We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn peacocks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tropica Resort and Restaurant to your Saves list
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 274 Hotels in Patong
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Damn peacocks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staff were great, room as good but a little dated.
Breakfast was good.
Peacocks out back near the pool made sleeping very difficult as they were noisy all night.
I mentioned the peacocks to the staff and they said they had lots of complaints but the boss was not listening.

Room Tip: Stay away from the peacocks, you will be kept awake all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    19
    8
    15
See reviews for
12
24
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Kilda, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tropica Bungalows for 15 nights in a twin room,I was disappointed with this hotel that said the staff are fantastic very friendly and helpful, the cleanliness of the room is fantastic it is second to none, the negatives the breakfast is not great, not much of a variety so not a lot of choices, the hotel and rooms are showing a lot of wear and tear and could definetly do with an upgrade, flat screen televisions were installed during our stay, the pool is not very inviting, we also had to pay for a christmas eve and new years eve dinner which were 2000 and 2500 bht each,very disappointing they were they would of been great if you like seafood not much on offer for non seafood eaters or for children, the positives are the fantastic staff!

Room Tip: Request a room close to reception as they are quieter as there is a lot of noise from bangla road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was there with friends and my wife for 1 week,
the first day we had on our bathroom 2 big white towels, 2 white hand towel , 1 floor mat and 2 beach towels, however after the first time the housekeeper clean our room, 1 beach towel dissapear.
The thing is the day when we were leaving the Hotel we stop to have breakfast at the reastaurant when one of the recepcionist came to tell me that one bottle of vodka and one beach towel were missing, things which i did not took or drink even I expplain them. so for the rest of the tourist who are planning to stay there check everyday what you have inside of your room because at the end you will have to pay if something is missing as i have to pay for stuff wich i did not took or drink. worst experience ever and last time in Thailand and be carefull with the riip off on any ways

Room Tip: if you want a quiet place no noise, and honestly, strongly recommended to do not even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropica11, Manager at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We have 100 guests who never complain about something gets taken away from their room, our staff has nothing of taking away a towel, or charge a bottle of spirit, which we do not have in our rooms, we offer no minibar, so I'm wondering how this could happen.
If this guest would look up Tripadvisor sometimes and read about our hotel, he would have seen that some guests telling about the nightlife road not far away and could have asked for a quiet room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having stayed at Tropica Bungalows previously (4 years ago) I was a little worried that things would not be as good as I remembered them !!!! Things weren't as good as 4 years ago , they were better !!!! the staff are all really friendly , the breakfast was great ( good selection , and eggs cooked to order) , the rooms are really comfortable , and the pool area was perfect . The only drawback is the noise from Bangla road ( but hey, why stay there if you aren't going to enjoy the nightlife!?!). Couldn't be more conveniently placed for the beach,shopping and nightlife. In short, if you're in Patong this is THE place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms closest to Bangla road if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very beautiful place to stay in Phuket, very close to beach, and has excellent room layouts, each room has its own privacy, and it feels like individual Raw house units, best restaurant and polite staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

the Tropica Bungalow Hotel was the 1st place i ever stayed in Phuket, and have returned there frequently- right on the Beach Rd in Patong, it is one of the few resorts in Patong that has an unobstructed walk to the beach across the street (much of the Beach Rd is filled on both sides w/businesses, w/infrequent passageways to beautiful Patong Beach w/its idyllic setting & soft white sand) the Resort itself is behind their restaurant, which features for hotel guests a free breakfast buffet (better than average, w/everything fresh & tasty- even an omelette bar where the chef will create an omellete w/anything you choose, as well as 1 or more Thai entrees, even do-it-yourself toast w/several kinds of bread to choose from!!!)- the coffee is passable, not powdered Nescafe [its brewed in a big urn);- also guests receive a card for 20% discount on all food & beverages open until late w/live music most evenings, the food is good but not great (but not bad) there are many other choices for tastier & cheaper food (although for a hotel, the food is by no means expensive) -once you walk towards 2nd Road, especially in a little alley to your right shortly after you enter Bangla Rd...
The staff & service at the resort is impeccable; (although) my 1st visit we had a gruesome discovery- used hypodermic needles (in a cubbyhole above the mirror, at a height most people, especially the cleaning staff, wouldn't see, but i'm 1.94 meters tall, 6'4"); freaking out, i called the staff, they came immediately to clean it & offered us 2 free nights as a result...
the hotel setting is a beautiful lush garden w/verdant tropical foliage everywhere, with a beautiful pool tucked away behind a privacy-creating "wall" of trees, hedges, ferns, & foliage.
the bungalows aren't big, but they are nicely appointed w/many traditional Thai design elements incorporated into the decoration scheme effortlessly (haven't stayed in the newer 2-story wing towards the back right side, so don't know about those rooms- but i LOVE the bungalows!!!) everything worked impeccably, good a/c & ceiling fan, luxurious terry bathrobes provided, good hot water, minibar, free bottled water- and one of the biggest, most comfortable beds i have ever slept in... w/2 or more chairs & a table on every front patio (where we sat more than a few times) and a very thoughtful wooden clothes drying rack for wet bathing suits, etc
on my 2nd visit, i had booked another, much more expensive place on the beach side specially for my birthday (said hotel will remain nameless, as they messed everything up from beginning and i demanded & received a refund), i then checked into Tropica; when i got into my room- i found that the staff had already placed a beautiful bouquet of flowers in my room w/a card saying "Happy Birthday Jenifer" (without my informing them it was my b-day, but of course they knew from my passport- but many other places wouldn't bother!!!, especially placing it there before i entered the room- i was wondering why check-in took a few minutes longer this time!!!)

the only negatives i can say are that the bungalows on the left side as you enter are subject to all night long throbbing polyglot of various loud music emanating from multiple venues at once on (in)famous Bangla Rd, just behind that side of resort...
all in all, my fave spot to stay (and amongst best value for money on the beach) in Patong

Room Tip: avoid the bungalows on the left side; way too much noise most of the night from Bangla Rd right behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korumburra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Check in was very disappointing, as we had booked and paid for 2 rooms Months ahead and check in was confusing. The rooms are very nice. Staff were friendly over all and the place was cosy despite it was near to the Bangla Road. It's very convinient as Bangla Road was just beside the Tropica (to get to the street behind was a short walk) and the seafood restaurants were all nearby. The beach was just across the street. The food in their Restaurant was fantastic. We ate there at least once nearly every day. The food was so good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropica Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropica Resort and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.