We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in this bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Place

The Place
94 Thaweewong Road (Beach raod) | Between Burger King and Mc Do , Nearest to Haagen Daaz Ice Cream, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+(66)0827974017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 396 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: French, Thai, International, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“First time in this bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in Banthai Resort & Spa many times and this bar and restaurant (upstairs and open air) is jus outside the hotel next to the hotel seafood restaurant. Passing by it so many times and never patronize it. This late afternoon for the first time come to this bar for drink. This is located along the beach road with hustling and bustling traffic especially after office hour. It is quite enjoyable to enjoy your drink and watch the crowd here. Should have done this before.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    34
    9
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yanntastic - this is the PLACE to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went to the Place on our first night in Patong after a really hectic day of traveling, We wanted to go to a laid back, relaxed bar to get our bearings in the madness of Patong and we found it here. We met the owner,Yann, at the bar and he was a really cool bloke, even sent his barmaid (who was lovely) down the road for some red bull so we could have jäger bombs. We didn't eat on this occasion but on a different visit we turned up really late and although the kitchen was shut he reopened just for us and we had the best steak we had in the whole of Thailand. In a nutshell this is a really cool, relaxed restaurant in a great location on the beach with great staff, great food and a great patron (for a frenchman hahaha)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great crowd watching bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice place to sit drinking ice cold beer hile watching the beach and the passing parade. Good happy hour prces too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to "The Place" after reading some of the reviews onTA and as it was right out the front of our hotel expecting a good meal. A bit disappointed to say the least, had deep fried squid but the oil was not hot enough so the squid just tasted of oil, also had a tomato, Parma ham and what was supposed to be rocket pizza but not sure what it was.
Prices were reasonable for Patong and as always service was great, overall a fairly average meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Love the food and friendly service and the prices are very reasonable. The owners are very friendly. We had a large group booking and were very happy with the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Place also viewed

 

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.