We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for your holiday resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great choice for your holiday resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Whilst this was my 10th trip to Phuket and Patong, this was my 1st stay at the Thara, and my 1st stay at one of the "bigger" resorts, normally I have choosen to stay in "smaller" places.
Whilst I never had any doubts I would enjoy my stay at Thara, I was unsure of how I would really like the bigger type place. I have to say I would not hesitate to stay here again, it was great.
For a bigger type hotel , I never expected the staff to be so good and friendly as they were. Nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a Deluxe room in the Palm wing on the ground floor, just 10 small steps to the swimming pool. 5 steps to my sun lounge, and the bar was not far away either.I really think these rooms are excellent value for money, very comfortable, and spacious, and we looked out at he pool not at someone elses room.
The breakfast, was very good, with so many choices everyday, and the staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble
We ate in the restaurant a few times, and its really good value for a resort, and not expensive, the seafood (for those that eat it, I dont) i have on very good authority is vey good, and I must admit it looked fantastic, and smelt even better.
The pool fantastic, many and enjoyable hour spent there.
I will definately be back again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear, Aussie 1nsw

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to hear your stay was a relaxing one and enjoyed our facilities and service from our team.

i am glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast as we provided, myself and our team are proud to have made your holiday in Phuket a memorable experience.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

With Best regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    235
    77
    20
    21
See reviews for
104
178
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PERTH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

There was 4 of us (2 couples) and we each stayed for 14 days in a Premier (pool view) room which was spotless and large. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower. The staff were very helpful, friendly and enjoyed a laugh and a joke. The pool was sparkling clean and the view from our room was great! We could see the beach fireworks and laterns from our balcony. There was ample array of food at breakfast which was included in our deal. The room service menu had a great variety which we ordered a couple of times. It was only a short walk to the beach and/or Bangla Road. We recommend this hotel very highly and will definitely stay here again. The premier( pool access) rooms looked very inviting!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are not close to the road therefore was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear, camillemunachan

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us, it is very happy to hear from you that you have a great times and was relaxing with our hotel.

Thank you again to choosing to spend your holiday times to staying with us, we looking forward to create more an excellent service and wonderful memories on you vacation, and thank you once again for your recommending our hotel to other.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Thara Partong Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

With Best regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights and had a fantastic time. Staff upon check-in were friendly and efficient, we were shown to our rooms and they were everything we expected. Good size, clean, everything worked, what more can you ask for? Rooms cleaned daily.

Breakfast was more than adequate, good selection of usual breakfast food items, even when we had a late brekky at 10am, 30 min before end, everything was available. Two pools available and never crowded and the bar out front does 120 baht cocktails between 4-7pm, bargain!

Hotel location is excellent, about 200m walk along the street to the beach, 300m to Bangla rd so not too close to the booming bars and clubs.

Overall an exceptional place for about 65AUD per night. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely come back again. I do believe there are more expensive rooms at the back of the hotel, maybe a new section but you can step directly into a pool from your door!

Overall a great place, check it out!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or right hand side would be quieter, rooms on left wing if you look at the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear, Morgan J

Thank you so much for staying with Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
and Thank you once again for taking your time to sharing your wonderful Experience.

I am pleased you enjoyed our facilities and service from our associates.

we hope to see you again in the near future and we look forward to providing you with more enjoyable stay with us.


With best regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having stayed here 6 times, this was the absolute worst, and the last time! The staff are very arrogant and rude. We arrived by taxi organised by the hotel only to be told the room we specifically booked was occupied as late check out and would only be ready at 4pm! We complained and we were given a massage voucher for the Thara Spa which, when we wanted to redeem it we were told it was not for the spa but the open air massage area. The hotel has not been well maintained and the signs of disrepair are evident in the cracked pool sides and damp walls and water elephants not working. Any complaint is met with apparent lack of understanding of English. The breakfast remains great with a good selection.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, there are plenty of better hotels to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear, Ronnie F

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to leave yours comment, i am extremely sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience while you staing with Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa.

i remember on the first day you arrived. yes, the room as you request 1156 pool access was occupiend, i am very sorry for that happened if you still remember we showed the other room was room#1155 just next to that room is available for you anytimes but you want to wait only that room even untill 4 pm you said it fine!.

