We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, clean rooms, friendly staff & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Atchara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Atchara to your Saves list
Villa Atchara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Soi Prabarami 4 Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nerang, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, clean rooms, friendly staff & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We weren't after 5 star luxury...we didn't want to spend all our money on accommodation.
We wanted somewhere clean and comfortable, good value for money and a good location.
After reading lots of reviews we settled on Villa Atchara.
Parn was great to deal with during the booking process, and answering lots of questions as we had never been to Thailand before.
We arranged airport transfers through the Hotel (good price and no hassle trying to find the hotel).
Rooms were large, clean, comfortable and great aircon (it was so hot when we were there, so it was always lovely to walk into a beautifully cool room). Wi-fi in the room was excellent. Breakfast was not buffet but decent and enjoyable. One day we were picked up early for a Tour (I highly recommend the Phi Phi Island Tour and the Phang Nga Bay Tour) and the breakfast ladies made our breakfast to-go as we were climbing into the shuttle bus, we were very impressed with them for that. Staff were friendly, we especially liked Nittaya.
Pool area was small but clean and cooled us off.
Location was quiet, places to eat and book tours just around the corner.
We hired scooters for 2 days (most enjoyable scootering around the Island), my daughter and grandmother had a little accident and Nittaya and Parn were wonderful cleaning their wounds and putting cream and band aids on them.
It was my Grandmothers birthday while we were there and they gave us a beautiful birthday cake.
I would highly recommend Villa Atchara to anyone that is not looking for a luxury 5 star hotel with a huge pool and loads of other guests to mingle with...if you want all of that, don't stay here.
If you want value for money (about $20AUD p/p p/n including breakfast), large clean rooms, good location and great friendly staff, You will LOVE Villa Atchara.
Thank you so much Parn for a great family holiday (9 of us in total) and sorry it has taken me so long to write a review (stayed in Aug/Sept 2011 for 8 nights).
One last thing, book your tours while your there, cost a fraction of what the Travel Agents in Australia were quoting.

Room Tip: We booked 3 deluxe rooms and they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    44
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
71
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location, staff, decor, and maintenance of this family hotel exceeded our expectations. Phuket can be a very third world place in every meaningful way, which should not deter travelers from visiting, but they have to understand that while Phuket may have all the potential to be a Hawaii (and more in many respects), it's most certainly not there yet. Villa Atchara made us feel like we were in Hawaii. All the rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day, a tasty breakfast appeared within minutes of our arrival, the pool was always clean, as were the grounds. The staff was always friendly and attentive. Villa Atchara is not a resort, but if you want a quiet place to serve as your headquarters as you explore Phuket thoroughly, Villa Atchara was always a great place to wake up in and come home to. Kudos to the owners and staff! You guys did a great job!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 3 and 9. Both were clean and everything worked well. The shower was always hot i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The staff here really went the extra mile. Ning, Tick and ben were wonderful - nothing for the children was too much trouble. It was safe, friendly, intimate and perfect for kids. All rooms and the bar overlook the central pool courtyard making it easy to relax with the family and giving the kids freedom to do their own thing. The menu was wonderful and patong beach is close by. We'll finitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We are in residence at the moment--booked as a result of the overwhelmingly favourable reviews.
I have to say that the unfavourable reviews were probably written by people incredibly difficult to please.
The hotel is as good as three star gets, the rooms are spacious spotlessly clean light and airy, the breakfast of cereals,fruit juice,eggs and bacon, toast, fresh fruit and coffee.. is generous and cooked to perfection . the staff are always wreathed in smiles and cannot do enough for you.especially the diminutive housemaid who is four foot six of grin! After one night, my wife found the bed too firm to be comfortable so this litttle treasure simple folded the duvet[] doona if you are Australian] double to make feather bed and provided another one to cover us-problem solved! I have not been better served in the Paris Hilton or the George Sanq!!Could you beat this for 26 bucks a night per person including brekky? Thaiophile.Adelaide

Room Tip: A deluxe double on the third floor is perfect overlooking the pool with sunny balcony and excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I agree with others - it was lovely. Yes it is popular with European travellers but I don't hang out with folks at the hotel so that doesn't bother me at all.

I tried to think of some things that would be helpful - and here they are!

Location - The hotel is near the Novotel (my taxi driver had no idea), up the laneway on the right hand side. Some pics are provided.

Town - the town is to the left. Turning right and going for stroll looking for some brekkie results in a long, hilly walk to Kamala. - ok so I should have asked or looked at a map :)

Scooter Hire - the lady near the hotel is friendly - but gave me a very hard time when I returned the scooter - trying to blame me for dents and scratches that I had not caused. I would not rent from her again.

Tours - the Amazing Canoe tour to James Bond island (pink brochure) has a price printed but you can book it for half that price from the agents down on the beach front. Think I paid 900 Baht. Shop around. BTW the tour was great!

Overall - was fine for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

On arrival the welcome we received was very friendly, and first impressions were good. However we quickly realised that as a British couple (with a young outlook on life) in their early 40's, we were very different from all of the other guests.
The whole place has an air of a German Old Folks home, with most of the clientele having some form of ailment or mobility issue. It got to the point where we wondered if it was a Rehabilitation Centre linked to a German / Dutch / Scandinavian medical company ?
The Thai staff (and female owner - Parn) working in the evenings continued to be friendly throughout our 5 night stay, however the 2 ladies covering the breakfast / day shift soon let their facade slip, and they were barely communicating with us by departure day. This appeared to be caused when they notified us of a BBQ taking place on our 4th night, and we were invited at a cost of 600 baht each (£25 per couple). We declined, as we'd hired a car and would be out exploring. I can only guess that this 'snub' offended them.
Breakfast is adequate, nothing more. We had lunch there once - that was fine.
We've now stayed in about 10 hotels, for 100+ nights in Phuket over the last 4 years. Given the high rating, and previous good reviews for Villa Atchara we were disappointed. This hotel is nothing special, and certainly not 'a hidden gem' in our eyes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The previous reviewer has it all so wrong. I'm not sure what they expect for the money they pay to stay at Villa Atchara. Perhaps they should have listed a comparable place in Phuket that is as good for value, service and cleanliness. I have personally stayed at Villa Atchara twice and have found the place to be a hidden oasis in Patong where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I have also stayed all over Asia and the rooms at Villa Atchara are considerably more roomier than any other hotel I have stayed in. Parn and Johann do a wonderful job. Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Atchara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Atchara

Address: 4 Soi Prabarami 4 Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Patong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Atchara 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Atchara is the perfect getaway in Patong. Close to all the fun but quiet from traffic and sellers. We have pool, free internet, restaurant, bar,tour info. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Atchara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Atchara Hotel Patong
Atchara Hotel Patong
Villa Atchara Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Atchara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.