We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money + genuine service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Senses Resort

Save Saved
You added The Senses Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Senses Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111/7 Nanai Road | Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 273 hotels in Patong
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money + genuine service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The resort was well appointed on a rear hill of Patong overlooking a panoramic view of the ocean and beautiful natural settings, and especially its cozy resort's pool. I stayed there for only one night escaping away from busy work life but confidently felt highly satisfied enough to provide a review. As soon as i arrived, a concierge guy called Tony ( i am not sure i remember his name right, if not, my apology), actively came to greet us even having not yet reached the lobby area. He facilitated our check in by not just leading the way to reception counter like most international hotel chain do. Even the check in was not quite smooth and quick as expected but i was not bothered to be in that hurry. Anyway, i did not feel at all that i was waiting because the guy was initiating the conversation with us showing his care about our stay. He recommended some places like the cape, viewpoint, busy street of Patong and its beach, etc. While we were waiting for room key, there were two public area attendants walking pass by. They immediately greeted us and nodded their head all the way they walked pass. Everyone was so nice and polite.

After being introduced to hotel facilities and escorted to the room, i was really stunned and impressed with a spaciousness, quality of room amenities and furniture, and some details that stand out from being standalone hotel. The air conditioner worked very well (just so to know its a/c function board including lighting control was located on the night table; do not look around the door, you would not find it. I did that before). The balcony was very large with a comfy daybed. Especially, the view was amazing.

At the resort, what i loved the most was a peaceful moment you could find where you end yourself at the pool bar terrace located just a floor above the reception. The wooden terrace was very wide equipped with sun loungers as comfortable as you ever wanted.

Restaurant service at breakfast was great; friendly, attentive, and responsive. Maybe there were not so many guests at a time i was having breakfast, but it was pleasant to see staff walking around trying to serve and clear plates. Initiating a day-opening conversation would have made the breakfast service experience perfect.


All in all, i was very satisfied with this resort, from its location (not close to the beach, but you got the view! By the way, the hotel offers a shuttle service down to the beach and town), genuine service especially from front desk team, very comfy bed, and a strong sense of value for money paid.

Room Tip: Be clear to ask which floor your room are and which floor you should press in the elevator, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort Phuket!

Thank you so much for your nice review and it’s very great to know how happy you are with the hotel and service. Our hotel tries to create an “uplifting tranquility” as the highlight of the hotel with a short distance from the colorful Patong Street. Your review motivates us that the hotel is creating the peaceful moment for our guest. Importantly, we know you enjoy your own private room, seated on balcony, surrounding area, where are nestled by the forested hillside and sea view over Patong city, decorated with the unique, modern- designed furniture, combined with the fine dining experience. One again, next time, we prefer to impress you more with this perfect moment in your holiday.

Anyway, kindly accept our kind apologizes and thanks for your comment about the difficulty of lift number, it’s still in the process of changing lift signage and we ensure that you will not face this difficulty for the next visit.

We attempt every possible way in order to add up to your unique and happy holiday experience! Have a safe trip home and welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    98
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
47
166
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for only 4 nights but my husband and I will definitely return to Patong and stay here for longer. The hotel is brand new and the furnishings are such a pleasure to be surrounded in. We loved the gorgeous pool and poolside bar. Service was excellent. Ontop of a hill so others may find this inconvenient but really, when all you do on holidays is laze around, shop and eat this is a welcome opportunity for some exercise!! Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort Phuket!

It’s so delighted to know that you enjoy your stay in our forested hillside resort and love our infinity pool and poolside bar overlooking the panoramic sea view of Patong city as well as our staff service and comfortable furnishing room.

A million thanks for your kindness in sharing your nice experience and we hope to welcome you back very soon in your private cocoon.

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Perfect hotel getaway for the weekend - loved the pool so much - staff friendly and attentive but maybe need a bit more practice because sometimes they were confused about our requests (I am Thai so no language barrier) - room was big and cool design - will go back next time in Phuket if price still good, hopefully soon

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort Phuket!

Most importantly, knowing that you enjoy our spacious designed room is a great motivation for us. Your feedback is very important as we strive to improve the best service to elevate our guest experience and of course for your next visit.

Kob Khun Ka, we wish you have a pleasant journey home and bring all good memory at The Senses with you. We hope to welcome you back in the near future with the best offering as much as we can!

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay in the deluxe room for 3 nights and we are very happy w this resort. Staff there is very friendly n attentive. The room is very spacious n clean w very comfortable bed. They have great swimming pool w good view. Therefore, we enjoyed our drinks very much at their pool bar. It takes about 10 to 15 mins to Jungceylon shopping centre bywalk. The hotel does provide free shuttle services to the shopping centre n patong beach hourly until 6pm. We love this hotel so much and cant wait to go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort Phuket!

Warmly and deeply thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and your nice review inspires and motivates our team in proceeding on the high standard of service and we know that youy love our spacious well-appointed room, pool, poolside bar and your favorite drink as well as shuttle bus to the shopping and beautiful Patong beach. We also can’t wait to prepare all everything you like in order to impress you more for your next visit.

