We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay so far” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Laimai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Laimai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   66 Taweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible stay so far”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Checked into hotel with pool-view room for 5 nights. After checking, while hanging out on the balcony? We were locked outside for 30 mins. Had to get a neighbouring room to get reception to come get us out. While waiting outside, the chair broke when I sat on it. The chair was taken away and didnt return back. Toilet/bathroom is rusting terribly on handles and shower head. Room is big but feels empty as there is not much furniture. Requested a new room and was given one as i didnt want to get stuck on the balcony again. New room has a balcony but faces a wall. Got home late night to shower after being out all day and there is no hot water. Already booked another hotel and forfeiting my other 4 nights as I dont want this to ruin my trip. Usd $750 wasted.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    204
    109
    69
    68
See reviews for
96
186
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great hotel, great location enjoyed every moment of our stay. Its rght in the centre of patong whilst being relaxing at the same time. Entertain provided by the hotel at nigh with great cocktails being served

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Good for location, steps away from the beach...

Check in:
Like other reviewers said, you don't get to check in early. We understand but everyone was treated the same.
The staff pointed to the desk "Check in is 2pm"!

The Reception staff do not portray an image that they interested in their job. No Smile... That's not the usual Thai style that I have been traveling within Asia.

When you requested for a Duty Manager, Assistant General Manager, the staff replied "Oh sorry, no manager on duty..."!

Last time staying in this hotel.

Poolside and Room Service guys are more cheery & happy people.!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you are looking for a place close to the beach (just cross the street), shopping’s and restaurants, you will find there. The pool is nice also, so if you are tired of the beach, or beach is too crowded, the pool gives you a good option. Rooms are spacious, clean but furniture/condition needs attention. After some problems in our room due to maintenance, we were moved to a pool view room which was great - if you have chance to select this type of room, it is recommend. All staff very friendly and attentive. Good breakfast. New Year Celebration was great with excellent variety of food and shows.

Room Tip: If you can choose the room, i would recommend the pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is ideally located with the beach across the road, various restaurants, pubs, spas and shops within walking distance. The reception customer service was excellent, we even extended our stay by 2 nights, total stay of 11 nights! Bangla road (nightlife at its best) is not even a 3min walk. Tuk tuk taxis are available at the road in front of the hotel. The pool was one of the best I've seen and been in. The room service meals were of an excellent standard.

If location is important to you, this is ideal!

It is very noisy due to the road being close by and the entertainment at the hotel being on til late, so not ideal for a quiet get away with a loved one, ideal for a group of friends. Free wifi available and great business centre to keep in touch with family back home, standard gym facilities available also. The daily breakfast was sufficient, but could be better in terms of variety. The room service/housekeeping staff's English is not too good, sometimes you don't get what you asked for.

I suggest a pool facing room, its creates the perfect scene to a great holiday.

Room Tip: Pool/beach facing rooms are a must have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As center of Patong Beach as it can get.

Baan Laimai was a good experience especially for its rating. The resort is located right across the beach and in the midst of many restaurants, massage parlours and shops that line the Patong Beach strip. Bangla Street is a 5 minute walk and getting to the mall may take 10 minutes.

I had a huge room with a balcony to match offering a beach view. The downside of the room, however, was being close to the street, there was constant noise of traffic. The fixtures in the bathroom were a bit rusty and stained but not to suggest that they were unclean. The airconditioning broke down in my room around 2 am but the hotel was prompt to send a repairman to fix the breaker.

The check in experience was not that great - we got in around 12 pm and had to wait till 2 pm to get our room - seemed that they really go by the book when they say check in at 2:00 pm and they didnt seem to rushed about anything.

Dining options at the hotel are limited but that shouldnt matter as there are many options around you outside the hotel. The breakfast was adequate not exotic, serviing a mixture of hot and cold food.

Free wifi all across the hotel.

Overall, 3.5 out of 5 but 5 out of 5 for location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Location in front of beach, I was lucky to have a room facing the beach. My room has the biggest window I have seen, the whole wall is window. Cool air conditioning and no cockroach, but bathroom have a lot of mosquitos, I have to spray my bathroom area every 2 days with can of insecticide I requested from the reception desk.
The bathroom have this miniature not working water fall??!! Why?? Just a breeding ground for mosquito larvae. Weird...
room gets clean everyday, elevator breaks down after my 2nd day of stay and stay out of order until I check out.
En suite safe, electric kettle for tea or coffee and small ref. TV is not flat screen. 15 mins walk to Bazaan market, 10 mins to Bangla rd.
I have no problem with loud band music playing until 2am

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for no mosquito room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Laimai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Laimai Beach Resort

Address: 66 Taweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Laimai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Laimai Beach Resort is located on the beach road of the most well-known “Patong” beach, right in the midst of entertainment, and shopping area, with just crossing the road to the beach. Featuring in-house restaurants with Thai, Western cuisines and tasteful seafood from Andaman sea. Offering the lagoon-size swimming pool where you can take a break at the cozy pool bar. The fitness facilities will give you relaxation and relief from your everyday stresses. Experiencing beauty & recreation on Patong Beach or alternatively strolling for lively entertaining & shopping. You may have it all with us in making your perfect stay at Baan Laimai Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baan Laimai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Laimai Beach Hotel Patong
Baan Laimai Beach Patong
Baan Laimai Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Laimai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.