We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banthai Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,389 Reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Central location, great resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Centrally located in Patong. 1 min walk to the beach (just across the road), and about a 5-7min walk to Bangla road.

Clean room and grounds with good service. Buffet breakfast (which came as a deal with our room) was great with plenty of hot and cold options. People say not to eat fruit that is cut up, but we and all the other guests did and never had a problem. I would just avoid eating pre-cut fruit from street venders.

The pool bar was one of the big draw cards for us staying here. However, as fun as it is to swim up and have a drink, drinks are expensive (for Thailand). They do give you free popcorn and chips, and have an array of games to play (like connect 4 and jenga) as an added bonus. People say to avoid ice when gong to Thailand, but if you ask, most hotels get filtered ice delivered daily, so it’s safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    465
    150
    59
    54
See reviews for
235
597
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Swim up bar fantastic especially if you are a smoker. Great hotel. Very convenient to everything. Rooms were spacious there was 14 of us we had 5 rooms on the first floor with balcony's looking over the middle pool. 3 pools in total all with swim up bars. Great breakfast only thing if you want peaceful just dont go to Phuket because everyday is Saturday!! and there is a band playing in front of the hotel every night but you will only hear it if you are on your balcony. Overall friendly staff and great location and very Clean. Highly recommomend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My friend & I (22 years old) wanted to have an unforgettable NYE in Thailand, so we were extremely picky on where we were going to stay in Phuket. Our biggest concern was the proximity of the location to Bangla Road and the main beach, which is at its prime location! We would walk to Bangla Road every night within 5 minutes. Banthai is so close to the hustle & bustle, but it is neatly tucked away in its own area that it keeps the noise down. This was a BIG THUMBS UP for us!

We had a certain expectation that the rooms were going to be nice, we have the superior smoking room. Initially, prior to the holiday, we asked for two double beds but got given a king bed. We didn't complain, we just continued with our party holiday and slept in the same bed! (We aren't very picky)…

After a big night the breakfast is the BEST! Freshly cooked omelettes are the bomb! There is bacon, sausages, has brown, pancakes, muffins, cereal EVERYTHING! All you can eat!

The staff are very welcoming and lovely. Tim we won't forget works in the pool bar. He was great fun and provided free drinks if we were having a good time!

We will definitely be back. You get what you pay for! Go to Thailand with an open mind. The people are so friendly for what they are given (3rd world country) you'll feel like an idiot thinking your room isn't good enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Fantastic location if you want to be in the middle of everything, no need for taxis. You wouldn't know you were in the middle of Patong very quiet and peaceful in the resort. The hotel lobby is modern and amazing to look at.
The rooms are split into 3 blocks with 3 pools all rooms facing the pools, none of these pools are private, you can use all of them. The pools are clean and in good order.
We stayed in a 2nd floor no smoking room in the 3rd block which is seperate and to the side of the resort. This was better as there was no through fare and the pool felt more private with fewer people using it .
The rooms appeared pretty avarage not as impressive as on the website or in the brochures, the basin was in the bedroom and the bathroom was old and needed updating. I did question the hygiene issue with this set up as you had to leave the bathroom to wash your hands. The shower was in the bath and had raised marble edges/surround and a glass screen that did not move, if you have mobilty issues or cannot lift you legs you would have a problem.
There was a vast choice of food for breakfast but the breakfast room reminded me of motorway services in the UK - A big hall with no atmosphere and drab boring decor.
Computer acess and WIFI, now theres an issue. To use the computers in the resort it was 150 baht (£3) per hour or 400 baht (£8) per day - expensive i think, i have always had free internet access whilst away. You were given limited free WIFI access when you checked in.
On the good side the rooms were a good size with great aircon and a decent bed,which was turned down nightly with orchids placed on it. There was a complimentary beach bag and flipflops provided (nice touch). Our shower head broke and this was replaced straight away and the general level of cleanliness throughout the hotel was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always willing to assist you.
The hotel itself overall was great, fantastic location within Patong, close to all amenities and the amazing bangla road. Compared to other hotels this did look like one of the best in this area.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms in the seperate block are quiter and the pool in this block is a lot nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our second trip to Phuket, but our first stay at Ban Thai. The location is great, walking distance to most things you want. We stayed in a pool access room which was fantastic. Rooms were cleaned well each day. Breakfast was also great, with plenty to choose from. Mr Egg was very pleasant each morning. However the highlight of our stay here was the service from both Tim and Jack at the pool bar. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and they were always asking if everything is ok? They even offered advice on where to eat, which without this advice can be a bit of a lottery. Thanks Tim and Jack. ps Ethan says to say hi.
The Ross family

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are ideal if you want to simply walk out of your room and plonk yourself in the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, you don't need to use the taxis to get any where. We stayed for four days in July 2013.

Not having free internet really irked me as I had some work to do and for two days, I had to pay for a couple of daily internet access cards which are available at the reception.

The room was well appointed. We in a second floor room facing one of the pools--I believe all their rooms face a swimming pool.

We received sandals and a beach bag complimentary-I'm not sure if they still do this but I think it's a great marketing strategy for the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagambie, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A little bit of paradise which is centrally located on the beach road close to everything. I've been many times to the Banthai for one reason, fantastic staff, they really know how to look after you. When you go, say hello to Mr. Egg at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#27 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banthai Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.