We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Senses Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Senses Resort to your Saves list
The Senses Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111/7 Nanai Road | Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When we arrived here we were excited as it was a new resort, at first we were shocked they wanted a $7000 baht deposit for our stay, the room was great if you like to watch tv that looks like its never been tuned in, the wireless internet is almost non existent and slooooow.. the concierge staff were excellent Jacob, Tony and Son you guys were great and helpful and spoke English!! and were lots of fun
The reception staff were not helpful and could not understand English which was a surprise for such an upmarket resort!! we had drinks at the splash bar were we were greeted by a Rat! yes a Rat!! but the staff didnt bother too much and laughed about it, as it ran past..
The buffet breakfast was average served cold coffee and the food was more aimed at asian cultures,
The resort is on the side of a hill and has a steep driveway and would be helped if they had a shuttle bus running up and down as it is a fair way from the bottom to the top.
when we went to check out we were told we would have to wait 2 weeks for our $7000 baht refund to be returned, mind you we were not told this when we arrived and we were upset ( lucky we did not need it to get home!!) and the reception staff were just too rude to mention.
we wont be back to this resort
Dissapointed is not the word

Room Tip: dont bother staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Tomancurrell, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!

We do utmost apologized for any inconvenience caused your side about your refund and we seriously investigated the issue that unintentionally made you disappointed about the refund. In the meantime we already inform the bank to release the verifying amount of your credit card as prompt as your departed and we do rechecked again with the bank to ensure that the process had been done. However, the bank of each country has the refund process time differently; therefore, it might take more time than usual in some case. Once again, please accept our kind apologies for this great inconvenience.
Moreover, regarding to the rat which seldom appear as the hotel locates in the hillside forestry location; breakfast is mostly set with the international buffet that someday it may be combined with the Asian culture as the hotel also prefer to present the Thai cuisine; steep slope to the lobby which have the stairs as the easy shortcut and this can be seen during your stay here; reception staff service will be better improved with the training, the speed of internet issue were discussed with the IT team in order to solve the problem promptly. However, normally the speed of internet is very good here but this might cause by some area or some very short period of time that have to specifically focus on. Our IT manager will further investigate the problem.
Thank you for Jacop,Tony and Son that make your holiday the most memorable here and our team welcome back you soon.

Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!
Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    128
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
59
216
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my partner went to Phuket for the first time in September 2013 and stayed at this resort. Couldn't have been happier of our choice, Staff were very helpful and nice, Rooms were very clean and spacious and the breakfast was delicious.
It is a litter bit further away from all the action in Phuket, but they do offer a free tuk tuk that runs every hour which made getting around a lot easier. As we stayed for my birthday, we had came back after a day of doing tours to a birthday cake saying happy birthday and my name with candles that they had organised without either of us saying anything which was a very nice gesture and as we had an early flight for checkout day so we had missed out on breakfast but they did give us a take away box with a bit of everything in there!
Overall, this is such a great place to stay - very inviting and we will defiantly be going back! :)

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pools have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Shani H, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!

It’s very nice to hear that you had the best experience with the room and staff service and you are happy to return to The Senses resort. Your birthday is very important to us and we are delighted that your surprising birthday party is memorable. Moreover, our chef always cares about you so they arrange the breakfast box for your early flight. Please come back to celebrate your birthday next year or any other special occasion, you will have the unforgettable experience again.

Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Upon an earlier arrival, 26 Sep, towels and refreshing drinks were served while the friendly staff checked if the room was ready. Staff informed us of the shuttle bus service from hotel to patong, to Jungceylon, Banzann Market etc.

Considering we were very particular on cleanliness, the Senses Resort superior City view was clean and well ready for stay. Amendities were great. Pool overlooked the city with gorgeous blue lightings at night.

Breakfast - a good spread. However, on the last day, 29th sep, I guess the food warmers were faulty and thus the food we had were barely lukewarm, except for the egg omlettes which was prepared on e spot.I do hope the hotel finds a proper solution if this were to happen again.

Staff - their english were understandable, service was great; from breakfast, to room services and one of the male staff went the extra mile to recognize us by names. He asked and told us our bus is here the moment we stepped into the lobby. Its amazing how a staff remembered despite the number of guests around.A lady staff, Oil, too assisted us with bike rental, and introducing of the various tours available.

29th sep, 12noon. As good as everything was, checking out was really a bad experience. At 12pm, there were 2 man in front of us checking out. Thus we waited right behind, seated however, for our turn. 5mins later, they were done, when we approached this female staff, her attitude was non-chalant. Thinking she might have not hear us, we repeated requesting to check-out. She asked us to hold on. There were no body else.

After about 10mins, another man came to check out and she served him instead of us. I went over to find out why were we not served first. She simply replied in an annoyed tone, "hold on, they checking your room" and rolled her eye. What was that? She did not say anything when checking out, and now she EXPECTED US TO KNOW that they were actually checking our room?! We were taken aback as everything went so smooth and pleasant until her.

Summing up, the 4days stay at The Senses Resort was wonderful and worth it. We'll be returning for another great stay next year. Definitely recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: City View rooms are 1 level below the lobby. Balcony was really private, unlike the Sea View where g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Jesstlz, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!
It’s very nice to hear that you had the best experience since arrival, your compliment on Superior city view room and pool as well as the staff excellence service with their guest recognition.
Our guest satisfaction is what we will always utmost care about. Our chef thanks for your comment on breakfast food especially egg omlettes and he will promptly improve it.
Moreover, we do apologized for check out annoying experience and reception staff service will be better improved with the service and communication training. Normally, the housekeeping have to check the room and minibar so our guests have to wait a few minutes while some guests who already contact the front desk to check the room while they have breakfast, then they have not to wait for checking the room when they return to the front desk again for paying the bill. In this unintentional case, we are sorry for the lack of explanation may cause this misunderstanding and we ensure that it will not happen again.
Once again, we are delighted that you are happy to return to The Senses resort and see you soon.
Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay once again in Patong,we chose the hotel after the good reviews..however.
When we checked in at the Reception for our pre paid room, the reception staff asked for a 1000 Bhts per night,this would have been 7,000 Bhts...as security.
They said we could pay with credit card and we would be refunded 2 weeks after checking out.
We did not not think this was acceptable,as we have stayed in many five star hotels and have normally just been asked for 2,000 Bhts on our credit card and is not charged at all,so no refund is necessary. The receipt is only kept as security and presented if there is a problem.
The Reception staff agreed to a 5,000 Bhts deposit paid in cash.

