We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Stay Relaxation and Relief is Banthai Beach Resort & Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banthai Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay Relaxation and Relief is Banthai Beach Resort & Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Banthai Beach Resort & Spa is located at the centre of Patong Beach, Great lush tropical gardens all facing the 3pools and the Andaman Sea.
We were in a Deluxe Room 2111 (from July 30th to August the 6th) and would recommend you pay the extra 30 bucks a night to enjoy ground level and direct access to your pool. Our king bed was hard just the way we like it so be prepared if you want a soft one then just ask and you will receive.
Our room was of a contemporary Thai design and architecture, full amenities clean neat and tidy, you don’t spend much time in it anyway but it is nice to know you are safe and can sleep very well.
The resort has 3 swimming pools with swim up bars in them.
The buffet breakfast is too die for, Mr Egg Chef who makes your eggs exactly how you want them have some fun and joke with him he loves it.
Because the resort is in the heart of Patong for lunch and or dinner you will go to 1 of a million cafes, Restaurant in the streets, we only had one meal at the bar in the pool, fish and chips, hamburger cocktail and a beer just great.
The staff are all great the pool manager "CoCo" and right hand man "Jumper" looked after us very well, talk to the staff about anything you want to know and they are more them willing to give you a tip that will come in handy during your stay they all have contacts that can save you time and money.
We would highly recommend this resort to all that are making the trip to Patong Beach you will be very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    506
    166
    64
    58
See reviews for
259
664
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stay in Banthai for one week in January , Excellent hotel.
We go to Phuket every year this was our forth trip, and Banthaii is the best, I know is expensive but still affordable.
The best breakfast, position is just great close to theonce you walk from the resort you have beach on your door steps with shops and bars and coffe places and restourants.
The rooms are very clean, maybe bathroom are not the best but overall is a great hotel.
We have been before in Patong Merlin Hotel and Courtyard by Marriott and this one we liked the best.
The only negative thing about this hotel is always cold pool, I dont know why, maybe to much shadow.
We love Phuket and we are going again end of this year!
Have fun in Phuket!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

First off, this is our third trip to Phuket. We have previously stayed at the Horizon and the Access Resort (both in Karon). We decided that the trip 'over the hill' each day was getting a bit old. We ususally spend most of our time in Patong so it made sense to stay there this visit.

I gotta say, I LOVED the Ban Thai. We stayed in a twin share room (rm 1110) that was five steps from the pool. It was not a huge room, but we do not spend too much time in our room anyway. The beds were not too hard - not as hard as the Horizon's anyway.

The room was well appointed and reletivly clean for a hotel. The first night our airconditioner was very loud. When we mentioned this to the reception staff the next morning it was fixed within an hour. The following morning someone popped by to make sure all was still okay.

The breafast selection was good...choices of Anglo, Japanese and Thai style foods.

One of the things that really sold me on the Ban Thai was the staff. They were always friendly and happy to oblige. Nothing was too much bother.

The Ban Thai is not the cheapest hotel, but I really enjoyed my stay there. We are planning a trip with friends (a couple) next June and will be going back to the Ban Thai.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I went to the Banthai with 2 of my best friends for 9 nights and we LOVED it. It was my first overseas trip, so had certain expectations, and was not disappointed at all. I would go again and have recommended this hotel to a couple I know who are going to Patong! We arrived close to midnight, but staff were there ready to greet us with the famous Thai hospitality. We were treated so wonderfully.

My only minor annoyance was that we asked for a room with 2 queen/double beds, as we had 3 people in the room, but we ended up with 2 single beds and a sofa type bed. We went to speak to reception about it before we unpacked anything and they said that WAS the 3 person room. They couldnt get us into another room as requested, a minor annoyance but it didnt stop or ruin the holiday at all.

The room was clean and modern, a little small for 3 people but honestly we didnt spend alot of time in the room, so it wasnt an issue. Our room had a view looking over 1 of the 3 pools, below us was a pool access room. I cant rave about the swim up bar enough! The staff were so friendly and funny, they make the best cocktails. The pool was rather quiet and relaxing, the busiest it got was about 20 or so people. No kids either. We did go in the low season so maybe that had something to do with it. The gym was great, sadly didnt try the spa services, but it looked beautiful!

The buffet breakfast was always very good, the egg chef who makes your eggs exactly how you want them was great. Fresh fruit, smoothies, juice, bacon eggs and even mashed potatos and stor fry lol. I loved breakfast. We never ate lunch or dinner at the buffet so I cant comment on that, we tried the restaurants around Patong.

The location was just perfect. Right in the centre of Patong, stumbling distance to the nightlife area of Bangla Rd. Very close to other great restaurants and bars, you dont need a tuk tuk, its all within walking distance.

I loved my stay here and will go again in a heart beat. I read some reviews here before I left and was worried as some didnt paint a nice picture, was VERY relieved to find it wasnt the case at all. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This was our third stay at the Banthai. It is centrally located to everything and the pool rooms are great. Surrounded by alot of food outlets and easy to walk everywhere. We loved the staff in the restaurant where breakfast is served and also at their restaurants. Rooms are small but nice. Whilst most staff are great, their downfall is the front office staff who need to learn how to be customer focussed. They are rude and never helpful - remember this was our third visit! They never changed over the three visits even though there were diferent staff. They all need to carry out a customer relations course. We will never stay at this hotel again. Love Phuket and its people but will return to a different hotel which is a shame for Banthai.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Banthai for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. It was in the centre of absolutely everything but also basically over the road from Patong beach, surrounded by restuarant options, shopping galore, the beach, bars etc. Yet somehow it was reasonably quiet in and around the resort. Breakfast provided many options and was nice enough, the breakfast room was quiet nice and well set out.

We had a deluxe pool room, nice but not worth the extra money really. Bed was a bit too hard for my liking...

Overall a neat, friendly, central resort - would recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is not far from the blanga street. Nice hotel although it has a bit age.

Pretty good service and value for money. Would be staying again during our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Spa Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#22 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banthai Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.