We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned back again still getting better.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Expat Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Expat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Expat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 262 hotels in Patong
Yinnar, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Returned back again still getting better.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Just returned from my 3rd. visit to the Expat in 3 years and this place just keeps improving.The latest renovation is a new bar in the resturant area,this turned out to be a bonus with Rugby being played at the same time as the AFL finals,thats Australian rules.The accomadation is still good and very comfortable,great crowd in the bar any night,the laundry,massage facilities the best and the reception girls very helpful in all a great spot to stay.Expect to see lots of new girlfriends in all areas,these girls are great too and sometimes more interesting than their new boyfriends.......J.P.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    55
    13
    11
    9
See reviews for
5
23
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Not knowing Patong, I booked a hotel on the net for my first 2 nights.A nice place called " Sleep with Me" no complaints, but a little far from the action.After getting mugged by a tuk-tuk driver on my 2nd night ( in Patong,Patpong and Bangkok, the tuk tuk drivers are all mafia controlled and on the whole a bunch of you know whats.My advice is DO NOT use them under any circumstances.Either use motos or metered taxis.Once in to the provinces however its a different matter as they are independents and usually very friendly) I decided to move in closer to the beach where I could walk everywhere.A friend at home had recommended the Expat's so I thought I'd give it a try.Turned out to be 1 of the best decisions I've ever made.Kym the owner.Martin the bar manager and particularly Winnie,Mae& Gob from the bar staff are AWESOME, pretty close to the friendliest people I have ever met anywhere in the world! The rooms are clean and great value for money,the location is spot on, about a minutes stroll from all the action of Bangala road. I could go on and on, but simply, if you are going to Patong and not looking 5 star,just looking for value and friendly, efficient service, stay at the Expat's,you couldnt make a better choice

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

just got back from my stay there it was all you need location location great staff and a great price ill be back thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A few mates decided on a holiday away, the Expat is close to all the action in Patong and for the price is excatly what was required, nothing too flash, but a nice sized room , lovely big bed and good showere facilities though, you end up with water through the Bathroom if not careful. As the $ was good we ended up upgrading rooms, which the Hotel gave us a great mates rates discount on as well. Breakfast at the Hotel was ok if not anything to rave a bout, Wifi though was costly and just average, but overall the staff at the Hotel from, the front Desk, to the Cleaners, bar staff and Maintenance were friendly and very good at their job. For a boys time away, recommend, for families look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

just go there and see for your self ! i have been to expat many times and will be going back again and again. every thing about the place is perfect for relaxing, near all the night life just could not be better the time of your life is assured

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

First stay here June 2010 - see my review for that date, "Bloody Marvellous". Been back four times since then, and booked again for Sept-Oct 2011. (and for March-May 2012.) Have read some of the other critical reviews - I can't believe they are talking about the same place. This hotel has everything you could need or ask for - but the thing which makes it stand out is the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Thailand is known as the "Land of Smiles" - the people at this hotel personify that. Thank you all.
Criticisms - there have to be some, nothing is perfect - but I really have to rack my brains to think of any. The restaurant menu is the same now as it was a year ago - having now stayed there many times, I've tried everything on the menu, so frequently eat out. (Recommend "Da No. 1" 300 yards away on Rat-u-Thit road, opposite the main entrance to Royal Paradise hotel - good food, low(ish) price, good service.)
The beds are harder than I really like, but never stopped me getting a good nights sleep.
Rated this hotel "excellent" in June 2010. Would now rate it as "excellent plus" - if there is such a rating. Bravo, all at Expat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011 via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel. Since my last stay there about 6 years ago, the place has gone through considerable improvements. Rooms have received a major upgrade (new furniture, flat screen TV, in room safe (big enough for my iPad). Go all out and get the super deluxe room with balcony. These rooms are a bit larger and feature a porch outside your room where you can read a book, have a drink, etc. All the rooms are arranged in a U shape pattern around a small pool. Pool is well maintained and most of the guests take advantage of it. Hotel also features a nice restaurant which has also been expanded. It also has an Internet cafe and wireless access (not free). Although only two minutes away by foot from walking street, the location is very quiet. Staff is very charming and helpful. They will also arrange airport pickup if you wish. Very good value for money. I will definitely stay there again when I visit Patong beach.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Expat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.