We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phuket's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duangjitt Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Duangjitt Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duangjitt Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 273 hotels in Patong
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Phuket's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

With more than 36 acres of immaculately groomed grounds in a tranquil setting, the Duangjitt Resort and Spa is one of Phuket’s best kept secrets.

The 508-room resort is only a short stroll from Patong Beach and a few minutes walk away from the infamous Bangla Road glitter strip, but it’s a whole world away when it comes to class and style.

Guests are treated like royalty and the family-owned facility goes all out to make sure everyone enjoys their luxury home-away-from-home. There are nine categories of accommodation available, ranging from one-room bungalows to two-storey family apartments, holiday villas and romantic luxury honeymoon suites. Every room in the resort simply oozes class and luxury, but without the high prices you would expect from such a palatial resort. Room rates start from a very reasonable 3,000 baht (about $100) a night up to about 15,000 baht a night during periods of peak demand. The Resort also has regular promotional deals listed on various online booking sites such as www.RoomRates.com.au which are very attractive to the budget conscious traveler.

But there is nothing cheap about this little piece of Paradise. Guests wake each morning to the sound of birdsong and a sumptuous complimentary buffet breakfast. There are three large swimming pools on the estate, one for families, one specifically for honeymooners and a general, all-purpose, pool which is one of the biggest on the entire island. A fleet of electric golf buggies is available to ferry guests around the resort, and for those in need of a little pampering, there is the in-house Wimarn spa where you can relax and recharge tired bodies with a sauna or a professional massage. The stresses, strains and tensions of everyday life are banished and replaced with a profound feeling of peace and well being.

There are also two restaurants serving both Thai and western dishes, Thai cooking classes, a gymnasium, aerobic dance classes, yoga and meditation, and a well-equipped kids club where the kids can thoroughly enjoy themselves doing ‘kid things’ while the adults enjoy a few quiet hours beside the pool. And there is live music every night in the main lobby restaurant area, setting the scene for that prefect relaxing ‘evening at home’ after a hectic day of sightseeing.

For the more adventurous in search of some wilder excitement or some shopping bargains, there are rows of friendly bars and a brand new shopping plaza directly opposite the main entrance. And the famous Bangla Road, with its numerous girly bars, tailors and ladyboys, dressed in their Vegas-style finery, is only a five minute walk away.

But it’s the manicured gardens that will remain forever one of your most outstanding holiday memories of the Duangjitt. An army of up to 50 gardeners makes sure the spectacular gardens are kept in immaculate condition, and you will be amazed by the scores of stunningly beautiful and fragrant tropical plants which adorn Phuket’s best-kept botanical gardens.

The Duangjitt is particularly popular with Scandinavian, German and Russian tourists, as well as airline crews, and now the Australian and New Zealand markets.

Every room in the resort has it’s own patio or balcony, and the twin-level family suites come complete with a spiral staircase. There are giant flat-screen TVs and spas in each of the luxury bathrooms, and the 32 honeymoon suites each come with a pool view.

The Duangjitt can also arrange a fast-track service through Thai immigration in Bangkok and Phuket with a Privileges ‘Ultimate Welcome’ package. For a small fee, guests will be met on arrival, as they leave their aircraft, and be escorted through the diplomatic lane at the international terminal, thus avoiding the sometimes long line of passengers being processed at the immigration check points. This is just one example of the innovative approach this resort is taking to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of their valued guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    245
    74
    46
    32
See reviews for
169
246
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

After staying at the Mercure for a few days then coming here after Nai
Harn Beach this place really didnt measure up at all. In all honesty though we did get it for a great price on wotif for about $50 AUD/pn inc brekky, but on arrival it looked quite impressive and we were quite chuffed with ourselves for getting such a great deal, but then they took us to our room, way over the otherside of the resort and they were awful, outdated and small. The pool was ok though and the food and drinks by the pool also seemed quite cheap, but everytime u wanted to leave the hotel to get to the shop it was like a 15 minute walk both ways from where i room was to the front exit, I know this may seem minor but as it was our last few days and we were doing all our shopping many times a day LOL, well this got a bit tedious. They did golf buggy us to the room when we arrived but after that it was difficult. Brekky was so so too. All in all this place was average.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

This resort is amazing - don't listen to any of the negative reviews! we stayed 12 nights here and had a great time. we were booked in for a superior room but were upgraded to a garden view room which was basic but definitely all that we needed. it is a good location - nice easy walk to town and plenty of bars, 24hr store and pharmacy just outside the gate. we ate in 3 nights at the on-site restaurant and i agree the quicker smoking is banned there the better! Food was nice. Breakfast was really good - great buffet selection.

Onsite amenities are good. it can be quite annoying that people 'Reserve' themselves the loungers by leaving their towels/ tops all over them (including running out at 10am to place their top on a lounger then not coming back until midday) but we thought service around the pool was quite good and who cares if you have to walk 70m to order a drink - not the end of the world!

