We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Avista Hideway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39/9 Muen Ngoen Road, Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
60% off Room rates
Ranked #5 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Avista Hideway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This resort is amazing, we stayed for 2 weeks and found nothing to be a problem. We had a few issues which were sorted out being a new resort..some things are still being finished...that said we could not have been more happy. The Valentines dinner was wonderful as were the cocktails watching the sunset each evening. It was a great location being just out side of Patong but with the shuttle you could shop and dine and come back to the peace and quiet of the resort. The rooms are very modern with lots of extra touches and the restaurant was great..service excellent and 3 pools to die for.....cold beer... thanks to all the staff for making our holiday one of the best..shall return with friends!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Kimberley H,

Greetings from all of us here at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again with friends.

As you know we are very lucky to have such a fantastic Resort built on the mountain overlooking both bays, this means we have some of the best sunset views in the Area.

We received a lot of positive feedback for the rooftop Valentine Dinner, it really was a fantastic evening the sunset made everything even more romantic.

We have passed on your comments to all the staff and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    141
    38
    16
    12
See reviews for
115
377
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As my family and I prepare to depart tomorrow , I am recounting my time at this beautifull resort: After some of the comments we read from those who have stayed at the property before, we had second thoughts and hence contacted the hotel, we were assured of a good stay and informed that all things are in control now. We arrived to a very warm welcome at the reception with the Reception manager Akrsh meeting us and gave us his card to call him for whatever we needed. That was very reassuring, he also gave us choice of rooms to choose pool access or higher floor sea view room, since we were staying for 7 nights we decided to try both and felt good having been given a choice. Our kids felt pampered as they got ice creams on arrivals and a nice toy elephant on departure, infact every time they went to the lobby they were pampered by the staff.

The restaurant was nice with plenty of choices, we loved the bar attached to the pool and we could laze around enjoying the sun. My husband did miss the virtual golf which wll be ready soon, however they had a golf putting green with stunning views.

The wifi in some areas is a concern but works fine in the room. The shuttle to Patong was efficient and the recpetion staff ensured everyone was onboard before leaving.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and whatever challenges the other guest might have faced, we did not face, I am sure the hotel has covered the loopholes. As for us we had lots of fun and children miss the pampering.

Room Tip: Family rooms are ideal for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Feodor G,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa. Many thanks for your comments and we are delighted the Resort met your expectations.

Thailand is a fantastic place to visit as a family as the entire culture revolves around family values, and children are always well looked after. As you know we have invested a lot of time and effort making our Resort as child friendly as possible, this includes the Kids Club fo rthe younger ages and our Games Room with pool, table tennis, console games and more for the older ages. We also provide the babysitting service which allows parents to have a nice evening alone without having to worry.

Akarsh is grateful for your recognition and we have passed on your comments to all staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The good - the room itself & the black infiniity pool - very nicely lit at night - lots of quiet areas around the grounds in which to chill out - the views of each sunset
The bad - the many, many stairs - no beach club as advertised - not honouring the club room perks
The ugly - construction debris by the perimeter wall & the outside appearance of the room blocks which look a bit utilitarian

A difficult hotel to find as there was no roadside signage when we visited. Take a hotel card from reception so that you can show taxi drivers when you want to return. A taxi from Patong should cost around 300 Baht. You will probably have to climb the short but very steep slope from the gateway to reception as most drivers do not want to damage their cars/tuk tuks by attempting to drive up it.

Reception area is impressive but try as I might I just could not get a photograph like the main one for this hotel (shown on their website) in which the sea appears much closer to the hotel than it actually is.

At check-in we learned that despite booking a Club Vista Room we were not eligible for "complimentary afternoon tea and complimentary Sunset Lounge cocktails daily" because we had booked through an agent (Agoda). I've booked Club Rooms in other hotels many times and never been denied access to any club privileges. I contacted Agoda who in turn contacted the hotel but Agoda are yet to receive a reply several weeks later. Free cocktails were offered each evening but when we later checked the bill we had been charged for drinks.

