We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and romantic Valentine's Day meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Mango Bar and Grill

The Blue Mango Bar and Grill
97 Mhuen Nguen Road,Tri Trang Beach | Twin Sands Resort, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 302 099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 404 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Please follow the directions on how to get to us on our website. Please tell your driver that we are next door (before) to the Merlin Beach Resort.Blue Mango Bar & Grill offers a quality Thai and Mediterranean dining experience in a quiet location away from hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. When giving directions to your driver, please mention we are located in the Twin Sands Resort, just before the Merlin Beach hotel. We provide courtesy pickup service for prior dinner reservations between 6pm and 9pm within the Patong area.Opening Hours: Monday - Sunday 7:30am - 10:30pmPlease check our Facebook page for regular event updates - search for Blue Mango Restaurant in Patong.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic Valentine's Day meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The restaurant is located in a small boutique hotel called the Absolute Twin Sands Resort and Spa, which is a few kilometers away from the craziness of Patong beach. The hotel is not on the water, but up a hill with a distant ocean view through some trees. (You may be able to request hotel pick-up when you make a reservation.) The restaurant has both inside and outside seating, and an open-air bar. There is an exposed kitchen where you can see the (European and Thai) chefs in action. Our food was outstanding--quality ingredients prepared with care--and the prices reasonable. We especially enjoyed an appetizer of handmade pumpkin tortelloni in a cheese fondue sauce. There is something on the menu for everyone, from carnivores to vegetarians. The Italian (by way of the UK) manager is eager to please. We couldn't have chosen a better restaurant near Patong at which to celebrate Valentine's Day. Our only complaint is that the taxi ride home cost 300 baht for less than 5 km. That's about triple the going rate in Bangkok. But, in the grand scheme of things, it was a small price to pay for a very nice evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear GlobalGreys

thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our establishment with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our food and the whole experience of your Valentine's Dinner.
We are aware of the ridiculous tuk-tuk prices, unfortunately that's how it is here in Patong, and that is the reason why we offer our customers at least a free pick-up from their hotel if they request it.
Thanks again for your great comments and we hope you had an enjoyable stay in Phuket!

The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    60
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

After a week of average thai food, we finally consulted TA for a good restaurant in Patong. We made reservations, but were not offered a free ride. In fact, it took us a bit to find a reasonably priced toktok to take us to the hotel. The manager was Italian, which made my French boyfriend quite excited about the prospect of eating some authentic european food. We ordered a duck curry and a chicken curry, both of which were absolutely delicious. Complex flavors and just a hint of spice that wasn't too noisy. We then ordered carbonara and bolognese. The carbonara was authentically italian, no cream. Just pancetta, egg and parmesan. The bolognese was a bit salty, but still good. We washed all this down with a nice bottle of italian red wine. The wine was served chilled, and after making a slight comment about the temperature, the manager graciously decanted the bottle for us. Needless to say, the service was amazing, and the food exceeded our expectations.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Lajiaojiang

Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant based on TripAdvisor and we do apologise for not being offered a free pick up. We offer it to customers who reserve a table in advance - at least 12 hours - as it is logistically complicated to make last minute pick ups. But I am sure that if you have requested it we would not refused you this service.

We are very grateful for your detailed review and we make sure to pass your comments to our Thai and Italian chefs, they are always happy to hear that our customers love their cooking!

We hope you enjoyed your stay and that you will have a chance to visit during your next sty in Phuket.

Best wishes
Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

the service . clean , great meals ect: steak , wine , cold beer . staff very friendly and helpful in getting what you like if possible at nearly any time .

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear kimbo 060
Thank you for your feedback, we are always happy to hear that our customers enjoy the whole Blue Mango experience.
We hope that you will have a chance to visit again in the future.

Best wishes
Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Looking for something a little better than we'd had at our hotel, we found this place on TA, just a few minutes from our hotel and offering free lifts for reservations....enough said.

Modern restaurant within newish resort. Modern decor with subdued lighting and pleasant jazz muzak in the background. Only another 2/3 couples there when we went, so it lacked a bit of atmosphere. Serving staff were smart, friendly and efficient.

Good choices on menu from Italian to Thai and other international fayre.

We had duck and lamb for the main courses and both were well-presented, hot and tasty. Wine was available by the glass and reasonable.

Full cost of £60 was okay and it seems to be a place where you'd be very unlucky to be let down.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to the Blue Mango was after a day of travelling and we were very tired. The staff where helpful and prepared a nice meal. This was followed with a few other meals all to a high standard. We will be returning next year and are looking forward to the great meals and fantastic staff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear aussietravellerruby

thank you very much for your feedback, we are very happy to hear that our staff made your comfortable after your travels and that you have enjoyed all the meals you had at the Blue Mango.
We are grateful for your support during your stay in Patong and are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Phuket.

Best wishes
Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mango Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mango Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.