We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hostel experience so far” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kool Backpacker Hostel

Save Saved
You added Kool Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kool Backpacker Hostel
31 Bangla Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 120 Specialty lodging in Patong
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worst hostel experience so far”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been travelling for some time and while this hostel is very central and clean, it was my worst experience so far. Very noisy all night with little hope of sleep, fine if you want to go out but horrible if you need sleep or need to be up in the morning. Very old bunk beds that were noisy and not comfortable.Rubbish WiFi especially in the rooms. Not very welcoming communal area. Under construction it seemed and very hard to find from the street. Some staff were occasionally helpful but others were rude and dismissive. Not up to the standards of other hostel experiences. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

One of the best hostels I ever lived in. The staff is amazing, prefect location and the rooms and bathroom is perfectly clean. Recommend everyone to stay at this hostel.

Love everyone in the staff/ Survived to Sweden this time ;) DENNIS THE VIKING

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Kool is just the best..
the receptionists were really friendly and helpful with everything including the tickets and tours (reminding that the transportation in the island is pretty hard)
the bedrooms were good even though the lower bed on the bunk bed are really short
the bathrooms were clean and nice
there were lockers but u have to use your own padlocks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hostel is basically fine. But receipt dest lady is HORRIBLE and UNFRIENDLY. We just asked to print a piece of paper, then she told us the printer was broken. But we saw it work in a minute when she did the checkin of another guest. And asked for the help again, she said NO and suggested us to print it at internet cafe which is quite far. We kept asking her sincerely and told her we would pay. Finally she accepted and said no need to pay. But asked for the money from us when we finished. 20B one piece! It doesn't matter, but we thought she cheated us! [--]!

And the location is good. But it's quite hard to find. We asked over 3 local people for finding this hostel. And it's unsuccessful cause they didn't know where it is. The room is clean and simple. I think they should update their blankets as the thicker ones. The bathrooms are super clean and the cleaners are really friendly. Cause it's in the bar street. In nighttime it's a little noisy and seems there are some young guys have the parties very nights. So... if you really want to have a good sleep, it's not the nice place to choose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked Kool Backers via Hostel world for a few nights whilst visiting Phuket. This was my first experience of a hostel and can safely say I would without a doubt return. Not only were the rates cheap but the people who run this are lovely and will accommodate you in any way they can. There was 5 of us on check in and we were unable to all be in one dorm however the second night they moved us all into the same dorm, Everyone is friendly, as there was 5 of us we didn't mix much however if you were travelling solo it seems the ideal place to make friends from all over the world. The rooms are spotless, freshly painted and all come with a quote on the wall on each room. There is an area in reception with a large table, a fridge to buy drinks, a plasma tv and chairs and leather sofas for those looking for a bit chill time. The only negative thing I found was in the second dorm in the front corridor it was noisy as this is located bang central in the middle of Bangla Road and directly opposite the immense Tiger bar so if your sleep is precious maybe note this at the time you book.
The showers / toilets and bathrooms were always clean and spotless. Showers are individual curtained cubicles and toilet paper is provided (not always there but not often it wasn't). There are also lockers provided but you do require your own padlock. Over all a fantastic hostel and would highly recommend as location is fantastic as is the service!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if sleep is essential :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hostel is spot on if you want to enjoy phuket nightlife. Its on Bangla street where you can expect all sorts of things happening till the sun rises. The rooms were great (we stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm) and the corridor had plenty of place to sit and relax. The restrooms were also very clean! The hosts are great; They helped us in finding the tours, directions. I strongly recommend this place if you don't mind the rush outside the hostel. Inside it is very quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was so lucky to have found the place just walking by on Bangla Road. The rooms were very very clean as were the bathrooms and showers. The price was very reasonable considering it had air conditioning. Also the host, Bee was really nice. Will definitely be heading back there next time I come to Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kool Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kool Backpacker Hostel

Address: 31 Bangla Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 Specialty lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the middle of bangla night life road just second to walk to patong beach frontcentre of all entertainment in patong beach the best location of Within the Kool backpacker hostel you will find yourself at the heart of the action of PatongÂ’s most vibrant street Soi Bangla, yet just two minutes from the beach. Inside, we've captured the electrifying with modern and exciting finishings, quirky lighting design and music systems. Up on the roof sits Climax, one of PhuketÂ’s most ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Kool Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Backpacker Hostel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kool Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.