We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avantika Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Avantika Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Avantika Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Offer!
Ranked #139 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 204 Reviews
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 days in March and enjoyed our time there. We had an initial problem with our room location and hardness of the bed due to back problems but all it took was a phone call to the young lady at the desk and she was do accommodating and changed our room and had them do something to the bed that made it outstanding for me. The restaurant personnel was also very helpful. Had some issue with understanding each other but we both tried and it worked . The only negative is something they have no control over and that's the drain at the street level which has a really bad smell but it doesn't come into the hotel or the rooms so its not too bad. All in all it was a lovely stay and we would definately stay there again if we ever travel back to Phuket in the future. Very good price as well .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    104
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
18
71
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Read the reviews only after I came back from Phuket and was relieved that my experience at Avantika wasn't that bad as some had reported, especially in terms of service and cleanliness. Service staff were polite and helpful and they were quick to send down a maintenance guy to fix our window blind which was faulty. A guard was always in front of the hotel which was not something I expected given the size of the hotel.

We stayed on the ground floor with a back door that leads directly to the pool which was pretty cool when we need to go for swim in the morning and when I need to have a cigarette outside at night.

The beach is right outside the hotel and its only a 10 to 15 mins walk to Bangla road and the new Jangceylon shopping mall. 7-11 and Familymart is beside the hotel in case you need to buy anything.

Will stay at Avantika if I ever visit Phuket again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel after reading mixed reviews, we checked in and our room was a deluxe pool room where you walk into the pool from the verandah, the room was large and clean, this hotel is in a great spot at the end of patong beach but only a short walk to where all the action is, my only complaint about this hotel is the staff except the room cleaners they are not very friendly or helpful, the food from the restaurant due to a lack of understanding English is quite ordinary, the house keeping staff were lovely, breakfast was fine a good selection to get the day started and a choice of eggs cooked upon order

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The term "boutique" hotel misled us into thinking it would be family owned, clean and friendly,on top of the "deluxe seaview" and the "special offer" which sounded attractive:the price we paid being upmarket as compared to a standard 4-star hotel, we were certain that we would get value for money. Helas,quite to the contrary! We faced a run down, or rather not maintained establishment, on the seafront road but withdrawn, which resulted in: no breeze, damp and hot interiors, as if we were in the rainy season, while outside it was nice and dry! Other unpleasant features:the pool constantly in the shade, just like the tiny balcony, with little view and steam-bath feel:despite the heat, swimming suits did not dry! In addition to the permanent smell of humidity, the room was plain dirty:thick dust layer all over; a couple of towels had large permanent stains!We pointed this out to the lady of the front desk who was showing us the room. Despite our complaint, the room was not cleaned until we had to ask again, hours later. By way of apology for the inconvenience, the hotel manager offered a ride with the hotel shuttle to nicer beaches outside Patong, on two occasions, which we appreciated. Nonetheless,the front office staff, except for one employee, the doorman and the bell boy(who were smiling and nice), were not pleasant or helpful at all,not even polite, throughout the stay. (The only hotel in my whole life where nobody says hello at the reception desk when a hotel guest walks into the lobby).Things did not improve in the following days:breakfast's quality was unacceptable: no fresh bread, a ridiculous little oven (5 minutes to toast a slice), tasteless omelettes; yogurts,butter and jam in little plastic containers like the cheapest continental breakfast; last but not least: two Italian coffee machines, but no espresso or cappuccino available as they were broken down! The owner assured us they would be repaired, but to no avail!The last day, after check out they let use the spa room in the evening to take a shower and change before going to the airport, which was a nice gesture. Of course,the place was dirty as it had been used and noone had cleaned it afterwards, but we were accustomed to the house policy of sloppy management and sloppy service by then...and we were leaving the premises anyway. To cut a long story short:AVANTIKA?NO THANKS!

Room Tip: Top floor has larger balconies and better view. If you go in low season you might pay less and get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Avantika location is lovely. Lots of trees, nice pool and one can pass time when tired by sitting in the small balcony. Our two rooms were interconnected, it helped even though all occupants were adults.

Front desk ladies were helpful with any little inconveniences we reported they sorted it out.

Rooms were pretty clean, bathroom was sparkling and our daily cleaning was upto the mark.
Once we found towels were not changed but the ladies at the front desk were happy to supply fresh towels on reporting of the problem.