We found the onsite tailor hard to deal with and didnt end up getting anything made - similarly the spa.. i personally found the thai massage a bit hard on my back and took preference to the

Overall we found the resort really clean and lovely - the staff are really nice and great to deal with, any problems we had we found we had a quick excellent and prompt response.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Its a great hotel with nice environment. Upon arriving there, we were surprised by the nice environment. Rooms are clean, staffs are friendly and nice too.Hotel is very near to the beach and there are pubs, restaurants, and convenience stores nearby too. I highly recommend this hotel to people visiting Phuket. Definitely worth the value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

I stayed at Duangjitt for 1 week. The resort is located at the end of Patong Beach and is situated in a great location not too far from the main shops/restaurants. We took a metered taxi to the hotel from the airport and the fare cost us 450 Baht. I stayed in a Villa room which was situated not far from the front of the hotel. Checkin was pretty quick and we were given fruit drinks upon our arrival. The room itself was a good size and nicely decorated however there were a few problems with it. First the toilet and shower shared the same floor space so whenever you had a shower it would wet the toilet and the floor so the toilet would be wet and the floor would be flooded so you would need to make sure you went to the toilet without shoes/socks. The other problem was the room had no fly screens so for the first 2 nights we were bitten alive by mosquitoes. The mosquitoes I believe were coming in due to the water on the bathroom floor and the pond out the front of the Villa. I made a complaint about the mosquito problem to reception and was told 'Whats your point' as though I should put up with it. The hotel ended up agreeing to spray the room nightly. The grounds of the hotel were immacutely kept and their were 3 pools to choose from. 1 small pool at the front of the hotel. A slightly larger one in the middle and a huge one at the back which we spent most of our time. The pools closed at 6pm which we thought was too early and were not lit up at night despite the heat. The other dissapointment was the spa in the large pool was switched off and the only option for a spa was too pay for one at the hotels spa complex which was too costly for us. Service around the pool was also very poor. There were about 5 staff that looked like they were meant to be looking after guests at the pool however only twice did anyone leave the bar area to walk around the pool to look after guests. Of these 2 times, 1 of them we had to demand they come back with a food menu for service. On checkout we were left sitting wondering what they were doing only to wait 10 minutes before someone said that it was ok to check us out. Overall the hotel is in a great location, has beautiful surrounding and if you dont expect too much service you should have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here for 14 nights in August. In our opinion the value is excellent. Having booked in a garden view room, we were on arrival allocated a deluxe pool view room. This was great with all we could want. It was close to the pool, reception, restaurant and the entrance driveway. The staff were excellent - a hint - treat them like people not servants/slaves and they respond 10 fold.
Our only complaint was with the breakfast restaurant - the nice area is outside, but so often the meal was spoiled by filthy smokers lighting up near by. The sooner this foul practice is banned in all eating areas (as is it is most of the world) the better. The best option would be a small totally enclosed room at the far end of the garden where these ignorant people can poison themselves and not us normal people,
That aside after many trips to Phuket, this is our preferred destination from now on.
Its easy walk to the restaurants, entertainment area, markets/bars almost outside the gate and peace and quiet inside. We ate in the restaurant 3 nights - nothing flash but adequate.
The highlight was the on premises Spa. A massage session better than any other my wife had elsewhere in Phuket ( she tried 3 others) and very reasonable rates.
We liked the fact that there were 3 good pools. The big one was the busiest (mainly occupied by non english speakers) with the other two much quieter. The garden and landscaped grounds are a delight and provide colour and shade as required.
I understand it is Thai owned and this shows with not as much of the factory style operation the big international chain hotels offer - mure of the classic thai style gentleness.
We'll certainly be back and soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Kennedy WA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed here 2006 (10 nights) and 2009 (18 nights) not disapointed at all.There was a small hic up as they put us into the garden wing but we had paid for Delux bungalow it all got sorted out, not sure who was to blame but did not let it mar our stay.
From the pool staff to breakfast staff all were vey nice. Breakfast selection is huge.
The hotel is on 36? acres so be prepared to walk, the grounds are beautiful.
It was very busy compared to 2006, the pool opening hours 9am-6pm however some guests stayed past this time at the bar pool with loud music.
The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Patong very peacful indeed.
We hired a scooter, its the best way to get around we even ventured over Patong hill!!
Stayed one night on PP Don at the PP Casita only stay there if you are under 30! Phi Phi island for the young and backpacker.
Next time i would like to stay in a "suite" at the Duangjitt as they face onto the small pool more peacful than the middle or big pool.
The only negative thing, the floor in the bungalow is very slippery and it does not need to be wet!
Great fish and chips from the oceanside plaza fish and chip shop, he also organised our scooter hassle free!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duangjitt Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangjitt Resort & Spa

Address: 18 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#25 Family Hotel in Patong
#26 Spa Hotel in Patong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangjitt Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Duangjitt Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duangjitt Hotel Patong
Duangjitt Hotel Kathu
Duangjitt Resort Kathu
Duangjitt Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duangjitt Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.