During check in we asked about the shuttle to the "private beach club" mentioned on the website. Acccording to Simon, one of the management team it does not exist as the hotel has been locked in a land dispute since November 2012 . This was bad news as we had e-mailed the hotel before booking and specifically asked about it:-
Q: Is there a shuttle to the beach and are there any facilities open ?
A: from Mr. Somyot Yasavudhi, Group Director of Sales & Marketing
"Right now we shuttle guest to Patong beach or Paradise beach what restaurant and bar operated by beach owner. Or nearby walking distance Freedom beach (10 min. walking distance)."

The hotel website also states:-
"takes only two minutes by car to reach Patong Beach and its nightlife."
Make that half an hour by shuttle bus due to the one way system and heavy traffic in Patong. driver will not drop passengers anywhere except Jungceylon shopping mall, even though many asked. DO book the shuttle well ahead as it is popular and holds only 14 people. It really needs to run more frequently.

It's true to say that the hotel has extensive views from its hilltop position but anyone unfit or with mobility issues will have problems. There are MANY steps on the site and no single elevator that goes all the way from rooms to reception. Staff have to carry suitcases up and down flights of stairs too. Corridors and staircases are concrete floored and not enclosed so walking around the hotel can be pretty warm.

Mosquitoes are large and around both day and night all over Phuket. The hotel balconies are provided with mosquito coils and our maid gave us a lemongrass spray which was helpful. Matches for lighting the coils might also be a useful addition.

The rooms themselves were nicely appointed and I liked the various lighting options especially the blue shower light. The bed was large and comfortable but as mentioned by other people, the A/C was rather noisy.

The room description includes an iPod dock, iron and ironing board but neither of these items were to be found. Housekeeping did bring us the iron promptly when we asked.

I was unable to reach the top hanging rail in the wardrobe as it is far too high and there was nowhere to plug in the hairdryer and look in a mirror unless you crouched inside the wardrobe. These issues are apparently being addressed.

The maid we met was very nice but timings of making up the room were erratic despite only 30-40 rooms being occupied at the time. If you hang the card on the doorknob at 9am you expect the work to be done well before 5pm.

I agree with comments from a previous reviewer that it was irritating to have staff like the ayeurvedic doctor wandering around at breakfast cornering guests. When you sit down with a plate of hot food you want to eat it not engage in a long conversation while it gets cold.

On a positive note I'd like to mention Ellen, who helped us with car hire and Rain, the pool barman at the Club pool. Still a trainee, he was always cheerful, helpful and friendly. Management could make his life a lot better by installing a bamboo blind or something similar on the side of the bar so that he is not baking in direct sunlight for hours each afternoon. Thanks also to management who had a bottle of fizz delivered to each room as an apology for a power cut during the night, even though it was beyond the control of the hotel and involved the whole of Patong area.

To be fair, we got a cheaper price due to the soft opening (UK pounds 631 for 4 nights), but I will not be going back.

Room Tip: Each block is named after a type of orchid. Club Vista rooms in Laelia block (1101-1109) all have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Nsansa,

Many thanks for your comments, we appreciate all feedback and I would like to address some of the points you raised.

We are glad you found the rooms to be satisfactory, we spent a lot of time during the design phase of the Resort ensuring all guest rooms have a spacious, airy, luxurious feel to them and we do think this has been achieved. Also the Resort manages to offer many private areas to relax in even when we are fully occupied. The 3 infinity pools also provide some fantastic areas to relax and enjoy the sunsets.

We do realise that the layout of the property may be challenging for some guests. As we are located on the side of the mountain there are many different levels to the Resort and stairs but we do feel that this adds to the charm of the property as it makes it feel a lot more smaller than it actually is. We have also tried to place elevators in the most strategic positions as best we can. We also have our Golf cars on call 24 hrs to drive guests to their destination if they prefer not to walk.

As the Resort construction is now complete we do understand that the old access road at the side of the property through the jungle is not the best view however we have cleared this area and replanted shrubs and trees so the natural view will be replaced as soon as possible.

Regarding the signage to the property we have been waiting for the local government to approve this and allow the road signs to be placed. This has now been issued and as from 18th March all road signage should be visible to enable our Resort to be found a lot easier. Again when arriving at the Resort we do have our Golf Cars on standby to collect guests if they prefer not to walk up the entrance ramp.

