We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all loved the Sunset Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 567 Reviews
Thirroul, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We all loved the Sunset Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our family stayed for a week over Christmas at the Sunset Beach Resort In Patong and we loved almost every minute of it! We have a girl (12) and two boys (10) and (8) so we had requested interconnecting rooms but we had to wait one night for that but they were all very good clean and comfortable rooms and we were moved to the pool side with interconnecting rooms the next day. The big pool was beautiful and clean with heaps of sunbeds and we had no health issues or concerns at all while we were there unlike one of the recent reviewers and during some of our other holidays. The restaurant was excellent for buffet breakfast, lunch or dinner and the staff and service was quick and always courteous and the room service could not be faulted - always quick, cheap and correct every time! We all loved the swim up bar at the deep end of the pool and the easygoing nature of the resort and its staff .
It was ideal for families who want to take a family break together with no hassles at all. We were given 2 hours free internet access everyday if we wanted it and they were always happy to help or sort out any minor problem straight away.
The staff were not fawning over us but were efficient and friendly and what more can you expect? The Christmas dinner was a fine buffet and we all enjoyed the homely colourful show including the beautiful carol singers and an Elvis in a red Elvis suit all polished off with great fireworks and I was surprised to find from another reviewer that I missed a lady boy troupe as I thought they were just a local boy band. I would genuinely recommend this resort to anyone of any age. It’s great and the sauna and Thai massge in the Spa makes it even better. The sunset bar does great cocktails and I had a few really enjoyable nights meeting other travellers from around the world in a relaxed atmosphere over beers and B52's where you could enjoy the sunset and the company. There is a good minimart close by and all just a free courtesy bus or cheap tuk-tuk away to manic Patong. I enjoyed staying at the Sunset Beach resort better than anything else in my two weeks in Phuket. Checking out was an absolute breeze through the beautiful lobby looking over the bay and the bill was clearly itemised and correct to the last baht with no hidden surprises. Sure the rocky beach across the road is not great but its not their fault. I already have and would highly recommend a stay here again as long as it is run by the same people – they know it’s a good resort and they do it very, very well without fuss and that’s what we liked. Oh and of course its good value

Room Tip: Request the Poolside of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    250
    105
    30
    27
See reviews for
127
258
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were recommended Sunset for its location in north Patong. The location was fantastic, as it was 30 mins walk into Patong, just far enough for us not to have to deal with the chaos there, and the free hotel shuttle bus took us there during the day so that we can still go and check it out.

However, what a disappointment this resort turned out to be.

As I said, the location was great for us and the property itself has great potential. The rooms were fine, it has a good swimming pool area and some of the rooms had seaview. It would have been a great little place if not for the bad management and service.

Firstly, the staff seems to all be on training. 80% of the staff had [Trainee] tags on them, and had little idea how to deal with customers. Those that were fully trained staff were not much better. Of the 5 days we were there, one ONE of the staff smiled, the rest of them were mostly grumpy and lazy. When you ask for something it's like asking them to jump off a bridge. Most of our requests (just a simple "can we please have a menu" at the restaurant or "can you please tell us your internet pricing" at the front counter) were received with a grunt or silent nod. A lot of the staff were reactive rather than proactive and no one bothered to try to build a rapport with their customers.
We've stayed in hostels and bed and breakfasts that provided better service.

Because we stayed over the new years eve period, there was a compulsory gala dinner we had to pay and attend. It wasn't cheap! The dinner cost per person more than a night's sleep per room (more than 100AUD per person for the dinner), and the food was only average. There was entertainment but in very poor taste. This is suppose to be a children friendly hotel and a lot of families were staying there with young children. We thought perhaps we'll get a traditional Thai dance performance or something but no, first up was a Cabaret show with skimpy and badly dressed girls (lady boys) dancing really badly. Not only was it in bad taste, the group performing didn't seem to be professional performers as their dances were lazy and under-rehearsed. Many of the children were taken away and most of us just ate and went.

The hotel was cheaper than others, however this should not have affected the service. You should not have to pay for a smile. And the quality of the new year gala dinner make you wonder where our AUD100 per person charge went. Certainly not on the food nor the entertainment I assure you.

