We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever again - we were robbed!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Marq

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Marq to your Saves list
The Marq
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never ever again - we were robbed!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We discover our last day in this hotel that almost 2000 US dollars had been taken from our safe. As soon as, we had discovered that our money had been taken we immediately complained at reception and requested to speak to the manager as we were obviously annoyed about our stolen money. We were told that we could not see the manager, have a refund to stay anywhere else or even an apology - nobody cared about the money that was stolen from our room. We knew very well that maintainence had been in our room. We were also aware that there is a key for workers to get into our safe without knowing the code. We could not believe that nothing was done, no apology and no refund. The receptionist even laughed at us at one point when telling her about our stolen money - it was disgusting!!
My advice - stay away from this hotel, it will ruin your holiday!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    33
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
34
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My stay in the Marq was really good! Rooms are clean, beds are good, same as the facilities. The staff is really friendly aswell. We could extend our stay for a day till our flight would go, even when they planned to close the whole hotel to do maintenance. Really helpful and kind people. Location was also perfect for me. It's just outside the crowded city centre, but you can walk there in less than 10 minutes.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

At the beginning the hotel seemed to be adequate in comparison with it's price. But after our room safes were robbed (two different rooms) the attitude of the personnel was horrible. No help at all for someone who have just lost all the money in their hotel using their security safe! Cannot recommend based on safety and services expirience....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Marq, Owner at The Marq, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
When providing information one should not leave out major details that change the story.
1. We never called the police. Because of our (my staff and ) involvement in the local community (ie volunteer firefighters, volunteer paramedic etc) my staff an I have know many local emergency personnel. We called directly to one of Phuket top law officials. What would be the equivalent of the FBI.
2. Did you not notice everyone who was dispatched to the hotel was plain cloths (under cover) vs the people you spoke to in the police station in uniform.
3. This also would explain why when you felt the security cameras were not downloading quicly enough and called the tourist police they did nothing. Once you said you had been to the police station, they called to verify details and found out you were being handled by a department way above them.
4. We did nothing to help? In addition to my staff calling the FBI something very few hotels could do. We provided you with our personal motor bikes to go the police station to fill out the necessary paper work
5. Neither one of you could provide any evidence that you had made a withdraw of money in the amount you claimed was in the safe.
6. We provided you footage of select video cameras. The FBI had access to all cameras and could identify where all staff was during the time the cameras went out. Due to interference they go out sometimes. (They are Internet cameras so a guest downloading a movie can knock one camera off.)
7. You personally saw that anytime any staff was in your room the door was left open leaving little opportunity for any misdoing on their part.
8. After the law officials used video software to aid in their investigation they could identify that none of the staff were ever in the room with the door closed. They also saw all the cameras and the time frame. When camera 11 went down all staff were accounted for in other parts of the building. Every floor has multiple cameras. It's impossible to go from one floor to the next without being detected.
9. The FBI told you they could not call her in because of their findings. They did provide you an opportunity for them to call her in on your behalf. But you opted not to exercise this option. Furthermore they informed you I was unable to call her in because of her rights under Thai Law.
10. I believe the FBI told you (the same as they told me) that their investigation proved no wrong doing of any staff member. It is their belief that this was a scam for insurance purposes. Had I called the tourist police at first you would have been held for further questioning and possible arrest. But this is outside their interest.