I am not sure why you thought you were not entitled to the complimentary Cocktails and Hi Tea which are part of the Club Vista Room package. We have checked the booking and your reservation clearly mentions that you did have this priveledge and you did actually use it. It was nothing to do with Agoda's booking as all our Club Vista rooms have this facility. I have also looked into the bills for your stay and you were not charged for the Complimentary Cocktails. The charges you refer to were bottled beer and Gin which are not available on the complimentary menu. All the other drinks you had were complimentary.

The Beach club was certainly an issue and the land dispute was between 2 local land owners, this is still ongoing however we have now taken over the Beach Area and as from March 18th 2013 we do have a private beach area for Avista Hideaway Guests. We also do operate the shuttle to the nearby beaches of Patong, Paradise and Tri Trang.

Regarding the time to reach Patong. From the Resort to Patong is 1.5km and this does take only 2 minutes. When returning to the Resort then the bus does have to go through the one way system and traffic which at times can be as long as 30 minutes, however this is on the return journey. The shuttle service is operated by an outside company and I do apologise if they would not let you out at any other location. This should not have happened and I have spoken to the drivers to ensure that from now on if guests wish to get out at other locations they can do. We have also now increased the amount of shuttle services to allow for the higher demand.

We do understand that mosquito's are an issue all over Phuket and we do provide as much repellent as possible together with the coil burners. Matches are located in the desk drawers of all rooms and we do not normally light the coils unless the guests request us to as some guests find the coils a nuisance. Our housekeepers also spray the rooms on a regular basis to try to reduce the amount of mosquito's.

We do provide and Ipod docking station on request in all rooms. For the Ironing board we did use to keep these in the Guest rooms however we felt that they took away space from the wardrobes and not many guests used them therefore we decided to remove all from the rooms and deliver them on request.

I totally agree with you about the top rail in the wardrobe and this is something we are now fixing. The rail is very high and we have started lowering them in each room. We have also now changed the socket in the bathroom to allow the hairdryer to be used by the main mirror. Of course we do not want guests crouching in wardrobes :-)

I apologise if the room was not made up at the same time each day and that it was not done before 5pm. We normally try to ensure all rooms are done at the same time each day and before 1pm. We will ensure this is rectified.

I also apologise that our staff tried talking to you too much. We do try to judge when and when not to engage in conversation and we certainly do not want to interrupt guests when eating. Our doctor is very keen to talk to guests and share information but I will ensure he is a little more tactful in future. On a positive note I would much rather be critised for over talking rather than ignoring guests.

Ellen our Guest Relation Officer is a real asset to the Resort as are many of our staff and I do thank you for the recognition. We have passed on your feedback to them all.

I am sorry you did not enjoy all your time with us and I do hope that you will reconsider visiting us in the future. We value all feedback and ensure we follow up on ALL comments. Our priority is to ensure all guests have the best possible time with us and if something is not right we would prefer to know so we can actually do something about it.

Thank you again

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The resort was only half finished but it was absolutely brilliant. Language was a small barrier but don't you expect that when in another country?? Pools were gorgeous with an awesomw view of the whole resort. Food was lovely, i'm a bit of a sook when it comes to spicy food but i managed quite well with their menu. We reserved a king bed jacuzzi suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. We booked in for 10 nights and then moved onto Singapore but both my husband and i wished we had stayed in Phuket at Avista for our whole trip. I have already recommended this resort to friends who are going there next month. They hope to have it completed by mid this year so if unsure wait til then. The service from staff and management was outstanding - can't wait to go back!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Nita1006

Many thanks for your precious feedback. We are so glad you chose Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa for your first overseas trip and we hope Thailand will have a special place in your heart.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. The Resort is 100% complete in terms of construction however we are waiting for our Library and Virtual Golf to be installed which should be by March 2013.

We do try to cater for all eating styles and our chefs are always available to prepare dishes as the Guest requires whether spicy or not so we are glad you found the food to your liking. We are also happy to prepare any items which are not on the menu so please don't worry about asking for something special next time you visit us.

We have passed on your comments to all the team and look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the near future.

