We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Artist House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Artist House to your Saves list
The Artist House
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   86/36 Prabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 39 Reviews
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one and a half week just after opening in January 2013. The overall standard is very good, especially since they just opened. The room were clean and delicate. The staff were very friendly and they were doing their best to give us a good experience.

We were told that Patong beach were located 10 minutes from the hotel, but we spent almost 30 minutes walking to the beach. But it is easy to take a tuk-tuk or a scooter (about 100 bath). Even though the hotel was placed outside the city center, it was easy to get around and you were able to avoid the loud volume from the party areas.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a new hotel with very clean and comfort room to stay on. The best is their friendly and helpful service and hospitality. The price is worth of the room and same as shown in the blog. Clean and comfort. The room is spacious.

This hotel is good to stay to, but the location wise is not so favorable as its take 15 to 20 minute walk to Patong beach and surrounding have not much to see, but you can hire a motorcycle to travel around (this can be hired at the front desk).

This Hotel does not have lift, you have to climb the stair up to your room. If you bringing big luggage, the hotel staff will help you to bring up-stair.

Really worth for the price i pay.

Room Tip: Pre-inform them to locate you to lower floor room. This hotel have 5 floor (2 room per floor, ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel, and I think I am pretty picky. I got a great rate (under $45/night) and for that price I was really, really impressed. No, it is not a five star resort, but it is clean, the AC is great, its in a nice location, and the people who run it are SO nice. I would say it is more like a $200/night place (atleast by NA standards).

The building is new, so everything feels fresh and clean. The AC is great, it takes under 10 minutes to cool the whole room down. The bathroom is great, pretty basic, but it has everything you would ever need. The location is fine, about a ten minute walk to the main Patong beach strip and there are lots of spots to eat on the way. The ladies at the front are super sweet and are over-the-top helpful. If you want to do a day trip or get a cab, they will help you out in a second. They set me up with a day trip to Koh Phi Phi for 1300 baht. It was almost half the price of what others on the same tour paid.

Two things to note.. There is some construction going on near the hotel so if you want to spend a bunch of time in your room during the day it might not be the best (as I recall the noise started about 8am).. Also, there are no amenities (no pool/gym), so this hotel is awesome if you just want a nice, comfortable place to sleep, but you are going to explore the beach/city during the day. If you don't like to go to far from your hotel, then the Artist House might not be for you, stay in a resort.

Could not have been happier with my choice to stay here. I hope they can maintain this level of service. It was top notch.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor. Loved it. Quiet room with a cool view of Patong city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

slightly hidden and relatively new hotel. took the taxi driver awhile before we manage to find it. no lift and other hotel facilities such as gym and swimming pool. however, their service is really good. took good care of us. even provided us with a local phone for us to bring around in the event we are lost and needed help. quite near the beach and pubs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

To begin with, the artist house is a totally new ( opened just before new year) hotel just 7 min walk from patong beach.

This is no big hotel, and thats the good thing, you feel the personal service all day round. If you are stayin in phuket and just want a stilish near by centrum place and you are staying for some days I recommend to book artist house at the strongest.

The rooms are new, fresh and clean. The AC works perfect. Bathroom is good, shower and toilet works good. The beds are big and comfort. Extra points to the cleaning - they always put our stuff and clothes in a nice order.

The wifi works okay too. The only thing is that nearly no one knows about the hotel ( because its so new) , so I recommend to take the hotel "business card" always with you when you are coming home with taxi or tuktuk for example.

The thing I really loved is that the hotel also booked our flight to bangkok (day before departure) with a really cheap price that we couldnt find anywhere else. Feels like they will do everything to make your stay memorable and special.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Artist Hotel is quite possibly the last secret place in Patong. Set just far enough back from the bustling markets, beach and hectic disco bars that are overrun with tourists, on an unassuming street this hotel is nothing less than a breath of fresh air and a sanctuary for the creative. If you have a deep appreciation of good design, art and meeting wonderful local people then this is the hotel for you. A family run boutique place, its always filled with genuine, welcoming smiles. You feel at home and amongst friends when you return from a busy day of touring.
The gallery upon arrival is stunning and filled with work from local artists. The rooms are light, airy with a well considered style and all the mod cons you could need.
In a heartbeat I would recommend this hotel and the now friends I have made that run it. I look forward to returning in the future and I wish them all the success!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artist House

Address: 86/36 Prabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Artist House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artist House located on Prabaramee Road Patong Phuket Thailand, far away from Patong Beach around 900 meters and far from Junceylon Shopping Mall around 10 minutes. Our hotel have 5 floor and 8 rooms with local Art Gallery on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Artist House Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Artist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.