We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Bay Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Bay Garden Resort to your Saves list
Patong Bay Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 285 Hotels in Patong
KL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We love this hotel because of its location - by the beach & everything is just a walking distance. We stayed at one their junior suite rooms and truly satisfied with the room & services provided. Breakfast was good, loving their salad bar and definitely the view. Food somehow taste better when you have sand between your toes... :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    140
    65
    42
    45
See reviews for
48
134
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

On Arrival 3/5 stars

We were greeted by a cool towel, but no welcome drink. Oh well. Our name was posted on the “welcome” board at entrance of front lobby. I had had an issue with my credit card and this hotel the day before my arrival and was surprised to see them asking for my card when I arrived. I was thinking it would be used for any charges accrued while here. Sure enough, after settling in our room, we were informed that our credit card had been accidently double billed and to please accept they're apology.

Room 3/5 Stars

The rooms are really starting to look dated. I've stayed here three times now, the first being 6-7 years ago. Back then the rooms were nice, but I recently returned from a very nice place in Bali and this is unfortunately a step down. The kicker of course is that they've increase the price of all their rooms by over 100%! Prices go up, quality drops. I guess they're trying to compete with their new neighbors with gorgeous facilities next door. The AC units are beginning to deteriorate, they arbitrarily stopped working a few times and while they're able to keep the room fairly cool, they do however smell musty. The televisions are the dated CRT small 21 inch.

Amenities 3/5 Stars

They charge 100Baht for erratic and slow Internet. The swimming pool is adequate, but certainly nothing to write home about. The bar located on the beach side is new, but unfortunately obstructs the view of the hotel rooms behind it! I'd be pretty p****ed about that if I were in those rooms.

Location 5/5 Stars

The primary reason I stay here is because of it's location. It's right on the beach. You open the door and voila, there's the beach! The beaches are cleaned daily and this is the best I've seen them look in my 8 plus years of coming here. There's a nominal fee of 100Baht for usage of the lounge chairs, which I think is fair enough. The guys will come by and adjust the umbrella's to your liking as to avoid excessive sun exposer as the sun sets as well as provide you with a towel. They're not really associated with the hotel.

Bed 2/5 Stars

As stated before, the room is dated and so too are the beds. The pillows were so thick and they could not provide me with an acceptable replacement, so I went out and purchased one.

Breakfast 4/5 Stars

Is a buffet style with a chef at the ready in case you want a nice omelet. Lots of fresh fruit and juice. There is a beautiful view of the beach.

Check-Out 5/5 Stars

Painless with no “surprise” charges. Very quick. A ride to the airport will set you back 800 Baht which is not included in the price. Give yourself, depending on the traffic, 50 mins to the airport.

Miscellaneous 4/5 Stars

The pool was smallish but nevertheless decent enough. Though we spent very little time there.

Again, the location is its greatest selling point. If your a coffee lover as I am, starbucks is next door as is a macdonalds, boots drug store and tons of restaurants. Bangla road is a 1 min walk. A massage can be had at the hotel, but you can save yourself 100 Baht by going outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Lovely Rooms, very clean and decorated lovely.

We booked a room on the beach, but when we arrived at the hotel there was no such booking, not sure who's fault, hotel or agent we booked through? They gave us the next best room as the one we reqested was booked out! Overlooked the foyee, which was fine, but walls and ceilings are paper thin so everything could be heard, especially suitcases early in the morning.

The restaurant was good and right on the beach, as was the pool!

Hotel is great for a base if your visiting Patong on a short break!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area sf
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

The location is central to the nightlife in Patong Beach; however, the rooms are dated. The bathroom had mold and really frayed towels. We paid top dollar for a sea view and there was NO sea view. We faced the sea but the trees planted by the hotel blocked any view. What we did have a perfect view of was the massages on the beach under those trees that block our "sea view". Coffee in the rooms were never replaced after the first day. Our air conditioner had problems also. First night it was very noisy and did not cool the room. Second day it leaks water and flooded the room.
I would not stay here. There are so many other hotels in this area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

fantastic hotel,best location stroll out frount door for fun, back door to recover on the beach.
Try the tailor great guys and Italian rest next door.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

It's funny, in planning our 10 day stay in Phuket I read a very mixed bag of reviews about this hotel. Sorting through them I took the dive and thought give it a try. We were very glad we did, it's about as good a 3 star hotel as we have stayed. The location if you want to be on the beach is great, the nightlife of Soi Bangla only steps away. The service at the hotel was as good as we had for the last four days of our trip at the JW in Bangkok. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. A great 3 star hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Comfortable enough and a stagger to shopping and nightlife but too busy for us. The pool on the beach is novel for Patong. We were disappointed when we caught our housemaid stealing from my wallet! We upgraded to a pool side for cheap and it was nicer than upstairs. Ok if you're there for the nightlife. Very noisy in restaurant and foyer but quiet inside.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#50 Spa Hotel in Patong
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Bay Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.