We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Expat Hotel to your Saves list
The Expat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 289 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Vaprio d'Agogna, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“My second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The best address in Patong beach!

The Expat Hotel is my second home. Excellent location, just 2 minutes walk to Bangla Road. It's in a quite street, so you can stay in the heart of Patong but without noise of nightlife.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    71
    15
    13
    11
See reviews for
5
26
76
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After a frustrating tour of trying to find a room in Patong after our ants and room without a window episodes in my other reviews and quite many "sorry we are full" (even though showing space in Booking.com) we ended up here.

Hotel is a bit expensive compared to more modern and newer hotels near by. It is also already has rather retro feeling. Like stepping back to Phuket 10 years ago. But it is clean and staff is nice and polite. Location also very good with close to Bangla but quiet still.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

3days were not enough ! When I come back I'm going to plan a longer stay.
The staff goes out of their way to do the best for you but I didnt find them too welcoming

They MUST update their website and mention things clearly.There is a high chance that you may confuse yourself with the reservation of expat guesthouse and expat hotel.They tell you on arrival that the rates on the website were for another location or a different season etc

BUT they are people of their words and definitely do the best they can ! :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here several days before Christmas 2012. If I had wanted to party each evening, I could have but I didn't need to and didn't have to. During the day I could lie by the pool, read a book from the lending library, get a massage, watch the cats , walk a block to the beach, enjoy the food at the restaurant or at the zillions of nearby places.

I booked a tour and that was fine. I rented a car and that was fine.

My room on the second floor had a small fridge, lovely place to sit outside and write on inside at the small desk.

The massage I began with on Christmas morning was very good.

I would have stayed there when I returned from a week long trip around Thailand but they were full.

Christmas lunch here was amazing with the manager and staff doing the most amazing job of making an American and European Christmas time. The pleasantness of the staff is unparalleled.

What I like most is that you can adjust it to your needs and interests.

Room Tip: Ask for a nonsmoking room. Tell them if you want a room on the first, second, or third floor.Quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've stayed at the Expat 5 times over the last few years while visting friends in Patong who reccomended the hotel to me and would never stay anywhere else.
From my first visit onwards the staff have been fantasic, always pleased to see you and very helpful. The rooms although not 5 star are always clean and comfortable. I never really eat there that much apart from breakfast (very tasty sausage, egg and chips) as I prefer to scout around different resteraunts in the evening, but heard no complaints from other guests.
Overall the the thing I like best about the Expat is the atmosphere, always very relaxed with a lot of return customers and locals who enjoy a chat and a beer at the bar.
I always feel like I'm returning to a second home and I'd much rather stay here than a large resort style hotel.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms on the ground floor are well worth the extra money, but as i usually book w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. When I travel elsewhere, I would love to stay in a hotel like Expat but, unfortunately, I can never find anything close. Expat is only three star but we try to help people meet each other and have a great holiday in a convivial atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawai, Thailand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been to the Expat Hotel five times over the last five years and my most recent visit last week was a result of winning a voucher in a raffle for two free nights. I was so pleased it was this hotel as I know it well and I would prefer to stay here than any other hotel in Patong. As usual the staff are so friendly and Martyn, who runs the F & B, makes you feel very welcome. The bar and restaurant serve tasty food and drinks at very affordable prices. I will happily book (and pay) for future visits as I usually meet friends who also choose to stay there regularly. I live in Phuket but always stay at the Expat when in Patong rather than make the jouney back home.
Simon, Rawai, Phuket.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you Simon for a positive review. Glad you had a good weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinnar, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Back again for another taste of relaxation still great on site massage,still great staff,still great laundry service,still great food and beer might not be the cheapest but it has it all...ill be back

Room Tip: Poolside rooms with balcony are larger and the balcony is handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingKlong, Manager at The Expat Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your review John. Happy guests is what we aim at. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.1 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Expat Hotel Patong Center
Expat Hotel Patong Center
#250 of 289 in Patong
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
#74 of 289 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#63 of 289 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#18 of 289 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#86 of 289 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Expat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.