as if he was a regular cab driver. I think if anything, he charged us less than a cab driver. Staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke English. Location is about 10-15 minutes walk to the beach... not too bad when the weather is beautiful out! You can choose to pay an additional fee for them to drive you back to the airport once you leave.

Would stay here again if I were to visit Phuket again :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Not a good hotel. Small rooms and the receptionist guy is not friendly and not having good manners. The English is also very bad and just saying No and Mai Mee even he don't understand the conversation. They should terminate that guy and replace with a new one to stay in good business. It's ok not to have a good english but must have good manners and especially polite.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at SquareOne a while ago. It is a simple and neat place. The location is within walking distance to the beach. The owner Mark and his wife are friend. Mark is from England ... so he is very helpful to English speakers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have just finished my 3 month stay at Squareone in a Deluxe room and i cannot fault this hotel.It's a 7 minute walk to Patong Beach and a 12 minute walk to Junceylon Shopping Centre.My Deluxe room was so big compared to comparitive priced hotels and has a King size bed,cold aircon,90 cable tv channels and Wifi (very fast).Som (the manager) goes above and beyond to make all of her guests very happy and she's always available to answer any questions you may have with a smile.There are only 15 rooms which gives it that boutique feel and not overrun with too many guests like most hotels.It also has a pool and 2 computers for guests to use free of charge.Housekeeping clean your room any time of day at your convenience.Next time i'm in Patong,i will definately stay here again,can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Squareone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squareone

Address: 241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Squareone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squareone offers luxury rooms at budget prices in the south end of Patong, only a five minute walk to the fantastic white sand beach and local entertainment spots. We are in easy reach of the town centre, bars, restaurants and shops. Squareone has a swimming pool where you can chill out and relax, or browse the net using our free wireless WiFi. Squareone emphasizes personal service and our staff are committed to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Squareone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squareone Hotel Patong
Squareone Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squareone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.