We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at Sunset Beach Resort twice - once in 2011 and in Feb this year. It's a great place to stay and the staff are very helpful. The hotel isn't located right in the centre of Patong but the free shuttle definitely makes getting into town easy. The shuttle stops running from about 9pm but tuk tuks are cheap and the drivers are all familiar with Sunset Beach Resort so you'll have no hassels getting back to the hotel if you're staying out late.
The hotel restaurant is good and breakfast was great. Both times we stayed we had great rooms and had no dramas at all. Overall, Sunset Beach Resort is a wonderful place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Patong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    268
    117
    31
    30
See reviews for
143
268
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went to Sunset in June 2010 with my mum, had an amazing time, it was our 1st visit to Thailand and the staff made us feel so welcome and helped us with all our questions even teaching us the basic thai, which helped us alot, staff also helped show us what tours were good and where we should go for site seeing and shopping, special thanks to the amazing pool boys and gardeners who use to bring sun umbrellas to walk us to breakfast in the rain!

Getting into the main part of Patong is not an easy walk as it is along a very busy road with not much footpath, but there is a ute that takes you in every 15/30mins (cant remeber but remeber it was often enough that if you missed it you wouldnt go back to your room!!!) Also a Tuk tuk is only 200baht to the hotel from the shops but the ute will come back at times and pick you up if you are there!

If you stay you have to have a Mai Thai they are amazing here, probably the best I have ever had as well as the salads, they also make a great steak for those missing home!!! and breakfast is awesome so much to pick from even the fussiest eaters would find something they love!

Only issue is that the beach across the road is not really for swimming but the pools are great so that doesnt matter, plus its so close to get to patong beach!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach which was easily accessible making use of the complimentary shuttle service which operated every 30 minutes from 09:00 to 21:00 daily. Rooms spacious and clean. Had dinner at the hotel one night and was not overly impressed. Only criticism is that restaurant floor did not appear to be cleaned on a regular basis. Had a very enjoyable stay overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

http://simplyme-personified.blogspot.com/2013/04/our-amazing-thailand-trip.html

We stayed for 7 nights at Sunset Beach Resort Hotel, had a pool facing room. Neat, well serviced. At Breakfast staff were exceptionally helpful, always offering to assist with coffee or tea etc. We used Mr Sam at the back of the hotel, for all our trips, he was excellent at organising island tours as well as recommending sight seeing tours in Phuket. He arranged our private tour of Phuket at an affordable price.There's a laundromat next to the hotel, 25 Baht per kilo, There are also several halaal street vendors for food. There are several mosques in the area and can hear adhaan (call for prayer) clearly from your room.

A brilliantly situated hotel, with stunning views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just got back from a holiday at Sunset Beach. What a fantastic stay!

Staff:
Very helpful and polite. The misunderstanding of English was an advantage rather than being a disadvantage! We were in a different country and we were happy to use 'sign language' if thats all it took to get extra ice in our drinks or to tell the waiter that we needed our bill!
The reception staff are fluent with the English language and you will not have any problems communicating!

Delux Rooms:
Comfortable and spacious. Housekeeping was excellent, providing clean towels and a good serviced room. It does help to tip the housekeeping, and why not? He was good!

Shuttle to Patong:
It is not reliable at all. Pick up times are not adhered to. The shuttle driver picks up when it is suitable to him! But it is Thai time, so expect to pay 200 baht to get back to the hotel if are in a hurry to get home or in a hurry to get to Patong Beach!

Hiring Scooters:
We unfortuantly didnt hire scooters from the hotel but wish we had! We hired from another source and had a little misshap which cost us 1300 Baht! A new bike costs 5000 B in Thailand! It is a risk you take and just remember that you are not covered by medical aid or insurance. Dont do it! If on holiday, use the shuttle or the local tuk tuks. We are there to spend money anyway so do it wisely!

Pool and Bar area
Excellent! Served cocktails,drinks and food at the poolside. Towels are available free of charge, just sign out and sign back in once you have finished using them.
The only problem we did have was that the pool use closes at 9 pm but the pool bar closes at 7pm!
I have not idea why people would complain about lack of pool chairs because in high season, there were plenty!
On sightseeing excusions, we were able to book towels out early in the morning at reception without a problem.

Restaurant
Fantastic food, cheaper than Patong and local restaurants..
Loved the Peanang Chicken special - chef, please send me the recipe!
My kids, fussy eaters, aged 18 and 19, loved most of the food.
The only thing on the menu that wasnt satisfactory was the pizza - gross! But even with this, it didnt bug us because we were in Thailand and Pizza isnt a Thailand speciality!
If you want a good pizza, go 100 metres down the road to Kalim restaurant. Its a pizza hut Number 1 joint and serves delicious pizzas for 300 bahts.

Laundry and tour guide tips
Go to the laundry in the alley way. She charges 50 baht per kg and is excellent.
For tours to the islands,elephants etc, use Mr Sam just down the alley. He speaks excellent English and is the lowest in the Patong area!

Average cost of food:
meals: 140 - 550 baht
drinks: beers average 80 baht
t shirts - 150 baht after bartering
Buckets on special between 5 and 7 in Bangla road for 169 baht. Normally 300 baht!
(vodka and red bull and other varieties - be careful, they kick u) :)
If you are wanting to buy booze or goodies for your rooom use the shop in the alley way (find it just after the first laundry - turn left) Beers average at 30 baht at the shop.

Wifi
The hotel wifi is expensive. We bought 300 baht for an hour of wifi because the teens wanted to chill on their beds chatting to friends....can u believe it! :)
If you have an iphone or blackberry or if fact any phone that uses whatsapp, it will work in the lobby and dining area to send messages to friends and family. Just make sure your roaming is OFF!
If you are wanting to use the full functions of your phone, go to the Orchid hotel and order supper or a drink. You can use bbm, facebook etc there!

Thanks Sunset for a wonderful stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

W e booked through an agent an was a bit unsure as what to expect, as she read reviews from this site and it did not all sound so good.

We had a room right at the back facing the pool. The room was nice andclean, good clean bedding and comfortable mattress. We had a nice view of the pool area. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with a variety of Thai dishes in the morning. I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff were not that helpful and their English was not great but the bar and restaurant were good. The day spa was did not exist as far as could see and I asking the staff for information on the gym was just too hard.

Room Tip: I found the hotel a great place to meet other travellers and dont expect the shuttle to be reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#31 Spa Hotel in Patong
#47 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.