We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Viridian Resort ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Viridian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Viridian Resort to your Saves list
The Viridian Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206/24 Rat-U-Thit 200 Year Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Sea Sun Sand Hotel Phuket)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 278 Hotels in Patong
3.5 of 5 stars 128 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Viridian Resort ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stay in Viridian Resort from 22/10 to 25/10/13 , hotel staff helpful and friendly .we had a good size room for triple sharing (only bathroom too small) it's well maintained .
Daily breakfast is simple and good .
Hotel location very convenient about 5-10 mins walk to beach , Jungceylon shopping mall and famous nite life area Bangla road . Along way they have many restaurants /small eateries ,reflexology & massage spas .
Overall my family have a pleasant and enjoyable stay !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    33
    11
    17
See reviews for
16
38
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

On arrival we where " welcomed" not in a very friendly manner. W had to put down Aus $100.00 as deposit. We where then placed in rooms without balconies....we booked balconies. This was rectified the following day. Breakfast was adequate..the staff in the dining area very frienly and helpfull. The night time meals are very well priced and the happy hour cocktails only 100 baht. The hotel is in a very good location which reduces your tranpsort costs. For budget accomodation - it is not bad value - not fancy at all but not much time is spent in the rooms. If you have to spend a lot of time in your room due to cosmetic procedure then you would want something a bit more upmarket and with a few more channels on TV. Make sure you bring your mosquitoe repellent as there are very many mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have balconies and are not nice so make sure you get what you book for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was my 5th stay in Patong. I've stayed at 5 star hotels to backpackers over the last few years and without a doubt I have found my new place. The value for money was excellent (payed about $50 a night) and it was just as nice as hotels charging $150+ a night. The rooms where nice, clean and large enough, the the joint shower and toilet was the only let down. The free wifi around the pool and rooms was a massive bonus, yet again many of the 5 star hotels only offer this in the lobby. I had read reviews that the breakfast was rather poor, totally disagree, the selections of food was great and the staff where always happy to cook your eggs any style. During happy hour the cocktails are only 100 baht which is great and they don't hold back on the spirits! Location is perfect with a 5 minute walk to the beach and 5 minutes to Bangla. Will be staying here many times in the future for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is worth knowing the hotel required 2000baht deposit while check-in.
There were 60% discount on Agoda so the price was acceptable. It does not worth paying the full price.
Only good point is the location

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

it's the most bad experience i ever had starting from the unprofessional stuff
and hardly we checked in
however we reserved online we chocked with the room as it's not as the one online, furniture are so poor and old

A very dirty room, then we called the room service to reallocate us
the second room was at the same level
1. Dirty room
2. bathroom with blocked plumping
3. insects and Fleas in the bed
we called the room service for help and we got nothing for 30 min
and then they said that there's no maintenance now
they changed the bed cover but still fleas everywhere

after a miserable hour i decided to leave the hotel and search for another place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

we had requested a ground floor butt the first night we got there were put on first floor , the toilet didnt work so they moved us to another room which was good.. the second day we changed to ground floor room which was much better and had no probs from here... the hotel is clean but older style, pools clean and 5 mins walk to shopping centre, staff were excellent and happy to help with anything, breakfast is nice with fruit and cook for eggs etc with differnt type of foods in hot dishes with toast, coffee tea etc.. a great budget hotel with beautiful garden and very central to everything. thanks to the staff who were awesome.

Room Tip: choose ground floor room near pool. some travellers being nasty to staff just cause they can, remem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This resort was accommodating to our needs. Short walk to the beach and close to all shopping.The pool area is great for just relaxing and having a quiet time. The only noise of a night time is from the fire works going off at the beach and this is mostly early in the morning. The staff were all friendly and booking in and out was an easy experience. The bathroom/toilet area is not a good idea, with no shower screen, and therefore with a husband like mine the whole area was wet after a shower. The cleaning was not always up to scratch, with the coffee cups left unwashed on the vanity and soap and shampoo not refilled. Breakfast was adequate for our needs with good variety, changing each day.
Air conditioning leaking on the back entrance near our room created a pool of water which you had to walk through each time to get into the room, thus walking muddy tracks into the room.
The freezer part of our fridge was frozen solid, and i did comment to the staff on our entry, but was not fixed at all.
Apart from these few minor problems we had a most enjoyable stay here and would certainly return again.

Room Tip: second floor rooms are better in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Viridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viridian Resort

Address: 206/24 Rat-U-Thit 200 Year Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Sea Sun Sand Hotel Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Viridian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Viridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sun Sand Patong
The Viridian Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Viridian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.