We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and excellent position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Bay Garden Resort

Save Saved
You added Patong Bay Garden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 273 hotels in Patong
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I have no complaints at all. I reserved a beach front room, and it really made my holiday, as I was able to watch the sunset at night while throwing down a couple of gin & tonics. My double doors opened onto the beach and a private sitting area. Service was very good and all staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was a buffet style and was fine. Rooms are clean, airconditioner worked well and WiFi service good.
Numerous excellent restaurants a step away, as was the nightlife. If you want 5 star, then go waste your money somewhere else..BUT if you want deffinate value for your bucks, then this is the place..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    126
    58
    36
    40
See reviews for
41
120
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

I Stayed at this hotel for 3nts/4Days.The Propery was more than average.Its actually on Beach.Bangla Beach is at waking distance.Food was okk.

  • Liked — THE BEACH
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

I was worried that this was going to be a mistake - right on the beach, good facilities and all for a bargain price of under $900 Australian for 8 nights including breakfast - are you kidding?? I had nothing to worry about - it is a little gem. Don't get me wrong, the place has its faults, but none worth worrying about.

First the Bad:
The lobby is airless and gets stinking hot, even first thing in the morning, but there aren't many reasons to spend any time there apart from waiting for tour buses to pick you up or checkin/out (which thankfully is quick).
They were overboooked and didn't have our chosen room available when we checked in, so they gave us a room upgrade (I hear this happens a lot in Phuket and is certainly not restricted to this hotel) - but only for one night which was a pain in the [--]. Made worse by the fact that we had a day trip booked for the next day and they needed to move us at around 2pm - which of course meant we had to have our stuff packed up before we went. That said, I'm glad we got moved - the new room was better than the supposed upgrade!
There was a bit of renovation/maintenance going on at the hotel, which was a bit noisy at times, but it was restricted to during the day so didn't really cause any problems.

Now for the good:
The room we booked and ended up in was a deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was huge and the bed was so big and comfortable I had the best week of sleep I can remember. The room itself was clean and well maintained with a kettle, phone, radio, TV with on-demand (slightly dated) movies, wireless internet and a mini bar that had enough room for us to store our own grog. There was a small safe in the room too, but it wasn't attached to anything.
We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast, which was consistently good and served pretty much on the beach, under the shade of pandanus trees - what a great way to start your day! I hear the food is good at their restaurant, but a bit pricey (it is on the beach though).
The staff were delightful, always smiling and polite and so freindly and helpful
The pool is closed for cleaning every night at 7pm, so nice clean water and no drunken yahoos in the pool at midnight
The location couldn't be better. One side of the hotel opens out onto the beach, with everything you might want available right in front of the hotel. The other side puts you virtually at the end of Bangla Road with more restaurants, bars, clubs and ladyboys than you can shake your fake rolex at. But even with all that so close, it isn't a noisy hotel - I have heard that the 'town view' rooms are bit noisier, but we could barely hear anything from our balcony and nothing from within the room
There is a very polite and not at all pushy tailor in the foyer of the hotel, along with a tour booking service and for 300THB you can spend an hour down on the beach having your body mangled, twisted and mauled by the hotel's masseuses.
If you are looking for club med, this is not the place for you, but if you want somewhere that is unpretentious, comfortable and close to everything, look no further.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in November 2008 and had a great time. I was a little hesitant at first because the price seemed too good, but the hotel/rooms were very clean (I have bug phobias and was totally fine!) and the free breakfast (on the beach!) was great. It's not for picky people used to fancy hotels, but it was perfect in comfort, cleanliness and location for me and my boyfriend (we are professionals in our 30's and live in Los Angeles). I wouldn't recommend it for some of my snootier friends though, since it doesn't have that air of sophistication, fancy towels/toiletries or people waiting on you non-stop. The only problem we had was with our shower (it stopped working one day during our stay) but they came and fixed it immediately. Oh, and we HIGHLY recommend the restaurant Dang, on Rat Uthit road just a few blocks away from this hotel. We ate there twice during our stay. So cheap and so good!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

The Patong Bay Garden Resort is perfect if you want to be close by to all the acion of Patong and still be on the beach!

The location of the hotel was perfect for us and it was easily the best quality hotel situated along the beach.

Standard rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. If you have room 2133, do not expect to get great views - the balcony looks on to the roof of the lobby building!

Breakfast was basic but all the usual staples were on offer so everyone could have something.

Staff were polite and helpful on the whole, however, it took 20 minutes for us to check out, which meant we were almost late for our connection.

On the whole, I would thouroughly reccomend the Patong Bay Garden Resort and would stay there again if I ever return to Patong.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The basic breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed at Patong Bay Garden resort for 6 nights and was a little disappointed. When we arrived late in the afternoon to the hotel there were drunk Aussies in the pool everywhere, i felt like i was at schoolies. After having already spent 2 beautiful weeks in Koh Samui and Phi Phi island this is not what i was expecting.

The next day there were loud Indians in the pool screaming and shouting. People were trying to relax by the pool like and i was asleep and woke up to these screaming people. I wasn't the only one annoyed the next day we had to go to the beach to get away from them.

We stayed in a deluxe room with a balcony, room was big and clean however the balcony looked over the roof of another part of the hotel.

Definitely think again why you are going on a holiday. Because i definitely didn't find it relaxing here and would pay more to stay somewhere like Burasari or Impiana Cabana where i have stayed before and very quiet and relaxing. Only good thing about this hotel is the location, absolutely perfect and its on the beach.

Breakfast was horrible, not much of a variety at all. Flys and and bees were always around the food.

The front desk staff were rude. One day it rained when we were by the pool so everyone disappeared. I came back to get my towel but someone had taken it. When the sun came back out to go back on the lounges i had to ask reception for another towel. They would not give me one until i found the other one. I told her someone had taken it and kicked up a fuss and told me i would have to wait till tomorrow. Such bad service!

If i was with a group of friends this hotel would have been ideal but definitely not for couples.

  • Liked — the location was the only good thing about this place!
  • Disliked — the service, the pool area, and breakfast was the worst ever
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

We arrived at the hotel at 10pm and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. They had our room ready and we got a free cocktail on arrival. location of the hotel was the best. right on the beach. what i saw it was the only hotel that you didnt have to cross the road to get to the sand!!! pool was big and room was perfect. we got a superior room and it was great. massive bed. clean room. cable tv. the resturants are a little pricey. exspectially the seafood resturant. From other peoples reviews i was expecting the room to be noisey from street noise but we did not have this problem. i would suggest this motel to everyone. they made our thailand experience a very pleasent one. thanks

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool closed at 7pm
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#45 Spa Hotel in Patong
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Bay Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.