We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Mango Bar and Grill

The Blue Mango Bar and Grill
97 Mhuen Nguen Road,Tri Trang Beach | Twin Sands Resort, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 302 099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 404 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Please follow the directions on how to get to us on our website. Please tell your driver that we are next door (before) to the Merlin Beach Resort.Blue Mango Bar & Grill offers a quality Thai and Mediterranean dining experience in a quiet location away from hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. When giving directions to your driver, please mention we are located in the Twin Sands Resort, just before the Merlin Beach hotel. We provide courtesy pickup service for prior dinner reservations between 6pm and 9pm within the Patong area.Opening Hours: Monday - Sunday 7:30am - 10:30pmPlease check our Facebook page for regular event updates - search for Blue Mango Restaurant in Patong.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lovely restaurant. Service was outstanding and one of the better meals i have eaten in Thailand. Will return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Supertramp B

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are happy that you have enjoyed dining with us. We are looking forward to cater for you again soon!

The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    60
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I'm at a loss to understand why Blue Mango has so many good reviews as it is very average at best. We booked a table for 8pm and asked for a pick up (we were only about 5 mins drive away from the restaurant).
We were picked up 15 mins late which we assumed was because they were busy.
There were only 2 other tables there when we arrived. The restaurant was totally lacking in ambiance and felt like it was in the middle of an industrial estate. The staff were pleasant and the decor was okay but that is the best I can say about it.
I ordered a glass of white wine to have with my meal. It was totally off - smelt musty and tasted horrible. I asked Claudio the Italian manager to taste it - he agreed with me but was unable to offer me anything else (all other white wine was by the bottle), except for a red - which was over-chilled & tasted like it was from a bottle that had been open for far too long. I didn't make a fuss about this but was a bit surprised that he didn't offer to open something else for me else - whether by the bottle or not.
Our food was okay (my husband liked his fish & my duck salad was "okay") but not great. We ate up and left as soon as we could.
Disappointing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Okorbut

Thank you choosing our restaurant and for posting your feedback. We value every opinion, being it positive or negative.
We offer a free pick up as an extra service to our customers and our car doesn't always come from Blue Mango, but also from another pick up locations from all over Patong. Our driver was late for your pick up (7 mins) because he was held up by your hotel's security staff at the entrance, and he kindly explained this to you and apologised for the delay when he picked you up.

Among all the positive experiences of people, sometimes we get someone who try only one salad dish and do not have a great experience. We believe that we have much more on offer offer than just a salad to give our guests a great dining experience.

With regards to your wine comment we have to point out that you failed to mention the positive outcome - after you expressed your dislike with our white and red wine by the glass, you were offered a glass of Rose Zinfandel Sycamore Lane, which is more expensive than the house wine but the Manager charged it at the same price as the house wine , as a sign of a goodwill.

Our location is a little way out of Patong, and there is some building work going around, but with the view of the forest and the strip of the sea directly from the dining room, it can hardly be classified as industrial estate location.

We understand that the food choices / decor / location of Blue Mango may not be to everyone tastes, but after the service you have received from it is a shame that you still found us disappointing.

We hope that despite your negative experience at Blue Mango you had an enjoyable rest of your holiday.

Best wishes
Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic Valentine's Day meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The restaurant is located in a small boutique hotel called the Absolute Twin Sands Resort and Spa, which is a few kilometers away from the craziness of Patong beach. The hotel is not on the water, but up a hill with a distant ocean view through some trees. (You may be able to request hotel pick-up when you make a reservation.) The restaurant has both inside and outside seating, and an open-air bar. There is an exposed kitchen where you can see the (European and Thai) chefs in action. Our food was outstanding--quality ingredients prepared with care--and the prices reasonable. We especially enjoyed an appetizer of handmade pumpkin tortelloni in a cheese fondue sauce. There is something on the menu for everyone, from carnivores to vegetarians. The Italian (by way of the UK) manager is eager to please. We couldn't have chosen a better restaurant near Patong at which to celebrate Valentine's Day. Our only complaint is that the taxi ride home cost 300 baht for less than 5 km. That's about triple the going rate in Bangkok. But, in the grand scheme of things, it was a small price to pay for a very nice evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear GlobalGreys

thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our establishment with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our food and the whole experience of your Valentine's Dinner.
We are aware of the ridiculous tuk-tuk prices, unfortunately that's how it is here in Patong, and that is the reason why we offer our customers at least a free pick-up from their hotel if they request it.
Thanks again for your great comments and we hope you had an enjoyable stay in Phuket!

The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

After a week of average thai food, we finally consulted TA for a good restaurant in Patong. We made reservations, but were not offered a free ride. In fact, it took us a bit to find a reasonably priced toktok to take us to the hotel. The manager was Italian, which made my French boyfriend quite excited about the prospect of eating some authentic european food. We ordered a duck curry and a chicken curry, both of which were absolutely delicious. Complex flavors and just a hint of spice that wasn't too noisy. We then ordered carbonara and bolognese. The carbonara was authentically italian, no cream. Just pancetta, egg and parmesan. The bolognese was a bit salty, but still good. We washed all this down with a nice bottle of italian red wine. The wine was served chilled, and after making a slight comment about the temperature, the manager graciously decanted the bottle for us. Needless to say, the service was amazing, and the food exceeded our expectations.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Lajiaojiang

Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant based on TripAdvisor and we do apologise for not being offered a free pick up. We offer it to customers who reserve a table in advance - at least 12 hours - as it is logistically complicated to make last minute pick ups. But I am sure that if you have requested it we would not refused you this service.

We are very grateful for your detailed review and we make sure to pass your comments to our Thai and Italian chefs, they are always happy to hear that our customers love their cooking!

We hope you enjoyed your stay and that you will have a chance to visit during your next sty in Phuket.

Best wishes
Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

the service . clean , great meals ect: steak , wine , cold beer . staff very friendly and helpful in getting what you like if possible at nearly any time .

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear kimbo 060
Thank you for your feedback, we are always happy to hear that our customers enjoy the whole Blue Mango experience.
We hope that you will have a chance to visit again in the future.

Best wishes
Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mango Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mango Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.