We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away yet in your face!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Expat Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Expat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Expat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 273 hotels in Patong
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tucked away yet in your face!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

this was my husband's 4th stay at the expat and our 1st as family....what a lovely place.....very warm reception and coffee bar staff and spa staff.....among other things the location of the hotel is ideal...3 minutes to the hot and happening bangla street and ditto for the jung ceylon mall....the two places are completely buzzing all the time and it is amazing that the hotel can offer you so much quiet and peace even tho it is so so close...the laundry is just there, the exchange bureaux by the dozen...what else could you want....the food in the restaurant is nice and the saturday night barbecue is good....the staff do not interfere, and yet are very helpful.... and the price is just just right....just before we stayed there the local black cat had delivered 4 kittens...was a delight playing with them as we missed our dog back home...if we ever go back, we will stay there again....

Room Tip: the pool side rooms with a little sit out are just right....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    55
    13
    11
    9
See reviews for
5
24
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I haven't stayed here for some time but really enjoyed the two times I've stayed here. Rooms are basic and a little small but you pay for what you get. Staff first class friendly & always helpful. Can get a little busy around the pool at times. A little nosy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I will start with the good, that being the location, for anyone wanting to enjoy the nightlife of Patong, then Expat Hotel is a great location to do that from, as it is only about 3 minutes walk and you will be at Bangla Rd. The staff here are all lovely, especially Apple at Reception and Lucky in the cafe. The rooms are very basic, but always kept clean which is good. The pool is also always clean and a nice way to keep cool whilst recovering from a big night.
Ok to the bad, well it is called the Expat hotel, and that is very evident in that every afternoon a group of mature expat british blokes descend on the pool area with very little regard for paying guests. I presume these blokes don't stay at the hotel, but must have some arrangement with the owner, because they practically take over the pool area and make it impossible for anyone else to have a relaxing quite and peaceful afternoon by the pool which is disappointing. I would have thought some preference to paying guests would be given by management but like I said I can only presume they contribute to the hotel in some way as they just seem to come and go as they please.
Overall if you are looking for a clean, staff friendly budget hotel in a good location, then Expat Hotel is that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Yes i have just returned from another great holday in Patong ! the Expat Hotel the same as always making sure everybody has a super relaxing time ! all the staff do there bit to make sure all your needs are seen too ! and Annie the manageress is 2nd. to none, she will sit and talk about ones needs and do her utmost to help ! I have already booked up for the 1st. 3 weeks in October ! and looking forward to it even at this early stage ! you just cannot beat this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaprio d'Agogna, Italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The best address in Patong beach!

The Expat Hotel is my second home. Excellent location, just 2 minutes walk to Bangla Road. It's in a quite street, so you can stay in the heart of Patong but without noise of nightlife.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After a frustrating tour of trying to find a room in Patong after our ants and room without a window episodes in my other reviews and quite many "sorry we are full" (even though showing space in Booking.com) we ended up here.

Hotel is a bit expensive compared to more modern and newer hotels near by. It is also already has rather retro feeling. Like stepping back to Phuket 10 years ago. But it is clean and staff is nice and polite. Location also very good with close to Bangla but quiet still.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

3days were not enough ! When I come back I'm going to plan a longer stay.
The staff goes out of their way to do the best for you but I didnt find them too welcoming

They MUST update their website and mention things clearly.There is a high chance that you may confuse yourself with the reservation of expat guesthouse and expat hotel.They tell you on arrival that the rates on the website were for another location or a different season etc

BUT they are people of their words and definitely do the best they can ! :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Expat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.