We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION FOR PATONG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Bay Garden Resort

Save Saved
You added Patong Bay Garden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 261 hotels in Patong
Redding, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION FOR PATONG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Be prepared for the room to clean, but there was really dark moldy sheetrock both in bedroom and bathroom. We had a Deluxe Jr. Suite and first floor just off the pool area.We absolutely LOVED the location with beach-front access and just a few meters away from Bangla Rd. night-life action.

The breakfasts were located right at the beach side and were quite good - but typical buffet breakfast with pancakes, french toast, cooked to order omelets, cereals, fruit, sweet flavored juices (not real juice anywhere in Thailand breakfasts we found), also white rice and some "leftover" type meat/vegetable Thai style dish to put on rice, no cheeses, jams, good fresh bread, decent coffee and tea. Excellent service.

Only real issue was that the room needed to have the drywall replaced due to saturated mold - lots of it on the walls bleeding through the numerous white paint coverage attempts. If mold bothers you you won't like it. I saw one cockroach one night in the bathroom. Not surprising. Patong area is generally kind of dirty and smelly along the streets. The beach though was surprisingly clean and the water was clean too.

No surprises or disappointments, but we were prepared for it being kind of rough. It was not as bad as we had thought it might be. We stayed 2 nights. If I were going to return to Patong - which we don;t plan, I would stay here again. It was a really perfect location, good value, good breakfast. Satisfied. Not wowed.

Room Tip: Get a Jr. Suite. Ground floor is super convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    124
    57
    35
    40
See reviews for
41
118
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked 1 night through agoda at the last minute of December 2011, after we returned a day early from a trip to Koh Phi Phi. We now wished we had of stayed here the entire time!
In terms of location I don't think you can ask for much better. The front of the building opens up to Bangla Road, where the back side of the hotel is situated right on the sand of Patongs main beach. The staff weren polite and friendly, and the rooms were clean and tidy.
The breakfast was great, with the restaurant looking over Patong Beach. The pool is small, but with the ocean literally at your doorstep this did not worry us at all.
We stayed in Junior Suite and from memory only paid around $50AU-absolute bargain.
For those who stay here, be sure to get a cocktail from the Kombi Van Bar located right out the front of the reception-the girl who worked there was so friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My review is based on terms that this is a 3 star hotel. Great Location but old. 3rd time stayed there but i think last one . Over priced for such a 3 star hotel . Staff at reception quite nice but in the restaurant that's another story .The food very good and well presented . The staff need a good training ......Very poor

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here get the cheapest room cause the only reason to stay here is location and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I booked this resort through my travel website hafeezsyed.dreamtripslife.com
No problems with the bookings at all.
Greater with a pleasant surprise as I was upgraded to a jr suit. I didn't ask any questions. Was happy to just accept.
Had a last min extra friend and was able to get extra bed for a price.
Welcome drink could be better though. Just a small glass. I'm sure it doesn't cost much to get a fruit juice or something.
Overall the room is clean. Toilets clean service good. No problems with Internet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was very disappointed with this run down resort. As I had arrived first and was sharing a twin room was escorted to the deluxe balcony room. The room has to be the worst. Musty smell greeted me with a king bed and tucked away in pokey corner looking at no view just the wall. I went back to reception and told them we had booked a twin. They had received no request and no twin balcony available but they could put a rollaway in. Kidding me? We had booked 6 months in advance especially for a friends 40th at the resort. Amazing how suddenly English becomes limited when faced with a problem. Finally got out of them that city view twin available so had a look and was reasonable, no smell, dated though. The reception staff are the worst and we noticed that they smiled to your face and complained about you in Thai when yr backs turned. The resort is a timeshare property so salesmen trying to sell people every day. The location is fantastic, the food good but let down by lack of maintenance, poor service with fake smiles or none. The final straw was being told no refund for downgrade by the rudest Manager ever, who wrote rude notes, and to take it up with travel agent back in Australia. We will be!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

For a first timer to Patong, this was the perfect location to base ourselves! Right near the buzzing nightlife of Bangla Rd & right on the beach.

We stayed at Patong Bay Garden from 26th December - 4th January in a city view superior room. Our room was great, spacious enough and with a small balcony that looked over onto Beach Rd (you could not hear the noise of the road when the big sliding doors were closed). The bathroom was a little dated but nothing I hadn't expected in a place like Thailand. The turn down service was great (we left a small tip every few days to say thanks). We had one issue with the air conditioner leaking and they fixed it straight away.

We had breakfast included which was great as my partner & I were travelling with a group and this was a place to meet every morning. There was an egg station (you could have scrambled, poached, fried, omelette - you name it!), there was the other normal stuff (bacon etc) as well as a selection of thai food, toast, and pastries.

On New Years eve there was a big party at the other end of Patong Beach which cost roughly $80AUD for a ticket.. But lucky enough for us there was a free party on the beach behind the resort! It was fantastic, there was a big stage with live DJ's and drink stations on beach. LOTS of fun!

The resort pool was great! We spent a few afternoons drinking & swimming after our day trips. Great place to relax. There were a few cute little Thai kids running around (I think their Mum works at the resort) who were so excited if anyone would play with them. I think FUN translates through any language barriers!

On the last night of our trip we went to Savoey Seafood resatuarant (just across the road and towards bangla) where my partner proposed! A fantastic end to an amazing trip.

I cannot fault the Patong Bay Garden at all - lovely people, great service, perfect location especially if you have never been to Phuket before.

Room Tip: If travelling at New Years - don't get a room overlooking the pool! The party on the beach which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Location: Right on the beach. Enjoyed my breakfast by the sea every morning. Going to the beach and back to the hotel was a breeze seeing as they are steps away fr each other. Drug store, eateries, souvenir shops surround the entrance of the hotel.

The rooms: We stayed in 2 different rooms, both were fine. I would recommend the one with the balcony so you can have a pool view. It may get a little noisy at night as there is a bar right outside, so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Service: No complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#44 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Bay Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.