We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marq

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Marq to your Saves list
The Marq
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Really good value rooms. Good size, king bed, clean, good air con, tv with movies, friendly staff. Located a little far too walk to the beach but you can hire mopeds cheap enough downstairs. Only thing is there is no elevator but that didn't worry me. Really I have stayed in worse places in Thailand for twice the price. If you are after luxury our want to be right in the middle of Patong this is not for you but if you want good clean rooms within a 5 min moped ride and at acceptable prices and service then give The Mara a go.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    33
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
34
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights mid-January. Check-in was adequate but lacking any Thai hospitality. The receptionist was less than enthusiast in seeing us and processed the necessary paper work and provided us the key without much care. There was no elevator so be ready to carry your luggage yourselves up the stairs. The room was clean and the large bed was on the harder side. Bathroom was Asian style (toilet and shower in same room with no curtain) so the toilet would be wet after the shower. There was a small fridge with 2 bottles of free water replenished everyday. The room has a window but looked into the side of next building about 1 metre away. No breakfast or restaurant on site but there were many around. There were many similar accommodation around this hotel so service quality would be the only difference. Main street from hotel was under construction so very dusty and dangerous to walk (no pavement).

Room Tip: No elevator so choose lower floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The place is situated 5 min scooter ride from all the important places you need to see (Bangla rd, Patong beach etc). Get a scooter its the most efficient way to travel around there. If not there are always motorcycle taxi stands both sides of the rd the hotel is on and a very handy family mart (tesco express style shop) down the road. There is an excellent restaurant I-kroon 1 shop away that serve delicious food.
The staff at The Marq are great, welcoming, hospitable and down to earth. The rooms are clean, modern (with flat screen tv's) and a great wet room shower. All in all my stay at the Marq was 4 nights of relaxation and I'll definitely be staying there if I return.
There was a mix up with bookings when I arrived (I believe they are sorting their booking system atm) but with a temporary room for 1 night they quickly fixed the problem.
Thanks Bik and co, and thanks Marq for openin such a great hotel.

Traveller

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Me and one of my friends stayed here for around a week in January. The hotel staff although sometimes quirky (in a good way) were really helpful for me and my friend whenever we enquired about anything! The room was nice and was was clean. In fact it was really good value for money, I was expecting much less for how well it was priced. The mini bar was extremely well priced (what a bonus), the laundry service was great and the bed was comfortable! It is a big walk to patong beach however and prob about a 15 minute walk to the center of town. I would go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed in the Marq with my partner for 5 nights all together. We had booked a private room for two persons. Although the room itself is spacious and clean, we found the service to be at the lowest level we experienced so far. As the two of us have been visiting countries across the region, we are a wear of the fact that service levels are not the same in every country. However, the service staff at the Marq was the worst we experienced so far. We were mainly assisted by an Asian guy is his thirties of forties. It was very clear that he was completely incapable of doing the job. Being in HR myself, I do not understand how someone could hire him. During check-in he hardly said everything at all, which made us feel very unwelcome. When we had a problem with our internet connection, he was unable to explain how the system worked and which username we had to use. Instead, we figured out everything by ourselves. On the second day our towels were taking and we were not profited with new ones. When asking for it the same guy gave is a little attitude, while we expected a apologize instead. By the time we wanted to checkout he looked at us and walked away. For me all these things have nothing to do with high service standards, but with basic friendliness instead.

On the final day we wanted to book a taxi through the hotel, the same guy told us this was impossible. Are you kidding me? I would not recommend this place, as there are plenty of other places around which over better accommodation and service for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marq hotel for three nights in January. We booked on the day of arrival through Agoda. The owner told us that he pays 20% of the booking cost to Agoda and 30% if booked through Expedia. He told us that had we booked directly it would have been cheaper for us (you may want to try this out).

Because we had booked the day of, we had to change rooms on the second day which were were fine with doing. Check in was painless and the owner was a nice guy to talk to.

There is no breakfast, pool or elevator in the hotel so be forewarned if these are amenities or conveniences you are looking for. Neither of these things were a problem for us. I will say though, that nobody offered to carry our bags to the room. Perhaps they though we looked "big and ugly enough" to carry them ourselves! Lol! If luggage handling is a convenience you like or need I would like to think they would offer or help if asked but we certainly weren't offered. Just sayin'!

The hotel offers cheap same day laundry service. Your clothes will most probably be washed with somebody else's and the telltale sign will be the brightly coloured threads sewn into each individual item you had washed. Not sure if hot-water-only is used so if you are over-the-top hygiene conscious you might want to ask for hot water only and for your clothes to be washed separately from others'.

The hotel has a simple, modern funky feel to the rooms with fusha painted mouldings, colourful accessories and cement finish that works well with the decor. Both rooms we stayed in were identical (205 & 105) and each had a small balcony.

The rooms have basic amenities such as air conditioning, mini bar and snacks, shampoo and soap. Bathrooms have a shower next to the toilet but no shower curtain (though one of the rooms had a shower curtain rod but no curtain (??) ) The beds are big and comfy!

Wifi is free and great signal. Each room has a different wifi username and code and these are different from the small lobby as well. It was a bit of a pain having to reenter the password and code each time you came into the room or if you left your devise off for a while. The passwords are convoluted and we always had to refer to the paper as they weren't easily remembered...perhaps we are getting old!

If you are staying here in the next 6 months I'd definitely recommend this hotel. If you are staying here in a year's time I'd pay attention to the reviews as both of our rooms had minor issues that suggested lack of general maintenance. I'd be interested in knowing over the course of time if the hotel is maintained.

The first room we had (205), had paint bubbled around the sink facet which was not problematic but was of such a nature it indicated lack of general maintenance.

The second room (105) had the same around the facet but now the cement was exposed and the leak was pronounced. The shower also backed up and flooded the bathroom. If you are a hardy traveller this won't matter either but again, the general lack of attention to maintenance may have a greater effect over time.

It should be said that the hotel is located in a quieter space in town an within a half hour walk to the pulse of Patong and perhaps a little longer walk to its beachfront.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

we were able to book very last minute. However the price we paid still felt like over-priced.. The whole place had a back-packer feel to it even though it cost over 1200baht for us. I must say it is not a back-packer place; you get your own rooms etc.
HOwever the family room was two bunk bed sets (4 singles).

Receptionists were friendly and good gave advice and instructions taking their time.

ROom itself again; toilet seat was broken. bathroom didnt look that clean. Beds were not comfortable. A/c etc was working well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marq

Address: 78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marq 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marq Hotel is one of Phuket's newest and stylish establishments, catering to the modern lifestyle of vacationers the world over. Opening July 2012 join us in making your vacation memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Marq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marq Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.