We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Patong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Seaview Patong Hotel to your Saves list
Seaview Patong Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Taweewong Rd, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 944 Reviews
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Good hotel with very friendly staff. Nice rooms, good food. They have buffet evenings which are really good and not expensive. They have a really good spa at the hotel, good massage and also pedicure/manicure - really professional, more expensive than the beach but worth it. I really liked the hotel but wouldn't go back to Patong, too many sleazy characters trying to sell you time share etc etc. Too many tailors, massage parlours trying to sell to you. You can't walk down the street without being harrassed. The hotel is ideally situated away from i.e. Bangla Road but if you want to go there for one night just to check it out you can - you can walk or take a tuk tuk - its cheap. If you have never been to Patong it is worth a visit but try and book out somewhere like the Seaview which is not on the main drag. As stated good hotel but don't make it a 10 day holiday, we had 6 days and that was too long. Try and include other areas, visited Karon one day and that was much quieter. Lots of food options and lots to do. Also, good shopping!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    264
    78
    31
    18
See reviews for
151
393
54
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Well i stayed with my wife during oct. 2010, its pretty nice hotel with excellent location away from crowd but at the sametime not long walking distance from the action, the view from the room was amazing, the room was nice...the elevator smelled really bad i dont know why! but the bottom line is we loved this hotel!! And yesss the breakfast was really good!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Close to the beach but far from the nightlife, easily 20 minutes plus walking with all the delays from merchants and tuk tuk drivers hassling you. Exorbitant charges for internet (200 baht per hour) and room guests (2000 baht per guest per night despite having booked multiple rooms, room bookings are apparently not automatically for two people). To put these charges in context the daily internet charge is almost identical to the nightly rate for 2 people for a deluxe room at the Marriott

With two rooms had the following problems:
Room 1
-Broken thermostat, too cold with air con on, too hot with air con off
-Broken plug in sink, difficult to shave
-Loose floor tiles, not really an issue but annoying given the way the hotel apparently classes itself
Room 2
-Small
-Broken plug in bathtub, water didn't drain properly, wasn't fixed when they were made aware of it
General Issues
-Rancid smell walking along back of hotel ground floor probably from stagnant water pools, luckily washed away in the rain
-Staff spoke little English
-Insects on dinner buffet (could be hard to avoid due to outdoor settings but still unsettling)

Despite all these problems we were unable to get a refund (even finding this out took days due to poor communication with the hotel and buck passing between hotel and travel agency). The only solution we were offered was expensive room upgrades that the hotel didn't even give us clear rates for on request.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

This is my first time in Patong Seaview. I did not expect that this hotel will be as a paradise on the beach. The hotel service is excellent but there was always busy at all time more especially during breakfast time.
The location of the hotel is excellent by the end side of Patong beach and not far from all the shopping area. i was in the hotel for 3 nights and found that this is very clean hotel from the 3 places I stayed for my vacation this year and absolutely will come back for Sea View Patong again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I stayed at the Seaview Patong hotel in Oct 2010 and must say the hotel is very nice and staff very friendly and helpful, the only downside to the hotel is that it is not very wheelchair firendly, loads of steps everywhere you go in the hotel and not geared up for people with walking difficulties, only one lift at reception end of hotel, the small pool at one end hotel is very deep for children if they cannot swim, the rooms very nice and fairly spacious and modern, the american breakfast is very nice, the location of the hotel is at the southern end of patong beach, and just across the road from the beach, the shops and nitelife is approx 500 metres from the hotel, there is a tuk tuk service across the road from the hotel which is very good and value for money, i would stay there again even though my wife is disabled and has walking difficulties, very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

No, that is not a grammar mistake, but rather an internet phenomenom that sums up my feelings towards the Seaview Patong in Phuket. I have heard so many good thing about the hotel, and very few of them materialized. The rooms are very, very small. The bathroom is minute. The location is excellent and the pools are ok. The whole place buzzed with fellow South Africans, which was kind of nice - but they also felt that the service, especially pool-side, was poor. This was not my first stay in Phuket, but I think it is safe to say that my wife and I will not be returing to this hotel and rather go to one of our previous hotels (like for example the Sunset Beach Resort - similarly priced, much bigger rooms although location not as good as the Seaview's). Must give a big thumbs up for Malaysian Air though. Excellent service from when we boarded in Cape Town until we arrived back, and excellent value for money (and very friendly staff, that could speak English - the same cannot be said for the staff at the Seaview)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Have just returned from our 4th visit to Phuket. Of these, 3 stays have been at the Seaview and the other at the Burasari. The Seaview was selected again simply because of its location and price. There are certainly more central hotels, but we personally like the southern end for quiteness and accessability. Markets, bars and our preferred eateries are all within 10 - 15 minute walk.
The hotel is certainly not new, but it is clean and comfortable. Breakfasts would rate with 5 star hotels as would there staff, all friendly and courteous.
Only fault I could find was the bed (hard), but again thats a personal preference which might suit others. Problem with aircon was reported and fixed within 15 mins.
As mentioned, have stayed in Phuket 4 times now, all been in low season except for last Feb 2010. We personally will not visit Phuket again in high season as it is way to busy and populated. Yeah, it does rain but so what - thats what its all about. And it really doesn't stop you doing to much.
But in summary, the Seaview is clean, comfortable and great value for money........

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Patong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Patong Hotel

Address: 2 Taweewong Rd, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#8 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaview Patong Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seaview Patong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Patong
Patong Seaview Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Patong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.