We also asked for the reception staff to phone a Thai mobile number for us as the travel agent wanted to know where the hotel was for a pick up,due to its location, before my husband could handover our mobile phone for her to use, she very quickly said we will have to charge you very abruptly...

The breakfast was manageable, tea was cold as was the bacon,sausage.we had to ask for cornflakes as they appeared to not have any.,only coco-pops and muesli.
However the room and the pool area was very nice and the pool and concierge staff were. very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear shanghailil, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!
We do utmost apologized for any inconvenience caused your side about your refund and we seriously investigated the issue with our front desk team who unintentionally made you disappointed about the refund of your money. While we already inform the bank to release the verifying amount of your credit card as prompt as your departed and we do rechecked again with the bank to ensure that the process had been done. However, the bank of each country has the refund process time differently; therefore, it might take more time than usual in some case. Once again, we are very sorry for the delay but we do not intend this to happen and please accept our kind apologies for this inconvenience.

In addition, about the telephone fee issue, it might occur due to our misunderstanding for the usage of the phone. While we were always happy to assist you to check with the agent for complimentary service but in case of the personal call, the hotel would apply and charge the telephone fee and usually informed the guest about the fee before.

On the other hand, we are very glad that our Pool and concierge staff can be of your great service and hope that we have the chance to serve you again with better service.

Rediscover an indulgent Oasis of Patong that is created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick getaway in August. It was a new resort but had great reviews so we thought we would give it a try. All I can say is it did not disappoint. Service was fantastic, staff were very courteous and welcoming. Our resident cocktail maker 'Yanat' was the most helpful with suggesting great things to do around Patong and Phuket. On our last night the staff prepared a private table with candles and a Thai traditional theme overlooking the city and beach with music and access to the deck just for us. They really did go above and beyond. Minor issue was paying a deposit upfront but not really a big deal. I was glad I had the money on me but I would like to have been told. Other than that, I got sick in the middle of the night and a hotel staff member woke up to take me to the hospital to get some tablets. They really treat you great and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I come back. We'll done to the staff at Senses Resort. A great job.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear ndvv, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!

We are thankful and very grad that you had the best unforgettable experience here with the outstanding service of 'Yanat' and the other Senses Team that arranged the special romantic private dinner and especially we cared about your health and well-being, sure to make you feel as home as if some of your family member could take care of you; took you to the hospital when you were sick. You will be pleased to find the coziness and memorable experience here again.

Thank you so much for your kind understanding on the deposit required as only guaranteeing for other expenses upon arrival as well.

Rediscover an indulgent Oasis of Patong that is created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I'd not stayed here but was visiting the resort cause of our company 'amazing race' contest.

The lobby was huge, had this majestic, nostalgic Thailand flavor, warm feeling when you step in.

Staff was extremely friendly, even offered us towel as it was pouring.

New resort (<1year) but already ranked 3rd with so many good reviews. Looks like it's definitely worth giving it a try the next time round!

You can't go wrong with so many reviewers posting good comments about this resort ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JLim83, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!
As inspired and motivated by your nice review, we are delighted to keep on our good feature both the resort facilities and service. In case our guests wish to stay here or spend the day time at our resort as same as you, we utmost welcome every guests, the resort can provide some relaxation and offering assistance to all traveler who come to Phuket. You are warmly invited to revisit or stay with us one more time.
Rediscover an indulgent Oasis of Patong that is created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night, upgraded to pool access room with very little fee. The pool and the view to the city from poolside terrace, esp. at sunset, are just fabulous and will make one reluctant to leave. Location is excellent, 10 mins walk to jungceylon and as the hotel is a bit up on the hill with eye catching lights on thru the night that ensure everyone will not lose your way when u r getting back to hotel in mid night. The room is very spacious and clean, staff very helpful and prompt and responsive to guests' needs. Snacks at poolside bar are yummy and not expensive at all. Will recommend to everyone who's coming to Phuket for fun, and a stylish hotel stay, esp for young couples!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Kathy Wong, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!

We are very happy that you enjoyed our pool access and we know that your preferred spot was at the pool overlooking the beautiful sunset where could be the perfect place for leisure especially the young couple, the fun lover as you describes. The palatable food and drink menu was offered with a wide selection is what you like and we never forget your favorite dishes and seat at the pool area. Not just we are concerned on your preference but also the best kinds of service that we attempt to deliver in order that you get the best experience with us. Our managing director and every staff are awaiting for your return visit soon. Have a save trip home!

Rediscover an indulgent Oasis of Patong that is created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Senses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senses Resort

Address: 111/7 Nanai Road | Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#8 Spa Hotel in Patong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#14 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Senses Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senses Resort offers a unique ambiance of relaxation, with supremely comfortable accommodation creating a haven of tranquility and wellbeing. With stunning views over the city and azure-blue Andaman Sea beyond, the welcoming resort is an ideal respite for romantic couples and families to unwind and be pampered, yet is only a short distance from the gorgeous tropical beach and colourful streets that Patong is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Senses Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Senses Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Senses Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.