We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & friendly resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 273 Hotels in Patong
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & friendly resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We were quite happy with the Sunset Beach Resort for our recent week at Phuket. It was clean, comfortable, friendly, had a beautiful pool area, great breakfasts and a regular convenient shuttle to Bangla Road, Patong. Even though the beach across the road was pretty lousy (rocky at low tide), we did prefer being just a little out of Patong for the peace and quiet. Anyone who has ventured into Patong at night will know what we mean.

The hotel's main entry is in a separate building on the beach road front which also houses reception desk, the main restaurant, a travel desk. A business cente and conference rooms are in the basement. Then out the back, you cross a narrow access laneway to a large U-shaped complex that surrounds the great pool systems. One higher spa pool, a kids pool and the main pool with the swim-up bar. Four waterfalls cascading down the two levels adds to the ambience. As well as guest rooms, the RHS building also has a kid's area, gym and spa.

Our room was #5206 - a deluxe pool view on the 2nd floor, RHS wing and just in front of the pool waterfalls. We would guess that the room had recently been refurbished? Both a large shower stall and a big tub in the bathroom. The bedroom had large bed, mini bar, security safe and plenty of cupboard space. Sliding glass doors open up on to a decent size balcony overlooking the pool. A couple of chairs, small coffee table and clothes drying racks were on the balcony.

We booked the hotel on their web site. Part of the deal was a free airport pick-up and a "set meal" dinner voucher for either of their two restaurants.

We also must mention the beautiful travel desk girl "Oi". Always friendly, helpful and always remembered our names - despite the fact that the hotel was completely booked out the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    229
    99
    28
    27
See reviews for
120
235
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beenleigh, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

My partner and I stayed at sunset beach suring xmas and new years. This was a great hotel to stay in. It was out of the rat race of patong central but not too far out. We wernt to fussed on the rooms because we didnt plan to spend much time in them although they were nice. I went to phuket for the shopping and i came home very diappointed. I found things were not as cheap as everyone had said and the clothes were not what i was looking for. My partner on the otehr hand came back with lots of clothes and shoes.

For booking trips i recommend MR SAM. He was awesome and his prices were cheaper than the other places we looked at. He met us out the front of the hotel each time we ventured out.

The Food was O.K not excellent. There are always plenty of Tuk Tuks out the front, although they do rip you off!! One thing that no one told us about was the smell of patong. It was horrible. Also there is also rubbish on the streets.

When shopping try not to get caught up with the indian shop owners as we got stuck in a suit shop for over an hour. They blockd the door and we could not get out lol. So in the end i had to fake a being sick which was quite funny at the time.

STAFF: Some were very helpful whilst others looked really unhappy
BEACH: The beach across the road was quite rocky, we didnt spend much time at it.
POOL: Was great. No compaints.

All in all this was a great experience. Not sure if i would go back to patong in a hurry though.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Had a Great stay with 2 Daughters Booked sea view but when we arrived asked if we could be moved to pool area much better. The staff where very helpful with this and manged to give us 2 rooms beside each other. Had a great stay with no problems not luxurious but very comfortable

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

We are a family with teenagers and stayed 4 nights. Pool was tops, room was average, breakfast was good and location was fine (free shuttle to patong).

We had been in country over 2 weeks and the staff were not as friendly and helpful as what we had encountered. (There is one girl at breakfast who just could not smile.)

The downer was that my wife broke a bone in her foot as a result of a fall in the pool area. (Yeah she was sober). Patong hospital and a plaster cast with crutchers. I reported the incident to reception and they didn't wont a bar of it. I asked was there any OH&S paperwork to fill out. Not. No care factor at all. On check out they even tried to sting us an extra 500baht for a missing directory from our room.

Please don't judge Patong with the rest of Thailand. Thailand is a hassel free, friendly country. Patong is full on and in your face.

Sunset is a big turn over, low care factor resort that fits well with travel agents in Aust. If you would like something special and more Thai check out others.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We staed at the Sunset Resort for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and the service was very good. Apart from the manu which offers a good selection of meals at a great price. each afternoon I had magnificent oysters which cost 45 THB. Combine this with excellent value beverages and the day was complete. We stayed in the main building and althoughh the view was obstucted by a multitude of power lines, the entertainment of locals, dogs and tourists on the rocky beachfront was enjoyable. Daily bottled water and the transport down to the town every 30 minutes added to the charm of the hotel. Although the bathroom was clean it was not cleaned fastiduosly. 10 minutes with hot soapy water fixed that and at the price it was great value.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and quality and value of the meals
  • Disliked — The view of the beach through the multitude of power lines
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

We stayed at the Sunset Beach Resort for our honeymoon in nov after reading many good reviews about this hotel.
We stayed in a junior suite which on second thoughts really wasnt worth it,a superior room would of been fine.The room itself was quiet ok ,it took a bit of getting to with a lift and an extra flight of stairs.It had quiet a large balcony which had no roof ,so it was impossible to sit out there during the day due to the heat.The room had only a few pots and pans,no knives or forks,1 plate,2 cups which is a bit poor for a self contained unit.The room serviced never replaced things either .We had to constantly call up for new toilet paper,towels,straws etc etc

The breakfast was a hot buffet type which was nothing flash but ok,the thai meals in the restaurant where as good as anything we tasted anywhere else and the set menu meals each night are great value!

THE POOL was undergoing re-tiling at one end ,they were people working on it everyday tap -tapping away but in all honesty it never really bothered us (maybe due to our room being so high up?)We spend all our time at the beach anyway !

The bad points#####

For 2 or 3 nights young (teenagers) were drinking screaming and carrying on till all hours of the night in the pool .I am not a wowser (im only 32) but it was a bit over the top at 3am when people were trying to sleep .I rang hotel reception (as im sure many people did before i did) to complain and they said they would sort it out but nothing happened.I had to go down and tell them myself!!

Be careful of the lady that hires out the bikes through the hotel!!!
On our 2nd day with the bike i noticed a buckle in the rim and a lump in the tyre .The next morning i brought it to her attention and explained i am honest but i didnt do it but it needed to be fixed.she said ok and took it to get fixed.that evening she returned with the bike and said i owed her 500baht for the damage.i told her again i didnt do it and refused to pay it and asked for my money back for the following 8 days.she refunded me my money.It wasnt the money it was the point of it !! i went behind the hotel to another place and hired the same bike for a cheaper price and didnt have to leave a passport.

MR SAM
i would say shop around for your tours etc etc.We booked james bond island through mister sam and although the tour and guides where excellent the boat left a lot to be desired
We also booked our transfer to phi phi through mister sam .We later got quoted Half the price mr sam gave us for the exact same boat and transfer!! I didnt even bother to ask them what james bond island tour would of cost me due to fear of the realisation i had been ripped off by mr sam !!

I think this hotel is ok but i would shop around next time.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the room service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

I stayed at Sunset Beach Resort from 29 Nov to 5 Dec. No construction site. I guess the pool renovation is finished. The water is crystal clear. The swimming pool is very lovely. The restaurant has nice view. Good food at reasonable price. Lots of facilities. The quiet place to stay away from noises in Patong while they provide free shuttle bus service to center of Patong.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#32 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.