We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - very relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Bay Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Bay Garden Resort to your Saves list
Patong Bay Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 289 Hotels in Patong
St Marys Tasmania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location - very relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We booked this hotel, despite some mixed reviews, because it was right on the beach. We booked a Junior Suite and requested that it be on the ground floor. When we arrived we were booked in very quickly and taken to our room - 5 steps to the pool, 6 steps to the bar and maybe 10 steps to the beach. It was a large comfortable room and while the bed was hard we both slept well. The pool was smallish but pleasant. It was fabulous in the morning to have a swim in the ocean, a quick dip in the pool and then have breakfast on the beach with the sand in your toes.

Breakfast was good with a fair selection for a smallish hotel - we always had a big leisurely breakfast - you were never rushed or hurried.

Unfortunately you can't pick your fellow guests and five nights into our 15 night stay a bunch of Australian yobbo's moved in. They thought it was funny to have a drunken and noisy frolic around in the pool at 3.00am - the screeches of the low class girls was not very pleasant at that time of the morning. Unfortunately you can't blame this on the hotel - over the next few days they pretty well got them under control but we asked to move to one of the absolute beach front rooms for the rest of our stay which the reception staff organised for us in no time at all. It cost a few extra dollars a day but was well worth it.

Our room opened up onto a small courtyard that was right on the beach. How wonderful it was to have happy hour (5-7pm, two drinks for the price of one) sitting in front of our room watching the wonderful sunsets sipping on a cold Singha or Mojito.

It was also amazing to walk out of your room in the morning staright out onto the beach. for a wake up swim.

We had friends staying at a huge resort up the road and they were a long walk from the beach and they also had trouble with unruly guests - the only way to avoid it perhaps is stay in one of the very expensive resorts but really what's the point.

Location wise the hotel was excellent - only a short walk to Bangla Road and surrounded by restaurants and all the facilities you could want.

Staff were efficient and friendly but they didn't smother you - we have no complaints there.

Overall we had a wonderful 15 night stay at the Patong Bay. Would I recommend it - yes I would, particularly if you want to be on the beach - it is the only reasonably priced beachside hotel in Patong.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patongbay, Sales Coordinator at Patong Bay Garden Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear The Valued Guest

Greeting from Patong Bay Garden Resort
We would delight to thank you very much for you kindly tust and stay with us.We hope to invite you to visit as for the next trips in Phuket.Please do not hesitate to contract us if you requirement any further assistance.

Sincerely Yours
Patima Siriwong Miss
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    144
    70
    45
    49
See reviews for
53
140
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

for our 9th trip to Phuket and having stayed out of patong for 8/9 we decided to stay in Patong again as my hubbie had been unwell and we wouldnt be scooting around on the moped this time. The resort is definately only 3 stars....
The reception people are friendly but not overly helpful, although we are pretty independent so dont need much from them. The rooms were simple but very large (we stayed in a junir suite), we were intially a little worried as we were right across from reception but with the curtains closed and the aircon on we couldnt hear a thing. Our room was about 10 steps from the pool and about 20 from the beach and about 30 from bangla road... what more could you want. No need to hangle with tuk tuk drivers just walk to most places.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

this review is long overdue. booked this hotel based on their nice website and good reviews. the location is good and bad: very central in patong, right in the middle of action, beach front. but also can get loud at night. far enough from the nightlife, but the first two nights there were couple drunk guys out there fighting and all. we got the room right up the stairs, when we asked to change rooms, the front desk said they were fully booked. every morning we were awaken by the washing and loading noises of their kitchen/warehouse. that was annoying. so if you stay here, make sure to book an oceanview with balcony, those face the quiet side.

we really loved having breakfast right on the beach. food was very good.

probably would stay somewhere else next time, there are so many hotels here!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Just back from a fantastic eight nights at the Patong Bay Garden, I have to say patong was not quite what I was expecting more Benidorm than Barbados, that aside we all had a fantastic time.

The hotel is located right on the beach so on one side of the road we had absolute paradise and on the other side was absolute mayhem.