We used the restaurents in the hotel Amari, not too far from the Avantica. The Italian restaurent (La Gritta) food in the Amari was excellent and did not have to go too far from the Avantica for decent dinner & drinks. Loved the location of the Avantica.

Morning breakfast was ample for us being moderate eaters. The nice view of the waters from the breakfast tables were refreshing. To get more than few cups of coffee was never a problem with breakfast. Always got nice omlets, fruits were average but overall we enjoyed breakfast on all 3 days of our stay.

We will prefer to stay at Avantica again as it gives what we look for in a relaxed holiday without much fuss.

For trips and airport transfers it is better to arrange on your own not through the front desk. Plenty of transport always available and the gateman is happy to call any transport for guests at any hours.

Do lookafter the gateman for their help at all hours, we left the hotel at 4.40 am for the Airport and the gateman was very helpful with our bags, etc. Phuket survies on tourism and the natural beauty of this place deserves to be nice & gentle to the local people. They are very helpful.
It is so green!

Palits from Melbourne.

Room Tip: Third and 4th Floors we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We chose Avantika hotel because it was small and cosy and because we would not be forced to take a compulsory New Year’s Eve dinner. Another priority was the sea view and a good balcony. The hotel looked great on the homepage and also received quite a few nice reviews on Tripadvisor. We booked a Grand Deluxe Room to have the sea view and also to have a balcony. The room was very pricey due to high season so even with a 30% prepay discount, the price came will above 6500 Baht per night (EUR 165).

We arrived around noon time and since the room was already paid for, we were taken to our room immediately. Were we disappointed!! There was a moldy smell in the room and everything looked battered and worn and the private balcony was very, very small – all space was taken up by a so-called “tatami” arrangement but that was indoor with windows that could only partially open. We went to the reception immediately to ask for an upgrade – we were prepared to pay of course. But the hotel was fully booked so we had to stay. Okay – we opened the doors to let some air through the room and assessed the damage. No possibility to sit 2 people on the balcony. Sea view – yes – partial – most view taken up by the trees.

The worst part thought was the cleaning – or lack of cleaning. There were black hairs in the bed, somebody had cut their nails on the floor in a nice little pile, the “tatami mats” were dirty, the floor in general was very dirty, black hair on the bathroom floor, something had been spilled under our bed and not cleaned, all furniture dusty. My goodness – we have seen many, many hotels but never this poor cleaning – not even in two star hotels. One might suggest that we should have contacted the hotel staff to have them clean the room but it would probably not have helped anything so we took the washcloth and the bathroom floor mat and used them to swipe everything over. After that, they were both black – we put them on the bathtub to dry and the next day, the cleaning had put the floor mat back on the floor. Dirty or not. We had to wash glasses and cups before using them as they were also dirty – after finding a cockroach in the drawer where cups and glasses were kept, it became even more necessary. Due to the smell, we kept our clothes in the suitcases all the time. When we came to bed on New Year’s eve, we also discovered that the duvet and pillows were wet – maybe they had washed and not dried them? That was what we chose to believe. We threw everything off the bed and slept under the sheet instead. One advice: If you want them to change your towels, throw them on the bathroom floor.

Grand Deluxe room means something else in our opinion.

What was not the hotel’s fault was that there was a concert on the water – electronic music pumping away all night with a sound level of many thousand watts so we did not sleep at all until it ended at 5 in the morning.

One positive thing was the breakfast where there was a small buffet with bread, cake and fruit. Eggs, bacon, sausage etc. was made to order and was really nice and fresh. The ambience in the restaurant was good and it was relaxing just to sit and watch the sea and enjoy the climate. There is a spa at the hotel but we did not try it as we had a suspicion that it might be cleaned by the same staff as cleaned the rooms.

We never felt well in the room and we felt cheated because the hotel was not what it looked like on their homepage. We felt sorry for the staff who must listen to a lot of complaints due to bad maintenance, poor cleaning and misleading marketing.

We asked for pricing for a transfer to the airport and they wanted twice the price of a normal taxi. We were leaving very early in the morning so we booked via the internet at Phuket Shuttle and it worked perfectly well. (Recommended for any transfer needs). Check out was quick and we will never come back.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have real balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the hotel in the first week of December before the mad rush of peak season, however did notice that Phuket is over run by Russian tourists, something that has changed since the last time we visited in 2008

The hotel is located in a great part of Patong Beach, at the top end towards Ocean Plaza shopping mall, its not too far from all the main goings on and attractions in Patong, but just far enough away not to be stuck in the middle of the chaos and busyness of Patong in high season with noisy bars and people, its a place of peace and quiet.

