We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel of resort was Cold and unfriendly. No-one including guests seemed happy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Mueang Ngoen Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Feel of resort was Cold and unfriendly. No-one including guests seemed happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Twin Sands Resort was a disappointment. The rooms were excellent 5 star, however the level of customer service and feel of the place was cold and unfriendly.

From the moment we checked in, the feeling was awkward and cold. We stayed a week and thought/hoped it would improve. But other than a very nice male waiter smiling in the restaurant at lunch and a nice male porter who helped us with bags, all the other staff we met were either cold or downright unhappy. The level of English spoken by staff was quite basic which may have contributed to the cold feeling. In the week we were there the pool bar was out of order for no apparent reason. If one wanted a drink, one had to get out of the pool, walk all the way around to the bar near the restaurant and through the air conditioned check in foyer.

TIP: If the pool bar is not operating or out of order indefinitely perhaps it would be good to have a waiter/waitress stationed at the pool bar to go get the drinks from the other bar.

But by far the worst thing was the attitude of some of the Absolute Sales staff who were showing potential time share investors through the place. Not once in the many, many times they walked past us at the pool or stood over us whilst eating lunch in the restaurant admiring the view, or stood waiting for the shuttle bus, did they smile, say hi or excuse themselves for interrupting. Nor did they ever offer us a ride to town in their Absolute cars with vacant seats returning to Patong. That only increased our feelings of coldness (despite the oppressive humidity) of the resort.

The other major draw back was the location of the Absolute Twin Sands resort, high up on a steep hill about 4.5km hard walk from Patong beach. The resort had a shuttle bus which was totally inadequate and the times it ran conveniently ensured you were at the resort during Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Basically no buses to Patong until after 10am, none during lunch and none for the 3hour period during dinner.

After our check in experience, my wife went into the spa and gym area to have a look. When she said hello to the girl at the desk she was given a grunt and a disinterested look as a greeting. Cold, bordering on freezing! Obviously she didn't use the services of the ispa after that.

We ate lunch at the Blue Mango Restaurant early in the week and the male waiter was very smiley and attentive to our needs. However, the (Caucasian) restaurant manager/supervisor, was required by the waiter to help with a cash register issue. No worries, except that he totally ignored us and was basically cold/grumpy and completely unfriendly despite me saying hello to him. He did not even acknowledge us with a nod or even a smile. Not good enough buddy I hope you read this review.
We were so offended, we decided not to bother eating at the restaurant again for the rest of the week. Sadly we had read some trip advisor reviews of the restaurant saying how great it was and were excited to try it.

However, we quickly found another nearby resort restaurant (Merlin Beach) where the staff were happy to see us and treated us like kings and queens during dinner every night. Even serenading (Spanish/Mexican style) us on the last night for about 20 minutes with a great guitar duo. Merlin also had a band playing music every night in the bar until 11pm. We met friendly and happy guests. I know where we'll stay next time!

The nicest person we found at the Twin Sands resort was the resident cab driver, Peter Chai. He was very nice and helpful. Due to the lack of transport we used his cab into town daily. Due to his friendly personality, later in the week we decided to get him to give us a tour around Phuket Island. He was very informative and a great tour guide. Thank you.

The resort was very noisy during the day with lots of building work being carried out and heavy machinery making noise most of the day. There were also a bunch of dogs floating around the gate of the resort that were quite hostile and tried to bail us up everytime we walked outside the resort.

Another disappointing thing was the amount of rubbish we saw lying around outside the resort surrounds. It could have been a pretty place but everywhere there was rubbish either dumped in large quantities or just thrown and strewn just outside the bounds of the resort or along the footpath on the long walk to the resort.

I spoke with another guest at the resort and he was of a similar opinion that the staff were poor in English, unhappy and a bit cold.

TIP: Smiles are free and give guests the feeling they are wanted and valued. Maybe some training in effective customer service communocation strategies could help.

Room Tip: Room was excellent. 5 star. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I'm sorry that the standard of customer service was not up to the standard you would have expected. Please note that the room you booked online is independently owned and as such not part of the hotel inventory. We only provide the room key, any additional service will be provided only on request.
In respect of your comments regarding the pool bar we have made this request several times to the Blue Mango restaurant, which together with the iSpa are independently owned and run.
The shuttle bus offers transportation to Patong Beach (Absolute SeaPearl), Bangla Road (Absolute Bangla Suites), Jungceylon and Nakalay Beach Resort. This service is free of charge as per advertised schedule. Guests always have the choice of calling a taxi, which our reception is happy to assist 24 hrs a day.
We are always trying to assist our resort staff with English speaking skills and whilst all have a basic understanding many have now moved to an advanced level and continue to receive training in both this area and general customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    47
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were staying at the Sea Pearl and went to the Blue Mango at Twin Sands for supper one evening. Awesome place and wonderful service. We had a young hostess/waitress who was absolutely awesome. Really had a good time. We can't remember her name (wore braces), but thank you young lady. I would go back. Food also fab!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words which I will happily pass on to our team at the Blue Mango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just returned from Phuket at Twin Sands resort and I must say it was wonderful. Located tantalising close to the madness of Patong but far enough away to offer blissful and peaceful sanitary.

