We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place In Patong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marq

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Marq to your Saves list
The Marq
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Little Place In Patong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked for 4 nights here after reading the other trip advisor reviews and have to concur with everything that has been said. The owner was extremely friendly as were all other staff, the rooms were very comfortable, clean and well worth the money paid. Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels given. Its only a 5 or 10 minute walk to the beach and Bangla Rd so the hotel itself is in a very quiet location. Could of spent longer in Patong because of this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    33
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
34
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very polite and friendly welcome by the American boss himself and one of his very loyal Thai lady staff ( night shift ) throughout my family three nites' stay there.

However, there was another Thai lady staff ( morning shift ) isn't well trained enough to communicate with the guests. Beware of the strict rules she's going to tell you in a very direct way, you may be upset by her words first day in the morning of your beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: Some bed is having little noisy sound when sleeping on it, but i find the pillow and mattress is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Must say that this was a nice experience in Patong. The hotel is situated away from the noisy part of the city but yet accessible by foot. The Marq is a rather new built hotel with a clean cool twist, this is due to rich color-effects chosen. We had breakfast included in the price, well you don't choose The Marq for the breakfast, but You don't walk away with a empty stomach. So I'll definitely stay there the next time in Patong, (but then I'll try to get a room that doesn't face the street). On the negative side: No elevator and paying with VISA has to be done via PayPal.

Room Tip: A room facing away from the street (not because of the noise but because of the shadow)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Marq Hotel is really a hidden Gem. It is not difficult to find. For those of you who knows Nai Nai Road, it is located at Soi 8 and just outside the main road. Opposite the main road, there is a Thai BBQ buffet, cheap and good. Next to the hotel, there is a small travel agent which can help you with all tours including renting a motorbike. Short walking distance to the massage center where a Thai Massage cost you only THB200 per hour. Nearby, you can find 24hrs mini mart to purchase your amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent just two nights at The Marq while passing through Phuket on our island hoping adventure along the Andaman in January. We would have gladly stayed longer if our schedule had permitted. The rooms were new and clean with modern decor. Excellent A/C. The staff was very attentive to our needs, and the complementary breakfast made us feel close to home. There was a travel agent right next door that helped us with transportation arrangements for transit to our next local, and Malley's, a bar half of a block away on the corner, offered a relaxing spot for a little whiskey and a Manchester United football match. Would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel to call home while they take in all that Patong, Phuket has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street are fine, but if you are a light sleeper request a room that faces away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shouguang, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stay at this hotel only 1 night. I pay for another hotel but they move me here. I am glad they did. This hotel are nice and clean and new. Only stairs but it is ok. I like my room very good feel, shower water is hot. I walk everywhere beach, food, bar, shopping 15-20 minutes. Everyone at hotel is nice. I only go to Patong for 3 days next time I stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two different times in Jan. mainly because the owner went out of the way to help with anything he could. He when above and beyond letting me use his personal phone to call when I had a problem with my credit card. The staff were nice and eager to help.

The rooms were cozy, clean, modern, the beds in the deluxe and superior rooms i stayed in were the best in my 4 weeks in SE Asia.

Location- away from the noise of the town but close enough to walk to the beach or mall in 10-15 minutes and 15-20 to Bangla Road when I wanted a loud night.

The prices even in high season were well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marq

Address: 78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marq 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marq Hotel is one of Phuket's newest and stylish establishments, catering to the modern lifestyle of vacationers the world over. Opening July 2012 join us in making your vacation memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Marq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marq Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.