We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived in Phuket by ferry from Phi Phi Island. This is a two hour trip, and there was some swell, which resulted in, shall we say, a large percentage of the passengers feeling really very poorly indeed! Let's just say that many of the little bags that were handed out were used, and one guy managed to miss it altogether!! So make sure you carry something that will avert your nasal passages, or stay up on deck (no shade available, so hat/sunscreen essential!).

We had e-mailed the Senses to arrange a transfer to the hotel, and this had been agreed. However, there was no-one at the jetty to meet us (confirmed by phone with the hotel) so we took a taxi, and in the interest of fairness I have to point out that this was 2/3 of the price quoted by the hotel. We had seen on other reviews that the hotel, being new, is not well known to cab drivers. so we had a printed off map and the number to hand, and got there no trouble after the driver called them.

|Having had a very disappointing hotel experience in Phi Phi, the Senses was absolute bliss! Set on a hill just outside Patong town, it's quiet with good views. The meet and greet staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, nor could our bell boy, or our housekeeper. We were upgraded to a 4th floor seaview room which was just lovely; big, light and airy, spotlessly clean, nice terrace, robes, slippers (flip flops) and everything else one would expect. A personalised letter of welcome is an example of how the staff have been 'service trained' to a high level.

The Senses is a few minutes walk from the Jongceylon centre, which is as good a place as any to call the Town Centre, however it's worth noting that the driveway to the hotel is pretty steep, so if you are not 100% mobile, it could be really quite difficult on the way back, walking. The hotel runs a shuttle service to Jongceylon and to the beach. The last trip outbound is at 6 pm and the last inbound at 6.20, and one is asked to book an hour in advance. When you're dropped off, you're asked what time you want to be picked up. This is one area that might benefit from a re-think, as 6 pm is a little early to stop, and it might be better to have a dedicated couple of drivers that run a regular service, so that guests know they'll be able to get a ride (space permitting), on the hour, with a pick up on the half hour or whatever. The taxi fare from Jongceylon to the hotel is 200 Baht (fixed price) which is currently around £4 sterling. Coming from Malaysia, this felt very expensive to us! More like London prices than we were expecting, but this isn't the hotel's fault!

Another reviewer has mentioned technical problems in the room; we did not mention it to the hotel, as it was no big deal to us, but our TV wasn't working particularly slickly - took us ages to get the movie we wanted, but we got there in the end. If this is a common problem, again it might be worth a full servicing check of the system, just to get it absolutely right.

The staff generally have clearly been trained in 'service with a smile' to the max. They are all beautifully groomed, always smiling, always ready to assist to the extent that they are able and really a really lovely group of people. They are perhaps a little inexperienced, and this is something that can be improved with further training. For example, whilst the standard of English spoken was generally better that we had encountered elsewhere in Thailand, it could be improved (when I called re the jetty transfer, the lady really couldn't understand what I was talking about, which got a wee bit frustrating). Another guest at the hotel had had a credit card stolen, and the best advice the lady on the desk could give was ''you must report it to the police''. Which is fine, but how? Where? And what about calling your bank? Overall, service was a little on the slow side - now I'm sure that this is a matter of getting things just right, but there could perhaps be a slightly better balance struck.

I hope that this will be considered as constructive comment, because we really liked the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it; it's just that as 'friends' we'd love to see the staff in a position to really fulfill all of their potential.

Generally: pool area lovely - any chance there could be some sunbeds outside the gym area rather than on the terrace behind the bar, so that there are a few more available in sunshine and right by the pool? Swim up pool bar well used and popular, (but PLEASE get another couple of music loops!). Didn't use the gym, but it seemed to be small and well equipped, with cold towels available - seemed to be quite well used. Must put in a good word for the lady dealing with excursions; couldn't have asked for more from her.

There is a gift shop, hidden away. Having failed miserably to find anything 'nice' to buy in Thailand thus far, I was really hoping to find something here. Unfortunately, the range of products was slightly odd and not wide ranging. Most items were not priced, and the lady in the shop was busy and not proactive. This is a good sized area that could have massive potential for the hotel; for a start, how about sunscreen, mozzie repellant, a good range of hats - just generally stuff that people need on holiday. Maybe some upmarket souvenirs/jewellery/carving - just something a bit different to the same old-same old that seems to be pretty much everywhere else.

Food: we ate one lunch at the pool bar and one dinner in the terrace part of the restaurant. Both very good, beautifully served, mozzie repellant (that smells ok!) freely available. Buffet breakfast; not bad, but if it's busy, don't wait for your eggs to be brought to you, as he who waits by the frying pan gets served quickest! Superb coffee!!!!!

This is a place where detail is clearly very important; it has been well though out, is very comfortable and the management obviously cares about customer experience. Give it a year, and some thoughtful follow up with customers, and this should be a top class hotel.

Would we go back if we found ourselves in Phuket again? Yes. Would we recommend it to others? My mum might struggle with that driveway (she likes to walk!), but otherwise, yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort Phuket!

Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience and recommending our hotel to other travellers. With your compliment on our fine dining cuisine and the other comment is beneficial for creating an uplifting our guest experience by focusing more on staff training as per your kind suggestion. Moreover, we do apologize for the technical problems in the room and our Select TV (Internet TV) with the latest brand new technology that we are improving its system. Besides, we feel very deeply thankful for your recommendation on finding a variety of product and more unique products in our retail shop.

One again, next time, we prefer to improve our service and facilities in order to impress you more and we attempt every possible way in order to add up to your unique and happy holiday experience! Have a safe trip home and welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We got into this hotel because of the groupon voucher promo. We checked its 4 stars and good review but when staying there for 3 nights we felt it is to terrible. Food is terrible. We stayed from Sunday to Wed so there are very few tourists around. And so the breakfast was prepared very low choice of food even thought we have to pay for 4 stars hotel price.

The location is so remote from the beach and the shuttle bus service ends at 6pm. If we want to go out we need to book with them on the interval of 1 hour. It's so inconvenient.

The staff was so rude that locked the hotel room on the last day because they need us to pay everything first for the extension of stay, even though before coming over there we have already informed the staff that we will extend to stay for one more day. Terrible service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort Phuket!

Your feedback is very important as we strive to improve our best guest experience and we ensure that we will improve it for your next visit. First of all, we have to say a million apologize for the ultimate inconvenience and we promise that it will never happen again. In fact, we attempted to investigate the trouble and the issue is the miscommunication of our staff. To rectify that, we should better communicate to all staff that you have extended your stay and therefore, we would never ever disturb you with such an annoying situation.

Moreover, your comment on complimentary shuttle bus schedule will be taken into discussion and consideration among our team as at the moment our bus is available hourly till 6 p.m. to the famous shopping center, Jungceylon and the Patong beach.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We're staying at this hotel right now and while I wait for my TV and phone to be fixed I figured I would write a quick review.

Pro's:
- hotel is new and I mean really new - we may be the first people to check in to this room
- nicely appointed rooms, comfortable beds, great pillows
- beautiful pool
- decent food and at very reasonable prices, including room service prices (coming from North America hotels where you pay $15-25 for a lunch item)
- staff are always smiling and do try hard

Cons
- hotel has technical quirks to work out

- TV has streaming music which stops working quite often, best to leave it off

- phone wasn't working - they finally fixed it and it isnt really a big deal but it took tech support to come to the room and it interrupts the day especially when you have limited time and want to just get on with it

- My wife and I went to the restaurant twice for lunch and were the only ones there, the food still took about 40 minutes to come to our table (a sandwich, and a thai dish with steamed rice) not a big deal, but the service can be quite slow for a simple lunch

- I asked concierge to arrange a taxi so I can go to the local store, shop for 15 minutes, and come back to the resort - I am willing to pay for this service, but they insist that I take the free shuttle and the driver can wait for me. How nice! I agree and off we go. As my wife and I come out of the store both hands full of bags the shuttle drives away and leaves us standing in the rain. This place isnt like Bangkok or Pattaya with a taxi going by every 5 seconds (in my limited experience) so we waited in the rain for about 5 or 10 minutes and finally flagged one down. Upon my return the shuttle driver said "sorry, they call and ask me to come back". Well, what about the customer you just left standing in the rain? The one you said you would wait for? Unacceptable to me.

- This hotel charges for ice. This is the first time I've paid for ice in a hotel in 20 years of traveling the globe

- Upon our return from the store with fresh fruit, I called the front desk and asked for a knife to be brought to our room so I could cut some fresh fruit. "Sorry, we dont bring customers knife" is what I was told. Since they brought me a knife the night before with room service I was confused. I told her that I was given a knife last night with my room service order and asked why not? She then asked me what I wanted to order from room service. I'd like to order a knife please

- Why I need to negotiate on the phone with reception for a knife at a "4 star hotel" is beyond me

- Check-in. I booked on hotels.com but it was not showing in their system. It was 11:30 at night when we arrived tired and wanted to get to our room as fast as possible. She asked if I could show her the email confirmation, i opened my laptop and showed her the email from hotels.com and the confirmation number. But giving her the number wasn't enough, I had to go to the business center at near midnight and print this off for them. I asked if I could have it printed the next morning as it was late (and clearly I had paid for my hotel room) but they insisted I go to the business center, log into my email and print it. I would never do this to a customer or I would have no customers!

Summary
nice place but the little quirks really turned us off staying here in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent visit in our resort and we do sincerely apologize any inconveniences caused you. We are grateful to know how you have experienced here and your valuable comment will be very beneficial for improving our service. We are attempting to increase the hotel service and efficient communication among our associates and our guests. Once again, we’re very appreciative of your comment in order to be the best of your service for the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Senses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senses Resort

Address: 111/7 Nanai Road | Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#18 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Senses Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senses Resort offers a unique ambiance of relaxation, with supremely comfortable accommodation creating a haven of tranquility and wellbeing. With stunning views over the city and azure-blue Andaman Sea beyond, the welcoming resort is an ideal respite for romantic couples and families to unwind and be pampered, yet is only a short distance from the gorgeous tropical beach and colourful streets that Patong is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Senses Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Senses Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Senses Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.