We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place

The Place
94 Thaweewong Road (Beach raod) | Between Burger King and Mc Do , Nearest to Haagen Daaz Ice Cream, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+(66)0827974017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 402 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: French, Thai, International, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited The Place last week for a family lunch.... We walked in off the street and were met with friendly, helpful staff! I was craving pizza and wasn't disappointed....I even got to see it being made before going into the wood fire for cooking! Actually thought it was better than a authentic Italian pizza!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    37
    11
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“We were pleased!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We quite enjoyed this place, we dined there for lunch one day and it had a nice breeze coming through which was nice as it was quite a humid day. I ordered the calamari and it was the best i'd had in Patong, it was succulent and cooked perfectly with a really good crumb.. Apart from reviews below we though the chips were delicious, it tasted like they were boiled first in a stock then deep fried, really big thick cut and home made.. couldn't say no to more! I can't remember what my friend had but we both left quite satisfied and the service for us was pretty good. I'd definitely return

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Warm, friendly, welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I were staying close to this bar so we visited a few times. Each visit we were greeted warmly and treated like old friends! The cocktails, food and service were all above par!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan City
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Avoid "The Place"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because it looked OK from the front, the menu board seemed to be good and there were a few people eating there, so we thought it was worth a shot. We should have kept walking. We went upstairs an stood for a few minutes waiting for somebody to acknowledge us but when no-one did, we started to arrange our own tables. Then, once we were seated, we sat and waited again for someone to come and serve us. Looking back, we should have taken the hint and left. Anyway, our orders were taken and our first drinks arrived. First problem. My wife ordered a cocktail which is supposed to be blue. This one was red, and it tasted pretty bad, so was rejected and replaced by one that was, luckily, made correctly. Once the meals arrived the disappointment continued. The food was not hot and was average at best. Garlic bread was pizza style and was over cooked and dry. Steaks were almost cold and tasted unlike any steak I have ever eaten. The fries were soggy, oily and tasteless. The two kids in our group ordered burgers and these too were a disappointment. The meat was almost raw so could not be eaten. We complained to a French guy who seemed to be in charge, and he tried to tell us that it was cooked like that because it was steak, not mince, which was a blatant lie. All in all it was a pretty poor experience for our group and I would not recommend going near The Place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went there for dinner and had Thai food off the menu, a simple noodle dish and a satay. It was bland, the satay was luke warm and the while meal over priced. The food seemed to have been adjusted for westerners. People around me seemed to enjoy their pizzas, maybe should have had given that a go instead. Lastly, the service was lackluster just like the food. It is a shame though because the location and atmosphere is excellent. They just need to try harder.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Place also viewed

 

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.