Room Tip: There are only really four sets of 'sea view' rooms that have full sea view. The rest are bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

A really good choice for those who do not want to spend a lot of money for the hotel. Very clean rooms the cleaning staff had always a big happy smile. Loved the poll area and all the staff of it. Nice breakfast and the front desk always willing to help us and giving us good recommendations. Free shuttle service every hour. 100% recommended .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 17 days. We booked two ground floor rooms as we were a family with one 20 yr old and a 14yr old boy. Our check in was comfortable and the room initially appeared clean and comfortable. After the third day I started seeing that the rooms were not being cleaned, the tea cups were wiped out with the same rag they used to wipe out the basins bearing in mind that the water is not driinkable. The bath,basin and shower were just rinsed out and the floors were given a semi wet wipe with the same mop used from the other rooms.
On the fourth day I had scrambled eggs and went out for the day had nothing else to eat and feeling a bit off all day,arrived back at the hotel at 4 and progessively got worse to the point where I became violently ill throughout the evening and night, the only thing that stopped the illness was when my husband told reception and they proceeded to pull out some pills from a drawer to suppress the vomiting.I remained Ill for three days and throughout my stay I never quite recoverd.
I am well travelled and generally very careful with what and where I eat and knew that it had to be the eggs at the hotel. after discussing the matter with an incompetent hotel manager (who also happened to be the owners son)he refused to accept that it was the hotels food and took me on a mindless journey of how strict the hygiene rules of the hotel were(and offerd me a free meal in the hotel),yes they were so strict that the eggs were left out overnight in the boiling heat in the dirty kitchen.
I went to the hotel with much scepticism and read many reviews before making the decision to stay at sunset beach mainly because of the proximity to patong in order for my teenager to have a variety of activities .Unfotunately I did not take some of the negative reviews seriously and regret that as it robbrdme of my annual holiday.
Not to end there my son developed what we thought was an ear infection he was prescribed antibiotics but after a few days the pain was still there took him to see another Dr and discovered he also had a fungus in his ear I believe caused by the dirty pool water.He also suffred nausea thouout our stay initially I thiught it was the antibiotics but after that was finished the nausea remained. We got to know many of the residents duriing our stay and they all suffered some degree of nausea ,vomitting or diarreah.
If you want to suntan only half of the pool receives partial sun. The pool towels are dirty, smelly and old. Staff are unfriendly and that is if you can find someone to attend to you.
On the plus side the shuttle is very convenient and relativley prompt other than that I cannot add anything else except to say that if you value your health a few dollars cheaper is not worth the risk.My advice is when reading reviews make sure you are reading it from those that live in a first world country if you want to receive any accuracy!!!
They say they have internet, well that is true if you can get a signal, justt to check an email can take 30min and more, best to go to the internet attached to the parking of the hotel.To hire a dvd player from the hotel is 300 baht per day we bought one for nine hundred baht ($30)at the local shopping centre.Best pizza at 'mia casa'.best meals at table and larder both at jungceylon shopping centre. If you enjoy the movies the cinemas are worth a visit very clean spacious and comfortable with some of the latest movies showing,
NB: ask for your bill well in advance so that if there is a query you wil have plenty of time!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We booked this hotel for 6 days in November 2011 but when we arrived at the hotel we were met by someone from reception at the door who informed us that the air conditioner in our room was broken and they were fully booked so they took us to another hotel. It was 1am and we had been travelling all day so we found this somewhat inconvenient. At the time I found this was a better option than staying in a room without air con. We were taken to another hotel and after having been in Patong a couple of days we realised it actually worked out for the best as the Sunset Beach Resort was fairly distant from the main strip in Patong (definitely not walking distance) and the new hotel was much closer and conveniently located. The beach at the front of the Sunset Beach Resort was not very good for sunbathing etc as it was a very thin strip. We did drive past the Resort once in the evening on the way to FantaSea and it looked beautiful from the outside and quite lively.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmines, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

A family holiday to Thailand. Motel good, food good. Shuttle bus left every half hour to go into Patong (the motel was a bit of a walk from Patong).
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: You can choose a room looking over the beach, or over the pool area-either is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We got back yesterday and stayed at the Sunset. Rooms were nice and clean, the food very good and we had a sea view room, street is busy but what a wonderful sunset every afternoon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool are quieter but the sea view rooms have the advantage of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#27 Spa Hotel in Patong
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#48 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.