The report you left the hotel with, the same one I've provided to TripAdvisor documents all these finding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have in my room paper where is info about security safe. Information say get your valuable and money to security box. I use it, and safe there my ID, camera,ipod and money 1400 USD. Day before check out I found out my money was stolen, exactly 900 USD. I dont understood why onlypart, but thats it. Other think happened in brothers room, they wasrobbed to, exactly same but not all ( he has different room on different flore )
Manager and receptionist almost smaling to our face and after 2 hours call police. In police station we wrote protocol and go to our hotel whit detectiv. Hotel start downloading video and we must wait 6 hour to see 35 hour when the accidant happened. Manager dont care, he doesnt call staff and doesnt do anything for us. On video is 15 minuts black out, bud when we show the stuff they dont care. No one go this hotel if you are psychic alright and let them pay for this!!!!
Seriasly, dont go this hotel anymore, they stole our money and know we leaving a we cant do nothing for justice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Marq, Owner at The Marq, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
When providing information one should not leave out major details that change the story.
1. We never called the police. Because of our (my staff and ) involvement in the local community (ie volunteer firefighters, volunteer paramedic etc) my staff an I have know many local emergency personnel. We called directly to one of Phuket top law officials. What would be the equivalent of the FBI.
2. Did you not notice everyone who was dispatched to the hotel was plain cloths (under cover) vs the people you spoke to in the police station in uniform.
3. This also would explain why when you felt the security cameras were not downloading quicly enough and called the tourist police they did nothing. Once you said you had been to the police station, they called to verify details and found out you were being handled by a department way above them.
4. We did nothing to help? In addition to my staff calling the FBI something very few hotels could do. We provided you with our personal motor bikes to go the police station to fill out the necessary paper work
5. Neither one of you could provide any evidence that you had made a withdraw of money in the amount you claimed was in the safe.
6. We provided you footage of select video cameras. The FBI had access to all cameras and could identify where all staff was during the time the cameras went out. Due to interference they go out sometimes. (They are Internet cameras so a guest downloading a movie can knock one camera off.)
7. You personally saw that anytime any staff was in your room the door was left open leaving little opportunity for any misdoing on their part.
8. After the law officials used video software to aid in their investigation they could identify that none of the staff were ever in the room with the door closed. They also saw all the cameras and the time frame. When camera 11 went down all staff were accounted for in other parts of the building. Every floor has multiple cameras. It's impossible to go from one floor to the next without being detected.
9. The FBI told you they could not call her in because of their findings. They did provide you an opportunity for them to call her in on your behalf. But you opted not to exercise this option. Furthermore they informed you I was unable to call her in because of her rights under Thai Law.
10. I believe the FBI told you (the same as they told me) that their investigation proved no wrong doing of any staff member. It is their belief that this was a scam for insurance purposes. Had I called the tourist police at first you would have been held for further questioning and possible arrest. But this is outside their interest.

Think of it 2 brothers, 2 rooms, same day both getting 900 taken from the safe. Neither can prove they had any cash either from bank withdraws or exchange of travelers checks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Loved my stay at The Marq. Really good rooms for a cheap price, very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for great budget accommodation then I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jogja
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The staffs are very nice and friendly. Even sometimes we found hard in communication they were so patient.
The rooms are very cozy and the facilities are unexpecting, great!
the location is a bit far from the crowded area (like around bangla road) so I guess you'll sleep peacefully.
For us that were not used to walk, it's still oke when we're going to the beach, but it's a bit tiring in a way back to the hotel.
I don't know exactly but I think it needs about 10-15 minutes walk to bangla road.
What a pity that this hotel didn't give a breakfast but
there is a cafetaria if you want to eat or there is seven eleven near here.
There is free wifi in this hotel, but sadly the signal was not good when we enter the room, so last time we must get out from the room to get signal.
Overall I like this hotel and make me want to comeback again someday

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I highly recommend the Marq hotel. I stayed there for 3 months and was able to see a lot of Patong because of the information the friendly staff gave me. It felt like coming home after a busy day exploring the area and hitting the beaches. The rooms are modern and there was no problem getting fresh towels everyday. I rented out a motor bike from them without any problems. One of the employees "Big" makes great mixed drinks and sometimes they have specials going on in there bar type setting in the lobby. Take advantage of that! I know that they went through some employee changes and went through trial and error with hiring people (that might be why some of the previous comments mentioned poor customer service). The American owner is very knowledgeable and he is good at giving directions. My experience in Patong has been great and it was because of the warm staff!

Room Tip: 204/205! It has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marq

Address: 78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marq 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marq Hotel is one of Phuket's newest and stylish establishments, catering to the modern lifestyle of vacationers the world over. Opening July 2012 join us in making your vacation memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Marq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marq Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.