We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halfway Inn

Halfway Inn
210/16 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road | Soi Kepsap, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 85 253 3278
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Nan and Dave Wilson invite you to join us at the Halfway Inn, a family oriented Thai Restaurant and Sports Bar in Patong located approximately 500 metres south of the Bangla Road Entertainment Zone in the Soi Kepsap triangle, directly opposite Jang Resort. The restaurant and bar are fully air conditioned (there's a smoking area outside) with a very clear "No drugs" policy. For your entertainment we have 5 independent satellite TV's showing Live Sports (AFL, EPL, NBA, NFL, NHL, NRL, Super 15, etc) at the weekend (Thursday to Monday), dart board, perfectly level pool table, and a selection of bar games. Our English speaking staff will keep you and your family entertained with stories and games. There's a pool competition every day from 8pm, the more the merrier. Every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday there is an awesome "FREE" BBQ from sunset to 8pm - there's no catch, we only ask that you enjoy a few cold drinks to cover the cost. The fact that we are packed on BBQ nights is testament to the quality of our food, and the pleasant environment we have created for you to relax and enjoy your well deserved break. Our a la carte menu is prepared by very experienced Thai chef's. With over 100 dishes to choose from, you can have your meal prepared to your own level of spice tolerance. For the kids or less adventurous, we also have a selection of "Farang" food - Aussie meat pies, cheese and ham toasties, fried egg sandwiches (egg banjos), nuggets and fries, and fast food delivery from Mc D's, Burger King, Pizza Hut, KFC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Totally enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and food. They were very welcoming and in corporates both Thai and European foods.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    87
    21
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulon
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Such a family restaurant! Ideal for solo travellers, I was so happy with my experience that I ended up going to halfway inn pretty much every day! Amazing food: I highly recommend the chicken with cashew nuts, the crispy pork and prawns with ginger! So yum! They also organise free BBQ twice a week! Great atmosphere, perfect to meet people!
And lovely staff! The waitresses and Joy and the hosts dave and nan are very kind, friendly and caring : allergic to garlic and onion, I knew I was always safe with them!
Plus don't hesitate to take a cooking class with Nan, and take away a bit of her knowledge and skills!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Halfway Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
hi Audrey

thank you for giving us a very complimentary review, I will pass it on to all the staff at our weekly meeting.

We all appreciate being praised for the hard work we put in to ensure that everyone enjoys their experience here.

Best regards

Dave, Nan, Joy and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Patong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After reading so many fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor we just had to visit the Halfway Inn on our holiday to Phuket. We were not disappointed. Our group of 4 visited twice during our holiday and wouldn't hesitate to go back on every visit to Phuket!

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Joy and Min who made us feel welcome. It didn't take long for Dave to introduce himself, and Nan as soon as she was done cooking up a storm! By the end of the night we felt like old friends with all the staff and other customers. I'd suggest playing a few rounds of Killer Pool when you visit. It's a fantastic way to get to know everyone by name!

We had the free bbq on both of our visits. The food was a fantastic variety of Thai and Farang food that even the fussiest of people (my husband) loved. All that Dave and Nan ask is that you have a few drinks to cover the cost of the meal. This wasn't hard as the atmosphere makes you feel like you are at a backyard bbq with old friends, cheap drinks and great food. The only hard thing was dragging ourselves away at the end of the night.

When we returned for our second visit a week later the staff and holiday makers all still remembered our names (and drink orders!) and welcomed us like old friends.

I can't understand the negative reviews received, anyone that enjoys good company, great food, laughter and fun would love this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Halfway Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Backward (sorry couldn't resist that Bec!)

thanks for a fantastic review, clearly intended to redress the balance after we have received a few negative reviews recently, all it seems from opinionated young females (maybe they shouldn't have chosen Patong as their resort of choice when they could have had much more fun with all the Eastern Europeans in Karon and Kata!)

All the best from

Dave, Nan, Joy and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After reading all the mouth-watering reviews from trip advisor, i decided to visit this place. I had my very first meal in halfway inn once i arrived at Phuket. I was greeted by this amazing guy Joy, he warmly welcomes you the the restaurant and immediately makes you feel like home. The chef Nan was really good at cooking those amazing Thai dishes. I would even missed those dishes when i am back here in Singapore. I have tried so many Thai restaurants in Singapore but none can compare to the halfway inn restaurant in Patong. The food and drinks were reasonably priced. You will definitely enjoy your experience here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Halfway Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Charles

thanks for your review, Nan and I are very pleased that you enjoyed her excellent cooking and it's also good to know that the Halfway Inn compares very favourably with Thai restaurants in Singapore.

Thanks also for your lovely photos of the different dishes you had to eat.

Best Regards

Dave Wilson
Owner
Halfway Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordby, Norway, Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thaifood ever after MANY years in visiting Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Food very very tasty and good. Nan and the people in the kitchen VERY GOOD. The atmosphare and the people very friendly. A lot of dishes to choose from the menu. Best wishes from Norway

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Halfway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
thanks for your review Erik, it's nice to be appreciated by someone who knows how Thai food should taste.

Best Regards

from Dave, Nan and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halfway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.