Across the road you are at Tri Trang Beach, the best beach in Phuket. The resort itself offers beautiful apartments which are so much better than hotel rooms. Tasteful decor, spacious balcony and all the beautiful pools and all the facilities you need.

The real treat was the Blue Mango restaurant. My husband and I are vegetarians so we are used to being under catered for and approach 5 star restaurants with trepidation. We were delighted this was not the case with Blur Mango. Quite the contrary. The fantastic chef taylor made dishes off the menu to our vegetarian requirements. The food and service was nothing short of sensational and we ended up choosing to eat there most nights. Thoroughly recommend the saffron leak and potato soup and the mozzarella salad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words which I shall pass on to our team and to the wonderful Blue Mango. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our resort in the very near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this resort with my partner only for two nights but would of loved to stay a lot longer, the swimming pool is amazing and the rooms are 5 star have everything you need for a very comfortable stay, has a free shuttle service to patong and there are many quiet lovely beaches nearby,on both nights and mornings we used the restaurant which was excellent also would like to thank the general manager Stefan for being very helpful

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words which I shall also pass on to Stefan. Hopefully next time around you will be able to spend a bit longer with us so we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great improvement from Absolute Sea Pearl! Beautiful swimming pool. The hotel is still very new and well kept. The room was big and comfortable with a great view from the balcony. Friendly staff. Unfortunately the reception staff has difficulty in communicating in English.
Sales people visiting with prospective new Absolute members are a bit of a bother when you are lying around the pool but the overall experience was fine.
The fitness centre is brand new but really small. The massage we had at the spa was great!
Blue Mango restaurant at this hotel is really a treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks you for posting a review about our latest resort, So glad you enjoyed the pool it's our centrepiece and of course we will forward your comments to the team at The Blue Mango who are doing some sterling work in building a great reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

When we arrived at the Twin Sands Resort we were very disappointed to see that there is construction going on at one side of the resort & a barren, dirty worksite on the other. The view out the front is over another soon to be developed site which is far from beautiful (see photos). It's disappointing to travel all the way from Australia to visit a place that is surrounded by mess.
The actual accommodation is nice & contemporary, but as it is so new, the swim up bar is not complete. You have to walk through reception in your wet bathers to try & find a staff member to order a drink. The staff try to be helpful but really struggle as their english is poor. As stage 2 & 3 are yet to start construction, I would give the resort a minimum of 2 -3 years before visiting. The resort has the potential to be lovely when finished but at the moment you are constantly being interrupted by endless groups of tourists being shown around as prospective purchasers. Very annoying when your relaxing by the pool.
The location of the resort is good as it's out of the madness of Patong, but I think you can find a lot nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We try and make as little impact as possible on our existing guests as possible during the building phase of stage 2 of our development so our apologies that your stay was affected by this. The pool bar is run independently and we have requested several times that their is an inconvenience factor if it is not open and guests have to walk through the reception area. All our staff are now undergoing language classes and we aim to constantly improve the communications throughout our resorts as required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After a week spent there in family, i am comparing the other reviews and feel exactly the same...
This is a really cool boutique Hotel, with lovely staff, new,clean, with vast rooms, the fitness is brand new, the Spa is top and the restaurant - Blue Mango Bar&Grill has super fresh and tasty food worth a visit.
The shuttle service is not really efficient and must be improved. Not the driver or the mini bus, but the frequency of it, as the hotel is a bit away from Patong center and all the shoping action.
You can argue that you can always take a cab, but strangely a short ride in a tuk-tuk over there is more pricy than a 15km ride in central HK !
Anyway, single, couple or family i recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, General Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are looking into making improvements to the shuttle service and take your views on board. But we are glad you found everything else to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back to Phuket should you decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 97 Mueang Ngoen Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#25 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#34 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa is a stunning resort with panoramic ocean views, contemporary apartments and five-star service, all in a spectacular peninsula setting on the tropical island of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.