In the lobby you have a travel agent and a tailor if you are going to book any of the trips I would go in to the town and haggle we managed to get around 30% off the first price we were quoted we did book a mini bus at the hotel to take us on a four hour tour which was excellent value for money.

The rooms where slightly dated but the staff kept them spotlessly clean and they where suitable for their primary purpose sleeping!

Nothing went missing from our room and nothing went missing from the rest of the groups

The staff in the hotel where wonderful and always had a smile

I think as with all these posts the only important thing is “would I go back?” and the answer is yes

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We love this hotel because of its location - by the beach & everything is just a walking distance. We stayed at one their junior suite rooms and truly satisfied with the room & services provided. Breakfast was good, loving their salad bar and definitely the view. Food somehow taste better when you have sand between your toes... :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
320 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

On Arrival 3/5 stars

We were greeted by a cool towel, but no welcome drink. Oh well. Our name was posted on the “welcome” board at entrance of front lobby. I had had an issue with my credit card and this hotel the day before my arrival and was surprised to see them asking for my card when I arrived. I was thinking it would be used for any charges accrued while here. Sure enough, after settling in our room, we were informed that our credit card had been accidently double billed and to please accept they're apology.

Room 3/5 Stars

The rooms are really starting to look dated. I've stayed here three times now, the first being 6-7 years ago. Back then the rooms were nice, but I recently returned from a very nice place in Bali and this is unfortunately a step down. The kicker of course is that they've increase the price of all their rooms by over 100%! Prices go up, quality drops. I guess they're trying to compete with their new neighbors with gorgeous facilities next door. The AC units are beginning to deteriorate, they arbitrarily stopped working a few times and while they're able to keep the room fairly cool, they do however smell musty. The televisions are the dated CRT small 21 inch.

Amenities 3/5 Stars

They charge 100Baht for erratic and slow Internet. The swimming pool is adequate, but certainly nothing to write home about. The bar located on the beach side is new, but unfortunately obstructs the view of the hotel rooms behind it! I'd be pretty p****ed about that if I were in those rooms.

Location 5/5 Stars

The primary reason I stay here is because of it's location. It's right on the beach. You open the door and voila, there's the beach! The beaches are cleaned daily and this is the best I've seen them look in my 8 plus years of coming here. There's a nominal fee of 100Baht for usage of the lounge chairs, which I think is fair enough. The guys will come by and adjust the umbrella's to your liking as to avoid excessive sun exposer as the sun sets as well as provide you with a towel. They're not really associated with the hotel.

Bed 2/5 Stars

As stated before, the room is dated and so too are the beds. The pillows were so thick and they could not provide me with an acceptable replacement, so I went out and purchased one.

Breakfast 4/5 Stars

Is a buffet style with a chef at the ready in case you want a nice omelet. Lots of fresh fruit and juice. There is a beautiful view of the beach.

Check-Out 5/5 Stars

Painless with no “surprise” charges. Very quick. A ride to the airport will set you back 800 Baht which is not included in the price. Give yourself, depending on the traffic, 50 mins to the airport.

Miscellaneous 4/5 Stars

The pool was smallish but nevertheless decent enough. Though we spent very little time there.

Again, the location is its greatest selling point. If your a coffee lover as I am, starbucks is next door as is a macdonalds, boots drug store and tons of restaurants. Bangla road is a 1 min walk. A massage can be had at the hotel, but you can save yourself 100 Baht by going outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Lovely Rooms, very clean and decorated lovely.

We booked a room on the beach, but when we arrived at the hotel there was no such booking, not sure who's fault, hotel or agent we booked through? They gave us the next best room as the one we reqested was booked out! Overlooked the foyee, which was fine, but walls and ceilings are paper thin so everything could be heard, especially suitcases early in the morning.

The restaurant was good and right on the beach, as was the pool!

Hotel is great for a base if your visiting Patong on a short break!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#155 of 289 in Patong
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#94 of 289 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#31 of 289 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#64 of 342 in Kathu
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#53 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Bay Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.