We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach boy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Expat Hotel to your Saves list
The Expat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beach boy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friends actually stayed here and I visited them regularly.
The layout of the bars was good and we bumped into so many other Aussies it almost felt like home. Service was a little slow at times but mainly because they were so busy.
So close to Jungceylon and all the nightlife, especially Bangla Rd.
Highly recommend it for westerners as a good, safe and convenient place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
5
26
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here in mid-2012 (sorry for the late review) with a couple of friends. We chose the "super deluxe poolside room". By the sound of it, we thought it would be expensive, but we were pleasantly surprised with the price.A little bit about the room. We were 3 college buddies (full grown adults) staying in that one room and we were very comfortable. The pool was about a couple of steps away and the bar was about 5-6 steps away. Best start to the vacation ever. The breakfast was not included in the room, but you could order a continental a-la-carte breakfast for very cheap. The second and the main highlight of the hotel is it's location. It's minutes away from Bangla Road, the main party place in Patong/Phuket. It would be very difficult for a dead drunk to get lost on his way back from a night of heavy partying. The hotel is also close to the beach and is well known by the taxi drivers and the tour operators. Overall, the best hotel I have stayed in in recent times.

Room Tip: Get a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Located not far from Bangla road if you want to be right in the middle of Patong and rooms of a good standard, you won't be unhappy if you choose to stay here. Martyn the manager and his staff are great and always on hand to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great Hotel and awesome staff.The Expat is like a second home.The rooms are always clean and comfortable and within a great location to all the attractions that Patong has to offer.The Expat is great for families,singles with children or solo travel.The pool is a great place to chill out and meet new friends and when the sun goes down meet them at the bar and have a few coldies.They have a BBQ night which is great and very affordable and the restaurant food is also good.When it comes to staying in Patong there is no place but the Expat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Didnt stay here this trip but did spend a lot of time here, have stayed in the past.. This hotel is in a prime position close enough for everything but still quiet for a good night sleep. The coffee shop and sports bar are excellent and the expat staff are super friendly and accomadating.. Rooms are a little dated but are clean and big. Beds are lil hard but that's normal for Thailand. Pool area is excellent and have massage area too. I highly recommended this hotel and Im looking forward to staying here next time I'm in patong, well done to the crew at expat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at the Expat for the 3rd time in 18 months. Amazingly friendly staff who are always willing to hep you out or to just have a chat. Very laid back environment whether you just start your day in the restaurant, or settle in the sports bar for the whole night. The Expat was also great enough to put on a great shindig for my friends 40th, a night where over 25 friends and family travelled form Australia to celebrate. I don't even need to consider any other hotel in Patong. This is home.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra for the larger rooms. The ground floor rooms have their own enclosed balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been staying here for about 2 1/2 years now. After your first trip, they will all know your name. The rooms and the property are kept CLEAN. Pool has been crystal clear every time I have been down there. The kitchen is spotless and the food is good. Best coffe in Patong. Try the friday night BBQ. This Hotel is quiet and no joiner fees. However, it is only two minutes walk from Soi Bangla; all the live music and action that makes Patong what it is for nightlife. The Expat sports Bar is a great place to meet locals and vacationers from all over, They have an excellent music system with all the classic rock you know. Need sports? They got it, AFL,NRL,NFL, whatever. Martyn and all of the Expat girls know how to host a party. If you are interested in a day trip, they can help you sort that out as well. Apple helped me get me to a local dentist. Joe even gave me a ride. I believe the location makes this a safe place for single travelers ( ladies too ) as you will not have to walk back very far from the nightlife.
Yes ,they have a security guard nightly at reception.

Room Tip: If you want a big bathroom, pay a little more and upgrade the room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Expat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.