We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halfway Inn

Halfway Inn
210/16 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road | Soi Kepsap, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 85 253 3278
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 396 Restaurants in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 381 Reviews
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nan and Dave Wilson invite you to join us at the Halfway Inn, a family oriented Thai Restaurant and Sports Bar in Patong located approximately 500 metres south of the Bangla Road Entertainment Zone in the Soi Kepsap triangle, directly opposite Jang Resort. The restaurant and bar are fully air conditioned (there's a smoking area outside) with a very clear "No drugs" policy. For your entertainment we have 5 independent satellite TV's showing Live Sports (AFL, EPL, NBA, NFL, NHL, NRL, Super 15, Moto GP, V8's, F1, etc) at the weekend (Thursday to Monday), dart board, perfectly level pool table, and a selection of bar games. Our English speaking staff will keep you and your family entertained with stories and games. There's a 'Killer' pool competition every day from 8pm, the more the merrier. Every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday there is an awesome "FREE" BBQ from 6:30pm to 8pm - there's no catch, we only ask that you enjoy a couple of cold drinks to cover the cost. The fact that we are packed on BBQ nights is testament to the quality of our food, and the pleasant environment we have created for you to relax and enjoy your well deserved break. Our a la carte menu is prepared by very experienced Thai chef's. With over 100 dishes to choose from, you can have your meal prepared to your own level of spice tolerance. We also offer a "cooking class" option where you can join Nan, and find out why our Thai menu is arguably the best in Patong. For the kids or less adventurous, we also have a selection of "Farang" food - English Breakfast, Aussie meat pies, cheese and ham toasties, fried egg sandwiches (egg banjos), nuggets and fries, Nan's Fried Chicken (NFC), and fast food delivery from McD's, Burger King, Pizza Express, KFC.
Elverum, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I war there in november 2012. Had a great time there. Thanks John.The staff is friendly and very good. Some night they had free barbecue but u had to buy one beer ;).Ended with 5 to 7 beers.. I love to go back there any time and if u are in Patong this is the best place to start the night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    56
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing bar and very very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

nan and dave and the staff make you feel very welcome from start to finish.... weve had beautiful BBQ food ,sea food etc .. my husband plays pool and we are made to feel very relaxed either sit outside and enjoy the people watching or inside with air conditioning .. would come here every year thank you for making our holiday very special your a lovely couple and your staff are amazing x

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Repeat Offenders!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My friend and I have just spent 7 days in Phuket and our golden rule is never to eat somewhere more than once. We loe trying new and different things - and are crazy fans of Thai food whether in Thailand or at home! However we totally broke the rule when we discovered Halfway Inn. The food there is AMAZING! Three times in our last four days we managed to make our way there for a feed, and it was never anything less than fantastic. We booked our trips and airport transfers through these guys too and only wish we'd bumped into the Halfway Inn sooner. Thanks to all of the staff who made us feel so welcome and were so helpful in every way. First stop on returning to phuket will definitely be the Halfway Inn.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic time at Halfway Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were in Patong in November and happened to pass by the Halfway Inn one day while
looking around. Dave the owner saw us and as it was a Thursday invited us to a free bbq that night, all we had to do was pay for our drinks. After a long day we ventured there about 7pm and
the place was buzzing with people everywhere, lots of great food cooking on the bbq, people playing pool, all having a great time. We certainly enjoyed the bbq beautiful prawns, squid, sausages, potatoes and heaps of kebabs, just beautiful. You would not go hungry. Dave and Nan certainly made us feel welcome and we had a great night (think we finished up about midnight!) after plenty of food, drinks and pool playing. We were so impressed we wanted to come back the next night for dinner, so before we left we ordered a whole fish, which Nan bought from the local market that afternoon, and boy was it fantastic. Nan is an authentic Thai cook and her food is second to none. We also had curried prawns - fresh as anything. Their menu is extensive and the food is beautiful. We loved the place so much we dropped in for drinks on the next night after venturing out for the day and then our last night in Patong we again had a bbq and drinks with the crew. We had such a great time, got to know the friendly staff and meet some great people there. If you are in Patong please drop in and see Dave and Nan, you will not regret it. Good company, great food and great prices on the drinks. Make sure you have a game of pool while you are there.
Next time we are in Patong we will make this our first stop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On my last visit to Patong I visited the Halfway Inn on a number occassions and always felt extremely welcome by the staff and all the other customers which made for a very enjoyable time. Tuesdays and Thursday nights were BBQ nights and they always had a good range of food on which tasted great and if you didnt feel like the BBQ they had their Thai menu which was even better. Also they show the live sport from around the world when its on. Dave the owner of the Halfway Inn is always helpful and can give good advice on great places to go and stay around Patong and Phuket. I highly recommend to anyone visiting Patong to drop in to the Halfway Inn

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halfway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.