We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Patong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Patong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel and it was great. The rooms are nice and spacious and the air conditioning works well. WiFi access was good and fast. Drinks in the pool at the pool bar was great as well. Walking from your hotel room to reception you cross a small road, if you follow this road left about 20 metres you will see a staircase and a massage sign. My wife and I received a full body massage here for 600 Baht and it was excellent. Very professional and friendly staff. Over all the food was good and the staff friendly.

They also have a free taxi service that drops you off in Bangla road each half hour. We then went to Phi Phi Island for 3 nights. Next time around we will do 3 nights Phuket and 6 nights Phi Phi Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    268
    117
    31
    30
See reviews for
143
268
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My daughter and I were unfortunate enough to get a "good deal" from Escape Travel that included this filthy excuse for a resort.
We stayed from 1st to 9th October and were violently ill on our 3rd night and unable to leave our room for 36 hours.( been back in Tasmania 5 days & still not completely better).
An Australian traveller that we did not know knocked on our door to offer us a bottle of disinfectant to clean our room as a cleaner had been seen wiping around the toilet and then wiping out the coffee cups with the same cloth.
The room smelled of mould and we tried to mask this by burning incense each day.
We had to sit a towel over our right thigh every time we used the toilet as the air conditioning leaked from directly above.
There was a mars bar wrapper under 1 of the beds the day we arrived and it stayed there until day 4.
There was never any cleaning product or washing up detergent used to clean the room.
The lights are so dim in the room that it wasn't until our 2nd day (when I purchased a torch) that we were actually able to see how filthy the bathroom in particular was!
Breakfast was quantity but certainly not quality. Ate dry toast and fruit as that was all we trusted until finally deciding to pay to have breakfast elsewhere.
Had 1 night meal there which left a lot to be desired and we ended up sharing that with a cat and a cockroach.
Funnily enough, we could not open the Trip Advisor site at this "resort"...go figure.
Honestly, no matter how good a deal it appears, if it is the Sunset Beach Resort, for your own health and well being, steer clear.

Room Tip: Our room #2202 was very close to the annoying sound of a "false" waterfall that was switch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear CindyKage,

Thank you for your helpful feedback. We put the highest priority on ensuring that all hotel areas are kept spotlessly clean. I have discussed your case with our service team. It turns out your were accidentally given an unprepared room. The housekeeping department have improved for making sure all of the rooms are clean and hygiene. The cloth we used to room cleaning is from the unused towels. It looks same but the size for coffee cups and toilet is different. The air conditioning leaked was repaired after received complaint. Our chef committed that the food will always fresh and clean. We would like to apologise to you for this error and the inconvenience caused.


Sincerely yours,
Worapol Ungtrakul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Upon arrival, 21h00, no caddy-boy helped to unload shuttle and carrying suitcases to reception. Being disabled with stroller & cruthes.Confirmed late check-out for final day, 1100Bht, despite late check in, Non-negotiable!
Room Junior Suite with kitchenette: Not up to standard, no bed runners or flowers to create that welcome feeling and an old 54cm TV compared to other units having LCD TV’s. The air conditioner unit in the dining/living room runs perfect however the one in the bedroom is like a fan despite adjusting temperature to lowest. The bathroom floor has not been washed or sanitized and the plug within the tub needs to be inserted manually, at one time it could not be released and had to wait for assistance the next day to fix to drain. The cutlery is all mix and match together with utensils. The mixer in the sink only runs cold water and no cloth or dishwashing liquid provided. The unit itself is filthy from corner to corner with dust.
The shuttle being provided is a blessing in disguise since it does not run on time every 30 minutes to the clock.
Breakfast served: Basic, not a huge variety compared to another resort stayed in Patong Beach.
Our group together with other tourists got sick within two days vomiting with stomach disorders.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If mouldy smelly rooms, mouldy curtains, dirty toilets, floors, grouting, bedding, cockraoches in the hall way is for you and your standard, this is a perfect place to stay, if not, STAY AWAY. Take my advice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a twin room. Room had a lovely view of the pool with a decent size balcony. Room was spacious and all the amenities were sufficient...however this hotel is not clean and rooms are not cleaned properly on a daily basis. We had some troubles with the free shuttle bus that was not on time a few times...having us to wait about an hour on the corner of Bangla road after a long day of shopping. If you visit PHuket for the first time, consider staying in a hotel located in Patong Beach such as the Destination Hotel. Breakfast was okay....but we were weary of the hygiene and cleanliness in this hotel since everything is very old and not properly maintained.
Overall not a terrible experience but I wouldn't visit again. Think carefully before you book!

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool side is much better than those looking out on the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, well decorated and excellent service. Just out of patong but a free shuttle bus takes guests into the town every 30 min from 9-21:00... Great value for money. ;) The pool is wonderful and necessary. I would not stay in Phuket more than 2 days but if you want to shop you may disagree. The beach in front of the hotel is average at best. The food is good but not excellent but there is nothing from stopping you going somewhere else for some food. The bar was nice and prices reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAURANGA NZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If price is all that matters???? possibly an option.
If you want a clean room, reasonable food and reasonable service suggest you DONT stay at Sunset Beach Resort. Room not clean, used ladies personal tissue papers left in bath room bin from previous guest? fridge not clean and frozen up. Sheets not changed just turned end on end after 4 days, air con either freezing or hot. only 1 room key will NOT give u a 2nd key? Breakfast - 3/10. Cant swim at this beach - repeat you can not swim at this beach at any tide. the pictures clearly show a nice beach! The free hotel shuttle bus to town every half hour - no! when does the half hour start the staff cant tell u? Bus takes a max of 10 people so b prepared to wait & wait.
Would we stay there again - never.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#31 Spa Hotel in Patong
#46 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.