Warm Regards


Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This resort is located about 10 minutes from the Patong Beach Area. It's spanking property on a cliff with fantastic views of the Andaman Sea from it's 'Infinity Pool' where they serve breakfast in the morning.
They have large rooms with a good set of amenities, and a large bathroom for the kings who like a bigger bathroom.
The room I was in faced the Swimming Pool with glimpses of the Ocean on the right. All and all, I'd recommend the hotel for it's hospitality, cleanliness, location and the view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear akshayk88,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted we met all your expectations during your stay.

When designing our Resort one of the main areas for detail was in the Guest rooms, this is a crucial factors in any Resort and we have tried to ensure all our rooms are large, airy and offer privacy when needed. The bathroom is also very important and we have made sure these are also large spaces with power showers as well as free standing bathtubs in many of the rooms categories.

Our 3 infinity pools have been strategically placed to allow Guests to enjoy their full beauty without feeling over crowded and I am sure you will agree there is nothing better than laying by the infinity pool watching the sunset.

Once again many thanks for your comments, we have passed them on to all staff and will continue to try our best to satisfy each and every Guest.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at crowded lobby but were pleasantly surprised by the personal attention we still got to check-in. They gave us garlands, cold towel and a nice mocktail on arrival. Though the lobby was crowded with many people arriving and leaving, we were assured by the front desk manager that we will be looked after and yes we did not face any delays, they had things in control with the manager looking after all guests and assuring no delays. We had in fact come much before the checkin time so were ready to wait, they politely told us that they can provide early checkin but will still take 40 mins and offered us to wait in the restaurant and have lunch in the mean while. Again they were efficient in coming to us at the promised time to inform the room was ready and showed us to the rooms. The luggage was already placed in the room.

The rest of the stay was equally good with all staff being very efficient, we were asked on arrival what time we would want our rooms to be cleaned everyday to avoid disturbing us and everyday the room was cleaned on time.

We once wanted to borrow a DVD which was not available at that time at reception, but next day the reception when they received it back from other guest, kept it in our room with a note, it was very thoughtful.
Renting the car at last minute can be a challenge sometimes so we learned to book in advance.

We wanted to stay more but had already made reservations another hotel for the next 7 days, but even for that the front desk called the other hotel to ensure we had good rooms and informed them of our arrival time so that we did not have to wait. Very thoughtful again.

The facilities were nice, though wifi does not work well in some areas but has decent speed in the room.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Barislav B,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted we met all your expectations during your stay.

We feel that it is crucial to ensure each Guest enjoys the entire welcome experience of our Resort as this creates the first impression. We always try to ensure Guests feel relaxed and welcomed as anyone would when receiving friends at your home.

We also feel that it is the small personal touches which make the difference. Many Resorts offer fantastic rooms, scenery and similar facilities as we do, but to ensure we stand out from the rest we try to concentrate on all the small details and add a extra touch of luxury. This can be something as small as remembering your favourite flavour of tea or which side of the sink you like your personal items. The important thing is that we get to know our Guests and enjoy looking after them.

We are working on the issues with the WIFI and have now installed more access points around the property to increase coverage and speed.

Once again thank you for your kind comments, we have passed them on to all staff and we will continue to try our best to satisfy each and every Guest.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The taxi had trouble finding the hotel when we found it it was up a dirt track looked like they where still building. Entered the hotel and was knocked back by the most amazing reception with the best views of the whole resort.the staff where welcoming and polite and i was ready for the most amazing holiday. this turned out not to be the case the resort is not finished the staff are in very short supply, badly trained and very bad language skills.what is built is cheap and crammed in to a small plot of land.We paid a lot for our room so had a good view from our upper deck but most rooms DO NOT have views. Because staff are not trained and very few of them my whole stay was hard work I lost my temper and had sleepless nights and was totally stressed out by the time I left. Some of my complaints I made to Ellen the customer liaison where noted and she did diffuse the situation on the 2nd day she was one of the few professionals at the hotel as was the new chef brought in to sort the kitchen out and Sun who was very good waiter who made our meals feel quit normal.
DO NOT stay at this hotel it's a big con
Half the resort if you can call it a resort is not built.
The staff are very few and untrained.
This was a very special holiday for a very special birthday and I do not usually spend this sort of money. I feel very cheated of a very special holiday and conned in to paying a lot of money for the privilege. On my last night I had my last argument when the hotel tried to hold us to ransom to pay a fortune to get a car to the airport we said we would take a taxi and told it was not much cheaper good job I had my iPad as the hotel does not have any computers except for front desks for us to use and I managed to book my own transport for a fraction of the cost.I asked to speak to the manager but was told he was not on duty till next morning I told staff to tell him how unhappy i was and hoped to see him before we left.The manager did not even come to see me at check out even after seeing him at breakfast and he said he would talk with me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear aglane1,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa.

