We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit ! .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halfway Inn

Halfway Inn
210/16 Soi Kebsup, Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pi Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 85 253 3278
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 353 restaurants in Patong
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nan and Dave Wilson invite you to join us at the Halfway Inn, a family oriented Thai Restaurant and Sports Bar in Patong located approximately 500 metres south of the Bangla Road Entertainment Zone in the Soi Kepsap triangle, directly opposite Jang Resort. The restaurant and bar are fully air conditioned (there's a smoking area outside) with a very clear "No drugs" policy. For your entertainment we have 5 independent satellite TV's showing Live Sports (AFL, EPL, NBA, NFL, NHL, NRL, Super 15, Moto GP, V8's, F1, etc) at the weekend (Thursday to Monday), dart board, perfectly level pool table, and a selection of bar games. Our English speaking staff will keep you and your family entertained with stories and games. There's a 'Killer' pool competition every day from 8pm, the more the merrier. Every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday there is an awesome "FREE" BBQ from 7pm to 9pm - there's no catch, we only ask that you enjoy a couple of cold drinks to cover the cost. The fact that we are packed on BBQ nights is testament to the quality of our food, and the pleasant environment we have created for you to relax and enjoy your well deserved break. Our a la carte menu is prepared by very experienced Thai chef's. With over 100 dishes to choose from, you can have your meal prepared to your own level of spice tolerance. We also offer a "cooking class" option where you can join Nan, and find out why our Thai menu is arguably the best in Patong. For the kids or less adventurous, we also have a selection of "Farang" food - Aussie meat pies, cheese and ham toasties, fried egg sandwiches (egg banjos), nuggets and fries, and fast food delivery from Mc D's, Burger King, Pizza Hut, KFC.
Bolton, Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Must Visit ! .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nan & Dave are your Host's assisted by Joy and the Girls, Its a Sports Bar / Diner. Excellent food and Superb Barbecue which is Free to Drinkers, Tuesday / Thursday / Sunday. You arrive as a Guest and leave as a Friend. A crackin good meeting place with no hassle. All the International Sport and not forgetting Killer Pool. We were sorry to leave. Many Thanks Sharon & Steve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    184
    32
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best food i've had in Thailand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I and my wife were in patong for oneday and since i had read about this restaurant on tripadvisor, i was hell bent on trying it. After searching for it for more than half an hour, we finally found it. Thank God it lives upto its reputation! We had Chicken in Cashewnut and Prawn & Broccoli of which the latter was the most beautiful food i had in Thailand. Dave and Nan, the owners are the most friendly hosts you'd see, with warm welcomes and goodbyes appearing to be the order. Simply put, a fantastic sports bar/home food combo that work really well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Music too loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Dropped into the Halfway Inn for a light dinner. Food was fine. Service left a bit to be desired. Had to ask for a folk. Seating was restricted to bench seating or a couple of tables inside. The most annoying part of the experience was the loud rap music that was not to our taste.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Halfway Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lottie

thank you for your review

I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, thanks also for your comment regarding the loud Rap music because this is one type of music that I have instructed my staff NOT to play as I believe the lyrics to be disgusting and inflammatory.

Our 'DJ' (i.e. anyone who knows how to use a laptop) has been instructed to play music appropriate to the clientele, normally something like 80's classic rock.

The team have also been instructed to do a sound check on a regular basis to ensure that our customers can eat and talk in comfort and your comments were discussed at our weekly staff meeting.

hope to see you again soon and thanks again for your comment.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Phuket Surprise: Incredible Thai Cooking, Impeccable Service, Awesome Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stumbled upon this place back in May 2013 when I was in Phuket with a buddy. We met Dave and his wife Nan, and Nan made us the best Thai food I had in Thailand... incredible Tom Yam soup! Amazing curries. Great stir fry. Wow! And Dave was great telling us local secrets.. we hung out there at least a little while almost every day.

I came back to Phuket this trip in October and brought 3 friends to try Halfway Inn and we happened to be there during there insane promotion of free BBQ buffet...the buffet was actually pretty good and the sausages were great. That made it crowded but Nan ran out and gave me a big hug and still cooked up her great Thai Food for us.

It's such a surprise because it just looks like a small expat bar on an off street with an unassuming name, but the Thai food is AWESOME and I eat Thai food usually 2/3 meals per day when I am in Thailand and like to try many places... but I will always go back to Nan's cooking. You definitely don't want to miss this place!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to watch the world go by!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place has the best food I had in Patong and the welcome bar the staff is second to none. Dave and Nan will come and chat to you about anything and everything. The atmosphere is lively all day long and they have a BBQ every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday. Fantastic for the solo traveller.

Nan can also do cooking courses and I will be sure to come back to try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halfway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.