The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful and always willing to please us, they accommodated our special request without any hesitation and always called us by our names and said hello and goodbye every time they saw us which I think was a nice touch in todays impersonal world, the Thai smile seemed very genuine, unlike the ones we got when walking up and down the local markets, they are just interested in parting you from your money for fake goods.


The ocean view room we had booked has a great view of the beach and the beach itself is only a few steps away from the hotel entrance, although there is a floating jetty close by for the arriving cruise ship day trippers it didnt spoil the beach fun at all and the local beach vendors made our day comfortable and carefree, in fact its quite funny to see rich people battling to get on and off the small transfer boats and need to be helped along by the men and women in their pristine white uniforms.

Breakfast was OK, it is just the normal offering expected from a buffet breakfast, however the waiter did say if we wanted anything specially made that they would do it for us no problem, a high point was having dinner at sunset in the restaurant, It was amazing, the food was great, real Thai food made real good, the atmosphere was fun and the view was exceptional, I would recommend this to anyone that stays to eat around sunset and enjoy the views over Patong bay, whether you do it at the hotel or any one of the many restaurants in the area, its a must do during your holiday.

Patong itself is very busy and lots of things to see and do and loads of great things to buy,even if most of it is fake, you can easily book day trips at any local travel agent, and the hotel staff even pointed us to the best agent they know who will not rip you off, which is unusual for Thai hotels as most will do it themselves and pocket the commission, Avantika staff did all they could to make our stay stress free and enjoyable.

We also booked to go and see Fantasea, which is also another must do in Phuket, there is a new show called Siam Niramit, but it looked like it was the same sort of show and more expensive with no food included in the price, maybe that we will do next visit to Phuket.

Overall the holiday was great, a welcome break without too many aggravations, it wasn't all perfect, the local taxi pricing seems to be a rip off, with tuk tuk drivers demanding 200+ baht to go from one end of the beach to another, and also it seems the pricing changes from shop to shop, a good tip is to just walk away if the price seems too high, there are many more shops who will sell to you at the price you want, you just have to keep haggling them down.

In Summary

Hotel Location - Great
Hotel Service - Great
Room and View - Great
Beaches - Good but starting to get a bit too busy
Shop - Just dont get caught out with silly prices with locals 1/2 any offer and make counter offer
Transportation - Dont get ripped off buy Tuk Tuk and Airport Taxis
Food - Good just dont be boring and eat Mcdonalds and KFC - your in Thailand be adventurous

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a great view of the beach, however ask for a room on 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avantika Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avantika Boutique Hotel

Address: 4/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Spa Hotel in Patong
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avantika Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avantika Boutique Hotel is located on Phuket's most popular beach and is situated at the quieter Northern end. Designed for well discerning travelers our rooms at Avantika are decorated with vibrant and stylish décor representing the four elements, water, earth, air and fire and guest rooms are fitted with all the amenities the guest can need for a satisfactory stay.With unrivalled access to the emerald water of the Andaman Sea on the hotels doorstep not more than 10 meters away from the beachfront and sandy shores, we also have a wonderful swimming pool for the sun lovers as well as a range of in-house facilities including spa and massage, for those wanting a relaxing holiday.For the ultimate serene tropical getaway choose Avantika Boutique Hotel where our guests are indulged with luxurious four-star accommodation and facilities in a stunning beachfront setting, Located close enough to the lively streets of Patong to walk but far enough away to ensure peace and quiet for stillness and peace.The intimate resort offers 31 spacious guestrooms, including direct Pool Access Rooms and Grande Deluxe Rooms with a stunning Ocean view of Patong Bay, and One Bedroomed Suites.Our guests are spoilt for choice for food and dinning at the trendy beachfront restaurant "Amrita", enjoy breakfast over sunrise and dinner over sunset. With our genuine Thai hospitality, top-class accommodations, swimming pool, spa and much more, Avantika Boutique Hotel has everything guests need for a perfect holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avantika Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avantika Boutique Patong
Avantika Boutique Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avantika Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.