And about Open Air massage voucher is on the packgage for our returning guest on that period is not because of after complaint then we give to the guest. However, i sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectation this time.

we appreciate your feed back as it continually allows us the opportunuty to review and improve our service and also comment about maintenance for the pools have been brought to attention of our management, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that happened during you stay with our resort.

we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future,

with best regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dickson, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed in Thara Patong for 4 nights. This is my 2nd time and before this was 6 years ago. I was surprised that it is maintained very well....also it is in the heart of Patong. Its the most convenient place as everything is in walking distance. we walked everywhere from the beach to the shopping and to bangla street. only place we took the tuk tuk was to hard rock cafe. for 200bhat, only negative about this hotel is. please check what u have and dont have in the hotel room.... i was told that i took an umbrella and its no more in the room... i told them i refuse to take the blame as there was not any umbrella at all... told them they can check their cctv as it was right in front of my door...as i was in n out without one! after half an hour of wait.... they apologized....apart from that... loved the place. pool was good...bfast was awesome and everything was nearby. definitely will come back!

Room Tip: if u are a family... best take the double bedroom suite as it accomodates 8 people with 3 different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jasmine_ kaur14

Thank you for staying with us at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, and also taking time to share the review at The TripAdvisor.I am pleased you had an excellent stay with us .

I truly appreciate your comment and recommended our resort and I will be sure to pass them onto the team.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

with best regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first but won't be our last visit to Thailand. Unfortunately for us we landed in the middle of the wet season that was unseasonally wet and experienced very heavy rains that caused major flooding in the streets. While inconvenient the water does drain quickly and life returns to normal soon afterwards. The Thara Resort was central to the main tourist centre of Patong and most areas/restaurants are accessible by a short walk or cheap Tuk-Tuk ride. Be warned this area is a "tourist trap" and a walk will have you subjected to offers of massages, suits and all the other street vendor approaches. As for the Thara, it was clean, well serviced, friendly staff and value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear, Craig Z

Thank you for taking your time to provide a review. It certainly sound like you had a wonderful experience at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your refreshing comments.

we are looking forward to welcome you stay with us again.

With Best Regards
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice location and facilities look like it holds promise but atrocious staff. The receptionist was always frowning and when we forgot to print our booking sheet of hotels.com, all she kept repeating at us was "give paper, give paper" is a repeatedly annoyed voice! The room was not checked before we arrived and the air conditioning was leaking, as well as not cold! We had to change rooms in the middle of the night as a result. Breakfast was equally disappointing with staff that were unfriendly and looked more like we were annoying them than they were helping. The spread was poor and even when the toaster had a bread jammed inside no one reacted for a full 10 minutes!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear, Vincent C

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave your comment, please accept my sincere apologize for any inconvenience while you staying with us.

i would like to explain about voucher paper as you mentioned it is the responsibility for the staff of the front desk to take for the guest to make sure about hotel confirmation. i do apologize that disturbing you.

You feed back about the condition of the room and breakfast has been noted and we will focus to improve for future guest.

once again, thank you for your for comment it is important to us to continue to improve our facilities and service. We hope to serve you again and we will make every effort to see this never happen again.

With Best regards
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#23 Spa Hotel in Patong
#31 Family Hotel in Patong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is prominently situated on Patong Beach offering a superb combination of service, value for money and location. It is just a short stroll to the Beach, the bustling shopping and nightlife areas. It is approximately 42 km. to Phuket International Airport (about 55 minutes drive) and about 30 minutes drive to Phuket Town. The Resort offers 180 accommodate rooms in Superior, Deluxe, Premier, Premier Pool Access, One/Two Bedroom Suite and Grand Tamarind Suite; each room looks out on the serenity of the tropical gardens and pools from their private balcony. All rooms are fully furnished with finest materials and facilities include satellite TV, IDD telephone, mini bar, hair dryer and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thara Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Thara Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.