We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in Patong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Mango Bar and Grill

The Blue Mango Bar and Grill
97 Mhuen Nguen Road,Tri Trang Beach | Twin Sands Resort, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 302 099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 404 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Please follow the directions on how to get to us on our website. Please tell your driver that we are next door (before) to the Merlin Beach Resort.Blue Mango Bar & Grill offers a quality Thai and Mediterranean dining experience in a quiet location away from hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. When giving directions to your driver, please mention we are located in the Twin Sands Resort, just before the Merlin Beach hotel. We provide courtesy pickup service for prior dinner reservations between 6pm and 9pm within the Patong area.Opening Hours: Monday - Sunday 7:30am - 10:30pmPlease check our Facebook page for regular event updates - search for Blue Mango Restaurant in Patong.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in Patong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Although not in the center of Patong the Blue Mango Bar and Restaurant is one of the very best restaurants in the area. All the family agreed that the food was fantastic and it was served up by very nice helpful staff including a very knowledgeable restaurant manager. Altogether a great experience and I have already booked the Blue Mango for our Christmas lunch and will continue to eat there whenever possible. Thank you Blue Mango.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Alanrobo2013

We are very appreciative of your feedback, especially that you consider us being one of the best restaurants in the area - we indeed strive to be the best ! Our staff and manager were very pleased with your kind comments - we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    60
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Terrible experience ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The food was ok and the server was really polite and nice. The location is out of the way, and the hotel staff is exceptionally bad at customer service. Very rude staff considering you need to take a 10 minute cab up the hill to find this place. The restaurant was empty. They should probably be nicer to the few customers who go out of their way to visit them. Food was ok, server was very nice, but again, the hotel staff was very, very, rude. We were lucky that we were able to find a ride back to patong from here. I wouldn't want to be stuck with the hotel staff who would make you wait in the rain for a cab. Yes, they are that rude. Do not come here, you have been warned. Oh and by the way, this is not Mediterranean. Not sure why it's labeled as such.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Rastko S

thank you for your feedback, we do value every opinion, being it positive or negative.
From your comments it looks like you have had a fine experience in the Blue Mango , but the hotel's reception staff have spoiled the evening for you.
At this point we have to stress that the hotel is a separate company from the restaurant and as such it runs under a different management. Therefore the Blue Mango does not hold any responsibility towards the behaviour of the hotel's reception staff. If you would have liked to make your point with the Absolute Twin Sands, you could have written your comments on their TripAdvisor page.

Once again, we are pleased that you have liked Blue Mango even though we were quiet at this time of night (most of our customers are from the hotel and they would have retreated to their bedrooms by then) and we wholeheartedly apologise for the unprofessionalism and an unacceptable manners of the hotel staff.
We do hope that despite this incident, you had a pleasurable rest of your stay in Phuket.

The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Hidden Gem In Patong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The biggest and perhaps only problem this restaurant has is its location. It is housed inside a property development on the extended road leading from the south end of Patong, over some hills etc etc. Unless you have your own ride or are willing to run the gauntlet of Patong's infamous tuk-tuk mafia, it is not an easy place to get to.

If you do make effort though, expect a well run lace with excellent, thought out and superbly prepared and presented Mediterranean (read: mostly Italian) cuisine. The open kitchen shows a clean environment with two (!!) Italian chefs, one senior Thai chef and several sous chefs and kitchen helpers. Menu selection is full of good ideas, and the overall food is best described as "Classic Italian with light ingredients and modern presentation". Pastas are mostly home made, sauces are done a-la-minute and the wine list is complete and won't break the bank.

This is a place not only for special occasions, but for a regular visit with family, friends and those new in town and having had enough of Thai food. Extremely recommended and definitely one of the top three Western restaurants in Patong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear R S

thank you very much for coming to dine with us and for taking time to write a review. How delighted we are to hear that you consider us to be a hidden gem and one of the top 3 western restaurants in Patong! Thanks a lot for your beautiful pictures as well, and we are looking forward to your next visit.

All the best

The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spisska Nova Ves, Slovakia
1 review
“What a great night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have visited Blue Mango (located a short way away from hustle and bustle of Patong near Tri Trang Beach) with my family back in October. Service was very friendly and efficient, manager Claudio is very helpful and recommended us some great food. I had the best pork cheeks ever! The cocktails were great too, Thanks for a super night. Will recommend this place to everyone who will go to Phuket for holiday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear turista1572
Thank you for dining with us and for writing your review. We are delighted that you loved your pork cheeks and that you had a great night. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best wishses
The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spišská Nová Ves
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were on a two-week holiday in Patong at the end of October. On recommendation we spent our last night in BLUE MANGO Bar and Grill. Manager Claudio greeted us warmly and sat us on the terrace. We ordered a variety of cocktails, which were prepared by a lovely barman Honny. I ordered a Pina Colada which was served in a young coconut with fresh coconut water and flesh. It was great. I have to admit that I tasted the drinks of the others and all were fantastic. For dinner we all had different dishes so that we could all pick and taste. As a starter I had a duck and beetroot salad and as a main course I ordered risotto with chorizo, both were very tasty. My husband and friends loved their food too. Thanks to a great atmosphere and friendly and service at the Blue Mango, our last night in Thailand was a very memorable one indeed. Highly recommended, we will be back next year! Thank you!
Marcela, Maros and Danica from Slovakia

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Marcela M

thank you very much for visiting Blue Mango based on the recommendations and we are very pleased that you have not been disappointed. We have passed your positive comments to our bartended and the chefs, thanks again and we are looking forward to your visit next year!

All the best
The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mango Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mango Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.