I am sorry that you feel the Resort did not meet your expectations. We do value all feedback and I would like to address some of the issues you raised.

We are located in Patong in the Tri Trang beach area which is a very new Resort area, being located on the mountain does mean that the roads are not modern tarmac which are found in many other countries, this applies to much of the area around Phuket. The road is certainly not a dirt track and is a 2 lane cement road, we do however find that a lot of sediment blows from the mountain areas which can make it look dusty at times, however I do feel this is all part of staying in a natural, jungle atmosphere. We do promote the fact we are a natural Hideaway Resort located on a mountain and not in a bustling city.

Our Resort is one of the Largest in the Areas and I do feel your comments of being crammed into a small plot is a little misleading. We have 150 rooms spread out over the side of a mountain with 15 individual blocks, 3 infinity pools and a large spa. If you look at all the photos of the Resort I am sure you can see the layout very well and we are certainly not crammed into a small area. All of our rooms are very spacious with the smallest being 55 sqm, the Duplex Jacuzzi suites are 140 sqm with 2 levels and private rooftop terrace on every room, and our Pool Suites are a spacious 145 sqm with private pool in every room. I am not sure what size rooms you are used to but I certainly feel that ours a very spacious and some of the largest in Phuket.

Regarding the staff, we have invested a lot of time ensuring our staff are chosen for their personalities as well as skills, many have years experience in other 5 star Resorts and perform their duties with grace and a genuine caring attitude. We do have trainees at the Hotel on a regular basis which is part of our teamwork with local colleges and I will certainly ensure that we review our staffing format to resolve any issues.

As you have already mentioned in your comments we ensure staff are always available to speak to Guests, breakfast is one of the main times for us to meet people and many staff such as Ellen the Guest Service Officer, Tim the Head Chef, Simon the EAM, Alvin the Spa Manager and others are always socialising to ensure we discuss any Guest feedback. I believe you met all of these staff during your stay and they were all aware of some of the issues you had and attempted to rectify any matters before you left.

We do acknowledge that in Thailand the English language is not spoken as well as desired and for some Guests this can be frustrating, however unfortunately this is a nationwide issue. We do have regular language classes for all our staff and they do try their best to practice language skills even though they may not always have 100% confidence. We will certainly look into this and try to improve.

The Resort is 90% complete and the only area which is not finished is the section under the Main Pool which houses the library and virtual golf however there is no construction taking place and to say the Resort is half built does give a wrong impression. The is area is being painted and will be complete in March, we also ensure that any works do not disturb our Guests.

Finally with regards to the comments on the car. We certainly do not force guests to use the Resort cars. We do offer a limousine service from the Hotel and we only promote this. Guests are free to use outside taxis and private cars however we do not promote these in the Hotel. Our limousine service has brand new cars, fully insured with professional drivers. Unfortunately many of the outside cars DO NOT have insurance, road worthy vehicles or English speaking drivers. We put our guest safety ahead of anything else and will not promote these type of services. Obviously there are cheaper cars available which if you are happy to take the risks can save money. We do have a set price for airport transfers which is clearly shown at the Hotel before booking and is also clearly shown on our website. Our price is also in line with many of the other local Resorts.

Again I am truly sorry that you stay was not satisfactory, we promote that fact that we are a Luxury Resort, located in Thailand in a tranquil Jungle setting. I do apologise if you feel this is not what you received.

We appreciate all your comments and will certainly attempt to rectify those which we can. We do hope you will return to Thailand in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road, Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Patong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.